We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane D West Sussex. Thank you Kemps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemps Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 East Stoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to Kemps. Stayed 2 nights 11-12th September. We personally would not stay anywhere else and will be back again. We love Kemps, we have stayed in the family rooms before and this time we were in one of the rectory rooms. All the rooms we have stayed in are well furnished, nice bathrooms, tv's and very clean and comfortable. We are happy to book whatever is available. We know the area quite well and there are plenty of things to do, we love Monkey World! The restaurant serves a very good breakfast and you can dine there in the evening if you want a full meal or if you want a lighter snack there are plenty of places to eat around Wareham. The staff are always pleasant and we have always been well looked after. Thank you for our last stay, Kemps, we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janepullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

The room was nice and big but the bathroom tiny and the shower dirty/sprayed everywhere. Not great cleanliness and tired decor. TV tiny as well which for £130 a night I'd expect bigger. Not particularly welcoming atmosphere - a rather unfriendly "humourous" sign at reception about it not being your day for help! Not a great impression. Food okay - breakfast was actually very good and to be fair the service was fine but it just felt like everything you asked for was a hassle. The communal areas were like a retirement home. No atmosphere. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Food was good.
restaurant was good.
The hotel is marketing a slightly up market product.
No one in reception except the manager in shorts with a child in tow.
No offer of help with our bags.
No fridge in the room.
Got peckish in the evening, could not get anything, no crisps, nuts or chocky.
We checked out early and paid for the the second night so that we could get away from an unwelcoming atmosphere.
We will not be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed one night at the beginning of September. The room was called Purbeck View on the 1st floor, very nice room, good size, everything very clean. We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and the food was good. The only down side to the restaurant was that the carpet was in a dire state and definitely needed replacing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VascoHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Good points
Staff were good and made an effort
Location is good (despite train)

Bad Points
Wifi rubbish - got good reception but can't get on which is a real problem.
Phone reception bad.
Breakfast cooked meal adequate.

Cold section not great - should be much better
Cleanliness room ok but windows dirty
Toilet malfunction
Shower fluctuating pressure
Shower function not best- need shower shield across.
Main bed was uncomfortable. Kids got a sofa bed which wasn't terrible but not so comfy

Overall price is too high relative to specification

Room Tip: Lots of other B&B s available if you book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were worried this place might be a bit like Fawlty Towers when there was no one at reception, and I had to find someone who was laying forks and knives on tables in the restaurant to come and register us as there seemed to be no one working there, but it was all fine. They let us dance to Elvis tunes on the jukebox until midnight. The food was excellent and the beds were sooo comfy. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMudpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed the other week on a business trip. I would say that most of the people staying were also business. Hotel rooms are a good business standard. Bar has only larger on draft. meals were OK but choice was limited. All staff were friendly and attentive when they were there. Problems finding staff when booking in, wanting a drink and checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stoke
2.7 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
398 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
479 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,232 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemps Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemps Country House

Address: East Stoke, East Stoke, Wareham BH20 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > East Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Stoke
Price Range: £127 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kemps Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kemps Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemps Country House Hotel East Stoke
Kemps Country Hotel
Kemps Country House Dorset/East Stoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing