We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Few Things”
Review of Queen's Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen's Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kissonerga
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Few Things”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Just returned from a two week stay at the Queens Bay Hotel.

If you go on the “all inclusive” package, be aware that on your last day the all inclusive deal finishes at 14:30. This affects a lot of people that fly from Gatwick, Newcastle & Manchester with pick up times from the hotel between 19:00 hrs and 21:00 hrs. A snack will cost you 1.40 Euro for a small bottle of water & a burger 7.50 Euro. Ensure you help yourself to buffet lunch on your last day before 14:30.

Staff, the bar staff on the whole were very good & the maid who cleaned our room was excellent, our room was kept spotlessly clean. However, some of the staff waiting on tables require a customer service training course as they were very sullen & never welcomed you at your table.

Food.
Breakfast, the scrambled eggs were awful, someone mentioned that they were made with powdered eggs.

Lunch, we did not bother with so cannot pass any comment.

Evening meal, the food is very repetitive but you can usually find something, we only had to eat out once because the menu was all Chinese style food. If you expect Cypriot food you will be very disappointed as it was never on the menu.

Cakes and fresh fruit were available in the afternoon on the all inclusive package, however one cake and five apples in a cabinet was all that was ever available. Very poor!

Sun beds, this is a big issue. If you want one on the lawn, set your alarm for 06:00 hrs and you might get one. An example is one family saved six beds with only two being used until the children get up at 13:00. Another example is three people five beds. Three claimed on the lawn two claimed by the pool. I think that there are about seventy beds around the pool but by 06:30 at least 50% have been reserved. The management need to address this ridiculous situation.

The hotel is a very good 3 star, it is clean but needs updating, we understand that a refurbishment programme is due to start in January of next year. The sea view rooms are good value, the views are spectacular in the evening with some of the best sun sets we have ever seen. The evening entertainment is very basic, karaoke, bingo & live music, we, like a lot of others found it was better to sit on the verander and chat with other guests. On the whole this is a good hotel that attracts the “over 50’s” back year after year, so if you are looking for a lively hotel, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueensInfo, Guest Relations Manager at Queen's Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
There are plenty of people who just complain but this review is good, and it allows a reply that covers several things at once. My thanks to the reviewer.

I'm sorry that the All Inclusive finishes at what some people feel is too early. I would like to point out that our guests check in at 14:30 and check out at 12:00. So the A/I is allowed to run an extra 2.5 hours after the guest has checked out. The problem is that another guest could easily be checking into the same room by 14:30, so how can we know who is who? The new arrival may not be on All Inclusive. It is an unfortunate fact that both charter and scheduled airlines seem to be arriving later and later but we have to keep our times to a fixed rota.

Another bone of contention that this reviewer highlighted is the sun bed wars. We have notices around the hotel telling our guests that they cannot reserve sunbeds by placing towels on them. Despite that, everyone does it and then, contrary to the notices, guests are getting up earlier and earlier to "claim" a bed. Unfortunately, the only way that we could deal with this is to employ a "policeman" to remove towels from unused beds and we would no doubt get even more complaints. The answer is, do it yourself and we will support you.

The other complaint that we have had is regarding sun bed matresses. The simple answer is that they are now illegal by EU regulations. The matress can get wet and then harbours mould and other nasty things, so the EU have directed that they are dangerous and must not be used. That we still have a few is because we are phasing that type of bed out as we find replacements, not because we keep "comfortable" ones for special guests.

Finally, I would like to answer the reviewers comments on some of the staff. During the summer, we employ summer staff, some of whom do not speak very much English. They make up for that by speaking several other European languages, which is very useful with the wide range of guests we have. So it may be that they seem slightly surly to you but it could be that they don't understand your language or accent. Please give them the benefit of the doubt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    372
    153
    50
    7
See reviews for
200
600
63
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2010

After extensive research myself and my partner were pleased we selected the Queens Bay.
Rooms - The hotel rooms were clean but a little tired but were cleaned every day and towels exchanged. On day one we had a leaking toilet but within 5 minutes the issue was dealt with. If you require a safe you can choose to have one in the lobby for EUR7.00 or one in your room at EUR12.00 which is non refundable.
Staff - Very friendly and welcoming
Food - We both agreed that this was probably the only small thing which let the hotel down. We were all inclusive, Breakfast was good, lunch was ok if you like a roast dinner or feta salad. There was a variety of food but just wasn't that memorable. If you prefer dining out Coral Bay has some lovely restaurants and are reasonably priced.
Location - When booking this holiday we found it very difficult to find the locations of the hotels as some say they're in Coral Bay when they're not and others in Paphos. Although set in a quiet location we found that this didn't matter as the bus at the top of the road came every 10-15 minutes and was EUR1 into Coral Bay or Paphos and ran til about 10.30-11.00pm. I think Queens Bay is one of the last hotels on the main road before you travel on the coast road into Coral Bay itself. Coral Bay is 2-3 miles away and a taxi back at night was about EUR7-EUR10.
Nightlife -The nightlife in Coral Bay suits most ages with a variety of bars and restaurants. If you do get a chance, go to see Boy George at Blazing Saddles - I don't normally like that sort of thing but he was hillarious!
Beach - Although it was lovely going to the beach, we were a bit disappointed with the beach at Coral Bay, just seemed to be too many sun beds on top of each other and the snack bar was very expensive EUR1.50 for a small water! - so remember to take some snacks and big bottles of water.
Pool - The pool area was very clean and generally there were sunbeds available. If you wanted to sit on the grassed areas by the cliffs over looking the bay you will need to get up early as these were claimed from 7am!
Gym - Looked ok but was locked most of time so need to ask reception for the key
Age Range - Would say the age range was between 40-60 years with a few younger couples and probably as the kids were back at school there were no children.
Entertainment - Due to the age range of the visitors the evening entertainment was geared towards a maturer audience but not enough to put us off staying around until about 10pm to make use of the all inclusive!
If you do stay all inclusive, this finishes at midnight so any drinks after that can be paid for by cash or booked to your room.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to a friend who is looking for a relaxing holiday. With a little improvement to the food and entertainment this could easily be a four star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryhippo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2010

QBC is a really lovely hotel it is spotlessly clean and the staff are very kind and helpfull.The food was great plenty of variety, some people moaned, but to be honest i think they just like moaning. we met some lovely people. The first week we were there it was great cos no one rushed for the sunbeds to put there towel on, but then the last 3 days we were there the most miserable sods arrived and put towels on the sunbeds at 6am, pretty sad hey!!!! We have no complaints and would definitely reccomend this hotel, it is very relaxing. If i had to say anything that wasnt very good it would be the entertainment in the evening, but then you can just hop on a bus for a euro so no hardship. We stayed half board and didnt find it to be that expensive, and you could have your lunch instead of evening meal if you wanted, that way you can go out and have an evening meal and you not lost anything,so you have that option. Thanks QBC for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertdumbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Sept 5th to 12th, weather great, no complaints at all with hotel, staff ,and food. Bus to Paphos two minute gentle walk up road 1euro, tavernas and supermarkets five minute walk.
We went on holiday to chill out, read by the pool, swim in the pool or you could go down to the bay, a great setting plenty of loungers and no children that week. Age of guests 25 to 80.
We would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Have just spent a most enjoyable week in this, the most friendly hotel I have experienced in many years! The staff could not do enough for you. The highlight for me was being able to dine al fresco under the stars every balmy evening, a gentle breeze every now and then reminding you were dining under the stars! The food was excellent and varied no complaints what so ever! Breakfast too was varied with a choice of cold meats or sausages bacon ,beans eggs etc. The cereals were obtained through clever dispensers and ample COLD milk of two types was on hand. Being AI is an advantage for lunches and drinks were expensive I noted. The food was equally good as were the sweets and cakes! Tea and coffee making was available in your room, A Thermos type jug of cold water was replaced daily., bed linen was changed daily along with the bathroom towels. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean. By removing the room key from the fob meant the air/con could remain on when leaving the room, useful with ambient temperatures in the 30s! (This practice appeared to be tolerated) The only minus points in my opinion were,No pool towels were provided,but could be purchased in the hotel shop . The usual reserving of sunbeds took place of course, .some being reserved and people leaving the hotel for the morning for use in the afternoon..very selfish I thought! There is no guest toilets on the same level as the dining room, meaning one had to take the lift DOWN to the ground floor, most inconvenient! Hand rails would assist the less able to negotiate the many steps around the place especially when dining al fresco in low lit areas.These matters have promised to be attended to during the two month shut down after January.Access for coaches was sometime difficult, meaning one had many steps to climb to join the coach who could not be bothered to insist easy access be maintained, this issue also, was promised to be addressed, but I have my doubts if it ever will be!. Never the less, later this year
I will return ! Finally the excellent bus service cost only one Euro no matter what distance you wish to travel, the No 10 or 15 bus(actually 610 and 615)the former being the one for the Municipal Market only..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Stayed for10 days from the end of August. The hotel is clean although a little tired rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets.The beds ours was double was terrible very uncomfortable and no support very cheap matress suffered back pain most mornings. On the plus air con work very well in our room which was good being as the outside temp was never far from 30 degrees.
Food is bland to say the least it was edible that is the best I can say it works on a 3 day rotation and every thing is recycled into something else next day, the choice is limited very poor.
The hotel grounds need some TLC. The Bay as in Queens Bay is or would be very nice if they cleaned up a bit the rubbish is terrible most washed into the bay by the sea I would think but it looked like an ash tray most mornings with hundreds of fag ends and there was a constant stream of plastic bottles and fishing nets so that spoiled it some what. (its a public beach not for just for hotel guests)
The sunbeds are OK manged to get one most mornings but laying out your towel at 07.00 or before is common practice. The pool is OK its a pool and never got to busy.
We went all inclusive but not everything is, you have to pay for a mik shake or a Frappe most cocktails and your safe key which is non refundable. All meals for AI are buffet and you cant pick anything from the bar menu when this is on. But you can after 3pm very strange. The hotel shop is extortionate. charging 14.00 euros for a paper back which wasnt a new realease disgraceful.
On the plus its very peaceful and quiet the bus service runs along the coast road and you can go either way for 1 euro the buses are air conditioned and run every 15 mins.
Paphos itself is not great, and I was put of a vist to Tombs of the Kings since the planted a KFC next door which kinda took the magic away. All in all an OK holiday would I go again - No

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anarita, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We decided to take a week out and get some sunshine in Cyprus. Having stayed there twice before,finding it very good each time, we went again to the Queens Bay Hotel . We were disappointed.
It appeared that the hotel was only about 30% occupied and it seemed that savings had been made to cope with the drop in turnover.
Whilst our room was cleaned each day ,the towels and sheets were changed only once in the whole week .It was in the food that we felt had slipped the most. The Breakfast was Ok but i still would prefer ,as in many other similar standard hotels, a chef at the stand to freshly fry,poach ,scramble eggs or make omelettes to order,rather than leave a load of presumably oven baked eggs to get drier and more rubbery under the heater. I am sure this would be a success.
The evening meal was fair . Variety was less this time ,with everything overcooked, and the desserts seem to be the same each night.
One worrying thing I noticed was that following a welcome meeting ,left over orange juice was being poured from the glasses back into the storage jar.
The comfort of the hotel and the location are good and you will have a nice stay here but do not expect a la carte dining

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterDavidT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissonerga
0.2 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
4.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.2 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#14 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
3.6 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#38 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Bay Hotel

Property: Queen's Bay Hotel
Address: Coral Bay Road | PO Box 60416, Kissonerga, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos > Kissonerga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kissonerga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Bookcyprus.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Bay Paphos
Queens Bay Hotel Paphos
Hotel Queens Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing