We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rapaura Water Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We hit upon Rapaura quite by chance as we crossed the Coromandels on the dusty road to Tapu. And what a treat it was. Not just the beautiful walks and the gorgeous waterfalls, but also a superbly appointed cabin with everything we could want including lovely music (there is no TV). And the best part was the dinner they provided for us to cook on the BBQ. Quite superb steaks and all the bits and pieces. A real delight , peaceful, comfortable and hospitable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

A tranquil beautiful place to spend a few days at. We ( 2 couples) stayed at the well appointed lodge. It feels like you are staying in a luxury tree hut with views out above the gardens and we loved watching the woodpidgeon and tui's feed from the nearby kowhai tree.

The gardens are wonderful to lesiurely wander through and the walk up to the waterfalls through the bush, absolutely worth it. I enjoyed getting up early in the morning and having the garden to myself and the ducks.

Sasha and Sally are lovely hosts. Dam good coffee for sure, and the chocolate cake - fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyJennyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stopped here on our way back from a weekend in The Coromandel. It was highly recommended by the folks at the I-site. We only ordered coffees and cake as they had a large party in for a birthday lunch and seemed a bit overwhelmed. The staff seemed stretched and harassed and we felt we were adding to their stress. They did apologise for our delay (it wasn't even that long to be honest and if they hadn't made a point to tell us how busy they were, we wouldn't have noticed!). Sadly one couple walked out but were beckoned back to enjoy their lunch. The coffee was fab and the cakes amazing, would like to try the lunch next time. The gardens are beautiful, the walk to the waterfall a must. I think we stumbled by at a busy time, will be back for a 2nd visit I'm sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We didn't stay at the accommodation here - but thought this place deserved a mention just for the pretty walk and the fantastic lunch we had there. If you think the price of the walk is a little pricey - I would still recommend the 10 min or so drive along the gravel road to have lunch there. The chef is passionate about his food and was very friendly & helpful. He's won awards for his beef - which prompted my husband to try his open steak sandwich - which he thought was one of the best steak meals he has had anywhere in the world...he loved it. I had the spicy kumara soup - which was very very good. Food was top quality, beautifully presented - and it was such a lovely setting to have a meal - we sat outside, surrounded by native bush and the sound of birds in the trees...a really beautiful setting. There is a small gift shop, and the walk past the big lily-filled ponds up through native bush to the waterfalls is worthwhile if you haven't spent all your money on their delicious food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This accommodation is a perfect getaway from the noise of the city. Tranquil, natural and different, it will make your weekend perfect. Thumbs up to the hosts who have put a huge amount of effort to maintain the place after a number of floods.
It is situated close to a variety of walks if you're keen on hiking. Great coffee in Waiomu Beach Cafe as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We felt so lucky to have found Rapaura (thanks to Tripadvisor) and spent a wonderful week there. The lodge is much more gorgeous than than the photos - a relaxed charm with interesting art work and collectables everywhere. It has an Asian/Bali feel and is extremely spacious. Being one level up, we looked over the most beautiful gardens through the trees. It was totally private and quiet - the only noises being the stream and birds. Self catering suited us and it was the perfect place to relax after energetic walks in the Coromandel area. It's remote - with no wifi, mobile signal, nearby shops - but if that's what you're after you couldn't do better. The restaurant in the Gardens, which opens during the day, wasn't yet open for the summer season - but gearing up to open and we saw their delicious menu. Breakfast supplies were provided. The owner Sally and her son Sacha were charming and helpful but never intrusive. We plan to return!

Room Tip: The Lodge is better than the cottage and probably worth the extra $'s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed in the cottage. It is the little things that count, secluded, friendly owners, scentred oils, bubble bath, classical cds, elect blanket, wood burning fire. need I go on.
Magical garden with water fall. Wished we had stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: Stay 2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rapaura Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapaura Water Gardens

Address: 586 Tapu-Coroglen Road, Tapu 3575, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tapu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Tapu
Price Range: £87 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated as a base from which to explore the Coromandel, we offer comfortable self-catering accommodation in a boutique lodge or garden cottage. While the estate is open to the public during the hours of 9-5, in the evening it becomes your private playground. Take a bush walk, swim at the waterfalls, barbeque and experience nature at its best. No TV, just peace and the sound of running water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Rapaura Water Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing