We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful wedding at Kemp's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemps Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 East Stoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I just had my wedding breakfast at Kemp's and can’t rave enough about the experience. Ian and Andrea were absolutely wonderful in making it happen. The guest said the food was divine, my mother in law said the decoration was impressive and my husband said everything went seamlessly. I highly recommend Kemp's for anything whether it’s staying there for a night, eating dinner or holding a special occasion. Cheers to Ian and Andrea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyCruz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Kemps Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

A family party saw us and many friends staying in Kemps Country House for a very pleasant three nights, during which time we were well fed and minded. We stayed in the annex and our room was on the first floor, all very pleasant. The bar was a welcoming place to meet our various friends and the party got large by our standards-we had booked an evening meal for 16 and something like 22 turned up- an this increase was handled without any difficulty by the management-the words smooth and unruffled competence come to mind. Any way it was a great few days stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in The Champagne Suite which is very spacious, well furnished (co-ordinated even down to the white television and DVD player!) and has a great bathroom.

It was a special night for us and the hotel kindly provided a half bottle of champagne in the room. Breakfast was very well made and although they weren't able to provide room service, they did still cook for us when we arrived in the dining room later than the listed breakfast times.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajsadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just spent a couple of days at the above hotel as we were visiting Monkey World and other places of interest in the area. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room in the main building of the hotel and although the windows are not double glazed, we had no trouble in getting off to sleep at night. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room well furnished. The food is superb with plenty of choice.

The only downfall I came across was that when some of the breakfast extras had run out, i.e. grapefruit, yoghurt and even margarine these were not replenished. This however would not put me off from coming to this hotel again if I ever venture back down to Dorset.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We did not have very high hopes of this hotel as we had passed it on other visits to Dorset. However,we were pleasantly surprised. Although our room overlooked the very busy road,it was in the newish wing and had air conditioning. This was very welcome as it was very hot.
The public rooms do rather have the air of a retirement home. Chairs arranged around the perimeter of the room and all the same blue. The dining room was the same,with wipe clean blue tablecloths at breakfast.
The owner was very welcoming and we would certainly stay here again if we were in the area.
The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need a bath,this should be requested at the time of booking. If you do not like air condition...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel approx 3 weeks ago, and again last weekend.
Staff are all very friendly, food is well above average - they have a very good chef. The rooms are a good size, modern, and well maintained - all in good order. Trains did not bother us in the least.

Room Tip: There is an area outside the conservatory where the smokers group together. To avoid this, go for r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPLimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just back from Kemps for Tankfest 2013 and will definitely return next year. Set slap bang in the middle of the stunning Dorset countryside we were made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived. The hotel proprietors Ian & Andrea were amazing and did not stop all weekend to ensure our stay was everything we hoped it would be. Our room was beautifully clean and the decor equally as good. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday and the food was great (we did book however, this always helps Nigel) and Ian was always happy to recommend good eateries elsewhere.
The breakfast was cooked to order (always a good sign) and was very good. The room rate (including breakfast) was excellent value considering the prices of the other hotels in the area for the same weekend.
All in all just superb! Can't wait to see you again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trublue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stoke
2.7 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
76 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
5.3 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemps Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemps Country House

Address: East Stoke, East Stoke, Wareham BH20 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > East Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Stoke
Price Range: £119 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kemps Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kemps Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemps Country House Hotel East Stoke
Kemps Country Hotel
Kemps Country House Dorset/East Stoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing