We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemps Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 East Stoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Business trip”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed the other week on a business trip. I would say that most of the people staying were also business. Hotel rooms are a good business standard. Bar has only larger on draft. meals were OK but choice was limited. All staff were friendly and attentive when they were there. Problems finding staff when booking in, wanting a drink and checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    100
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
51
180
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

On the spur of the moment, we decided to spend another couple of nights on the beautiful Isle of Purbeck, and as a treat, we booked a couple of nights at Kemps 'Country house', thinking that for once we'd enjoy some luxury...

However, although marketed as a 'country house hotel', the hotel is actually set back a mere 20 yards from a noisy A road, with traffic noise from dawn till dusk, and our room was more like a motel room in terms of atmosphere and decor. Yes, it was spacious, but ultimately it had all the romance and glamour of 1980s Travelodge. If I had booked for a romantic weekend away, I would have felt robbed.

However, we had booked a family room, so I could get over the ambiance. However, even there I was disappointed, as we were given a kingsize bed and a sofa bed. At £160 per night for 2 adults and 2 children, I would have expected at least 2 small beds for the children, not a foldaway. This meant that the kids had to sleep in together (which made bedtime a nightmare), and that the only sofa was out of action during our stay.

I really hate to write a poor review of a small, locally owned business - I wanted so much for this to be great break. However, ultimately we could have got a family room at a well known chain of hotels in Poole (5 miles further east) for £120 less on the same nights. The differential in the two prices was in no way justified by the accommodation and service on offer at Kemps. It must be a nightmare to compete against the large chains in the current economic climate, but really, unless hotels start pricing their rooms more realistically, then families like ours will simply book back onto a campsite, pocket the £250 difference for the weekend, and stay well away from the hotels.

Pros:
- nice play area (trampoline with nets, swings/slide & swingball) to the end of the lawn.
- clean, large room.
- pleasant, freshly cooked breakfast.

Cons:
- an expensive family room is merely a double with a made-up sofa bed
- mattress on the main bed was VERY saggy - felt like a hammock
- no fresh fruit on the 'breakfast buffet' - all prunes /canned grapefruit etc.
- service in breakfast room was a bit erratic. One morning we asked for a second pot of tea and never got it.
- No real welcome - many B&Bs sit you down after a long car journey and provide tea and cakes - here the tea & coffee facilities are pointed out and you're on your own.
- cheapo toiletries in the bathroom (again, not a problem if you're not charging top whack - but they are!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGrandissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I recently stayed at Kemps for one night with my mother as we were heading for Devon. I had found it through Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. It cannot call itself a hotel as it does not have 24 reception but apart from that it is just like a country hotel. I had managed to get an executive twin at the last moment at a slightly reduced rate. It was worth every penny - a large room with a spacious ensuite. We had booked dinner which was extremely good as was the wine selection. The breakfast the next day came up to the same standard with a good selection. The owners and staff are extremely efficient, friendly and welcoming and we hope and feel that their efforts in putting Kemps well on the map will truly succeed.

Room Tip: We were in an Executive Suite which I think is a little bigger than the standard rooms. The room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I just had my wedding breakfast at Kemp's and can’t rave enough about the experience. Ian and Andrea were absolutely wonderful in making it happen. The guest said the food was divine, my mother in law said the decoration was impressive and my husband said everything went seamlessly. I highly recommend Kemp's for anything whether it’s staying there for a night, eating dinner or holding a special occasion. Cheers to Ian and Andrea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyCruz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A family party saw us and many friends staying in Kemps Country House for a very pleasant three nights, during which time we were well fed and minded. We stayed in the annex and our room was on the first floor, all very pleasant. The bar was a welcoming place to meet our various friends and the party got large by our standards-we had booked an evening meal for 16 and something like 22 turned up- an this increase was handled without any difficulty by the management-the words smooth and unruffled competence come to mind. Any way it was a great few days stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in The Champagne Suite which is very spacious, well furnished (co-ordinated even down to the white television and DVD player!) and has a great bathroom.

It was a special night for us and the hotel kindly provided a half bottle of champagne in the room. Breakfast was very well made and although they weren't able to provide room service, they did still cook for us when we arrived in the dining room later than the listed breakfast times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just spent a couple of days at the above hotel as we were visiting Monkey World and other places of interest in the area. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room in the main building of the hotel and although the windows are not double glazed, we had no trouble in getting off to sleep at night. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room well furnished. The food is superb with plenty of choice.

The only downfall I came across was that when some of the breakfast extras had run out, i.e. grapefruit, yoghurt and even margarine these were not replenished. This however would not put me off from coming to this hotel again if I ever venture back down to Dorset.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stoke
5.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
927 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
355 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemps Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemps Country House

Property: Kemps Country House
Address: East Stoke, East Stoke, Wareham BH20 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > East Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Stoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kemps Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kemps Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemps Country House Hotel East Stoke
Kemps Country Hotel
Kemps Country House Dorset/East Stoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing