We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rapaura Water Gardens
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a 3 day stay in early February. A lovely quiet place in native bush. The cottage is equipped to a very high standard, and is very spacious.
Sally and her son were not intrusive but regularly checked to make sure we had everything we needed. They provided eggs, cereals, bread, marmalade for our arrival. On 1 night they provided us a meal from their restaurant for us to finish cooking in our cottage. It was huge and lovely.
The gardens are also lovely and it is a treat to be able to explore them in solitude after closing time.
Forget access to the modern world. There is no TV or internet, but there is a CD player for music.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabingates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is our second stay in over a year in this dreamy retreat. Clean and beautifully furnitured and decorated from the proprietor's collections, we really didn't want to leave for our daily excursions! Gardens are peaceful and enjoying a cup of tea surrounded by a panorama of trees was my favourite ritual throughout the stay. Other members of the family enjoyed litting up some flames in the amazingly clean fireplace. We were provided with a fresh baked loaf of herbal bread as well as free range eggs and some other ingredients for a full continental breakfast. Dinner could be arranged at Koru for one night (they arent usually open so late). The soup is a definite must try! Make sure you have an empty stomach, as the portions are big. If u have some space left at the end try the butterscotch ice cream! I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is well worth the 15 minute drive off the beaten path. Lovely café is very lunch-worthy, and the gardens and waterfall are very worthy of at least an hour to walk about and enjoy. If it's warm weather, do take your swim trunks, find a tree to change behind, and enjoy the nice little pool at the falls.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We found this almost by accident as we left Thames, and spent a couple of very enjoyable relaxing hours here. Stroll through the water gardens on good paths, linger by the large lily pond and if you have time take the 15 minute walk (some uphill) to view the waterfall. You will leave feeling refreshed, and there is a good café onsite too. When you leave you can take an unsealed road over the Coromandel forest. The drive is a little challenging but fine for a 4WD just take it easy as you might meet a few logging trucks coming the other way - the views are amazing though!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rieulet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We hit upon Rapaura quite by chance as we crossed the Coromandels on the dusty road to Tapu. And what a treat it was. Not just the beautiful walks and the gorgeous waterfalls, but also a superbly appointed cabin with everything we could want including lovely music (there is no TV). And the best part was the dinner they provided for us to cook on the BBQ. Quite superb steaks and all the bits and pieces. A real delight , peaceful, comfortable and hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

A tranquil beautiful place to spend a few days at. We ( 2 couples) stayed at the well appointed lodge. It feels like you are staying in a luxury tree hut with views out above the gardens and we loved watching the woodpidgeon and tui's feed from the nearby kowhai tree.

The gardens are wonderful to lesiurely wander through and the walk up to the waterfalls through the bush, absolutely worth it. I enjoyed getting up early in the morning and having the garden to myself and the ducks.

Sasha and Sally are lovely hosts. Dam good coffee for sure, and the chocolate cake - fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyJennyB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stopped here on our way back from a weekend in The Coromandel. It was highly recommended by the folks at the I-site. We only ordered coffees and cake as they had a large party in for a birthday lunch and seemed a bit overwhelmed. The staff seemed stretched and harassed and we felt we were adding to their stress. They did apologise for our delay (it wasn't even that long to be honest and if they hadn't made a point to tell us how busy they were, we wouldn't have noticed!). Sadly one couple walked out but were beckoned back to enjoy their lunch. The coffee was fab and the cakes amazing, would like to try the lunch next time. The gardens are beautiful, the walk to the waterfall a must. I think we stumbled by at a busy time, will be back for a 2nd visit I'm sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tapu
10.8 mi away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
18.0 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
10.4 mi away
Wairua Lodge
Wairua Lodge
#4 of 41 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
22.2 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.0 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#16 of 24 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapaura Water Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapaura Water Gardens

Property: Rapaura Water Gardens
Address: 586 Tapu-Coroglen Road, Tapu 3575, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tapu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated as a base from which to explore the Coromandel, we offer comfortable self-catering accommodation in a boutique lodge or garden cottage. While the estate is open to the public during the hours of 9-5, in the evening it becomes your private playground. Take a bush walk, swim at the waterfalls, barbeque and experience nature at its best. No TV, just peace and the sound of running water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rapaura Water Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing