We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Holiday in Paphos, Cyprus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen's Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kissonerga
Certificate of Excellence
westbury, wiltshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Holiday in Paphos, Cyprus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at the Queen's Bay for a week starting 16th August. First the good points, very clean and tidy, very quiet, staff lovely and friendly. Bar staff where helpful and quick with service. The indoor pool was was great bringing relief from the very hot sun.
Great place to explore the area from, cheap bus's to take you into Paphos and see the wonderful World Heritage Sites, or with a car visit the very beautiful Troodos Forest and Mountains.
The not so good points, which did not ruin our stay where as others have mentioned the amount of mixed salad on offer every meal time, we like to make our own salad but you had to have one of the variety already made. The food was always nice and hot but limited in choice.
The entertainment was pretty poor, but only the British seemed to be there, the Russian visitors, who where there in large numbers, seemed to disappear after dinner. The one annoying issue which really was a pain was the lack of sunbeds if you did not get up by 0630 and place your towel, never had to do that before and great shame as the main pool area was nice and the remaining grass area was lovely to use.
So overall a lovely week, good value for money, great base, nice people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    369
    149
    50
    7
See reviews for
194
594
63
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay (6 - 13 Aug 2014). Travelled as a couple. Great location, lovely big pool, lovely small beach. Never a problem getting a sunbed. Food good but not a huge variety. Entertainment low key but something every night. Staff really friendly and hotel exceptionally clean. Nothing much for children except the pools. Bus service excellent into Coral Bay and to Paphos Harbour. Sunsets amazing! Had a sea view room which I would recommend. Ideal for a chilling holiday, I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I visited Queens Bay August 2014 with my boyfriend and my parents and it was amazing. If you're looking for somewhere to really relax then this hotel is more than ideal. The location is great because it's right on the beach, you're only 10 minutes away from Coral Bay and 15 from Paphos Harbour. Initially my boyfriend and I thought that we would be quite bored (we're 19 and 22) but after looking about we found loads to do. They have a strip called Bar Street (get a cab) which is super lively throughout the week, there were quite a few beach partys in Coral Bay which is like 10 mins on the bus and I'd recommend getting a quad bike out.
The hotel itself is immaculate, it's so clean and the staff are incredibly funny and friendly. The only two critiques I have is the lack of variety with the lunch and dinner but breakfast is 10/10; and the lack of entertainment during the day and the quality of entertainment in the evening which is honestly quite poor.
Overall, 9/10. I'll definitely be going back next Summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sduncan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our stay here was not that good , first impression of the hotel was very nice ,booking in was no problem either , we booked a room with a sea view but got 1 with a BAY view , the balcony never and I mean never got the sun at any time of the day . The food was really not good either in fact it was very poor if it was not finished that night they seemed to mix it in with some thing else and gave it another look and name and that could go on for 2 maybe 3 days if you like multi salad well sorry this ain't the place for you , then they were the entertainment ??? if that's what you could call it ??? karaoke !!! I have never seen any karaoke team bring there own singers they did here and to be very frank they couldn't sing I mean , so please think long and hard before booking , unless things change very quickly , We have been to Cyprus 8 times and never had any problems like this Cyprus is a beautiful place for a holiday as long as you stay in a really nice place , we didn't

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hereford101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful hotel by the beach - this is an ideal place for you.
The hotel is situated away from the main road but within great transport links (bus 615 will take you to Paphos or Coral Bay).
We stayed in an upgraded sea view room with a balcony and it was worth every penny to see the sunsets.
It you want to use a safe (with a key) in your room it costs £12 a week. The hotel offers beach towels - you need to pay 10Euros deposit (refundable) and 2.5 Euros every time you want them changed.
The staff is very friendly, helpful and always smiling. The whole place is impeccably clean with public places being cleaned very often to a great standard.
There are two swimming pools, the outdoor (larger one) with very warm water and the indoor (smaller one) if you want to stay cool during the hottest hours of the day. It was easy to find sun loungers (with umbrellas and small tables) by the outdoor pool or on the grassy areas. You don't need to wake up at 6 am to do so! A great bonus is very calm atmosphere by the main pool with no loud music in the background.
There is a small public beach just few steps away from the main hotel facilities. Unfortunately, it doesn't belong to the hotel so you need to pay 2.5 Euros for the sun loungers. There is also a small private bar but this is not a problem as you can always get your drinks from the hotel bar.
We were a bit disappointed with the food. There was plenty of it but very repetitive and not inspiring. It would be a great addition to have live food stations. Evening meals were served in a restaurant. The service was very professional.
There is a range of daily activities going on such as archery, darts, table tennis, water basketball, etc. The gym is very dated and some of the machines didn't work. In the evening you can listen to live music, watch magic shows, play bingo or karaoke. Not to many activities for younger kids. I was looking forward to more swimming pool games or water workout as that's where you spend the most of your time on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ul3Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at queens bay with my girlfriend at the start of August under an all inclusive basis. I expected good things from reading the reviews and seeing pictures before going but it far exceeded my expectations! The pictures do not do this hotel justice, the location and views you see from the pool, bar and restaurant are outstanding. The sun sets into the ocean every night whilst you are sat eating your dinner. Whilst on the subject of food it is a very good quality. As you would expect from an all inclusive hotel the breakfast and lunch get repetitive, not so much the lunch. The dinners on the other are very varied. All three meals where always a very good standard, and tasted amazing.
The staff are all very friendly and serve a wide variety of drinks and cocktails all day. I made the most of my all inclusive. Another nice touch was being waited on for drinks in the evening even if your all inclusive which is a nice change. All in all I haven't got a bad thing to say about queens bay, I think it deserves a 4* rating, myself and my girlfriend had and amazing time and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a great hotel situated a 15-min bus ride outside Paphos. This means it is peaceful and even has its own bay area, but buses (the 615) run every 10-15 mins from outside the Crazy Spoon supermarket either to Coral Bay (opposite the supermarket) or Paphos (same side as the supermarket) right up until midnight, so you are not isolated!

I hesitated for some time before writing this review whether to give a 4 or 5 rating, but eventually settled on 4. Firstly, the great many wonderful things about the hotel:

If arriving late at night on a package, you will be left some sandwiches in your room - lovely touch.
The hotel is spotless. The grounds, pools, restaurant, bars etc are near enough perfect.
The outdoor pool is lovely and warm, with adequate loungers even for the busiest days. There are few children and no music playing so the atmosphere is generally one of calm relaxation.
Staff are lovely, cannot do enough to help you, will top up your drinks without you having to leave your seat!
Evening entertainment is nice and convivial, again a relaxed atmosphere and very acceptable for a hotel of this type and size.

So, you may ask, why not a 5-star review? There were just a few things that I felt the hotel could improve:

In my room (209) there was an interconnecting door to the next room, which obviously was locked as I had no connection with the guests staying there, but the door was very thin and let through a lot of noise, including coughing, conversations at normal volume, the TV etc. Fortunately my neighbours were not very noisy but this could have been an issue.
The food was not quite as good as the rest of the hotel suggested it would be. There was plenty to eat each lunchtime and evening, but the dishes weren't as inspiring as I'd had at previous all-inclusive hotels (as other reviewers have said though, you can eat anything off the coffee shop snack menu if you are all-inclusive)
I paid €30 for a week's wifi pass as when I am on holiday alone I like to keep in touch with family and friends at home. Sometimes this worked fine, but other times refused to connect at all for hours at a time. For the extra price paid this could be sorted better.
The hotel advertises that it has a gym - again as I was travelling alone I chose the hotel specifically for this facility as it is an enjoyable way to spend an hour in the afternoon. However most of the equipment was very old, some rusty and broken, and the aircon in the gym did not work.

All in all, I must say that I had a superb week at this hotel, and many people would not be bothered by any of the minor niggles that I have mentioned. I would certainly recommend it to those seeking a relaxed, friendly hotel, the points above are just suggestions for improvement of an already very very good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms from 208 up until about 214 have an extra-large terrace with a pair of loungers and an umbrell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lofty_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissonerga
0.2 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
4.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.2 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#15 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
5.9 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#8 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Bay Hotel

Property: Queen's Bay Hotel
Address: Coral Bay Road | PO Box 60416, Kissonerga, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Queen's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Bay Paphos
Queens Bay Hotel Paphos
Hotel Queens Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing