We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““christmas night out””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winterbourne
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
““christmas night out””
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I organised a night out for me and the lady's I work with. it was a good price for the meal, but the soup was very bland , roast potatoes were burnt, the other stuff were not to great either, the pudding was ok.. the drinks were very expensive as well, the dance floor was small to for the other groups. so I would not go back for a meal. they allowed ppl to drink on the dance floor until a glass got smashed, took ages for a member of staff to pick it up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Helen

Thank you for your recent review. We are just in the process of planning this year's christmas parties so your feedback is invaluable and timely. We will take your comments on board for this year.

Our Mistletoe Masquerade Parties this year are going to better than ever so hopefully we can welcome you back and show how great they will be.

Kind Reagrds

Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    162
    143
    68
    57
See reviews for
130
192
14
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in June for a business trip, and was very disappointed. On arriving at the hotel I thought I had made a good choice again as it looks amazing and is set in some lovely grounds. However, the inside of the hotel doesn't look like it has been decorated since the 80's and if the carpets could talk they'd have a million stories to tell. The rooms were clean and tidy, but again dated, and were stiflingly hot, even with the window open as wide as possible in both directions. Each morning I woke up feeling as though I'd been camping. The service at the bar was awful, with people stood around waiting and no bar staff in sight, and even when they did arrive there was no apology for the wait. I also made the stupid choice of paying for breakfast, for £10 a day I was expecting more having stayed in plenty of hotels and chains before. The first morning there was basically no food with new trays arriving containing as few as 5 items, I actually felt bad taking 2 sausages..... Overall, I won't ever be going back, with the amount of choice out there for the price I paid, I know I can have a much much better experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent visit to the Mercure Grange Hotel. I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. Although negative feedback is not always what I want to hear, it is only through receipt of such firsthand information, that improvements to our levels of customer satisfaction can be made.

Some of our rooms can be rather warm during particularly hot summer days. To try to combat this each and every room has a large fan stored in the wardrobes. I was particularly disappointed to read your comments regarding our breakfast. It is priced competitively amongst our local rival hotels. The breakfast is very popular with most of our guests. It would appear that you have experienced an uncharacteristic dip in form. I will be speaking with my Head Chef & F&B Manager to establish what may have caused this dip.

In the meantime I do hope that this has not permanently marred your opinion of the Mercure Grange Bristol North hotel. Please let me know when you might next stay, so I can personally ensure you have a stay that you remember for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards
Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winterbourne hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for two nights for a family get-together. We were a bit cautious when we read some of the poor reviews, but we had a great stay. The hotel is clean and well appointed and excellent value for money. The room we had was very comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant and gave us excellent service. Special thanks to Darren and to Val who responded to the every need of our group and kept us amused. We all enjoyed it so much we are returning in the same group next year. The grounds are pretty and there is plenty of space in the well maintained lawns for children to play.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in 105 - I imagine all rooms are the same on that level. Although ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very kind review. The team were delighted to read such positive feedback and I know they enjoyed having your group with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards

Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redgrave
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just stayed in the above for two nights.

First night - taps didnt work in bathroom, tv was an interesting shade of orange BBC News just didnt look right with orange faces (:-). Food - ordered a meal and mineral water - they had to change because what was delivered was not what was ordered,

Best bit - checked out this morning, bill was for a single night with no food. Despite requesting the checkout staff 3 times to check this - result the same £90 for two nights and one meal.

When I asked who was the manager of the hotel - staff didnt know; but suggested I contact the HR Manager??

Does this sound like a 4 star hotel - your decide

Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. I understand that a full VAT receipt has since been forwarded to you, covering both of the individually booked nights accommodation.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Mr Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had a 1 night stay here on business & l was pleased with my choice. The grounds are nice to stroll around in and the double room was spacious & equipped with a writing desk area so it was easy for me to catch up on some after dinner. Although l had booked a double room, the bed was a super king with a memory foam mattress & very comfortable.

The food was nice & hot and portion size was good. The breakfast in the morning had a wide selection and buffet style. The hotel may not be the cheapest option in the Bristol area, hut quality is definitely what you're paying for!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelleBrailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear ChelleBrailey,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Mr Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Warm welcome. Very accommodating and in a beautiful setting. Attended our nieces wedding and the whole day was very well organised. Seem less changes between wedding, the wedding breakfast and the evening reception. Val was a fantastic member of staff and run the proceedings admirable.

A wonderful place to have a wedding. Thank you all xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellealp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for completing a review about the Mercure Grange hotel. I am very please to read that you had an enjoyable visit.

I was particularly pleased to read feedback regarding a specific staff member. Val has been at the hotel for a good number of years now and puts all that experience in to action to provide the best level of service possible. It was a pleasure to make your neice’s day a very special one and one that will be remembered for the excellent occasion it was.

I do hope that I can look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Grange Bristol North again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on business. I found the hotel in a relatively rural setting with excellent views over the countryside. A very peaceful hotel if you want to relax in peace and quite. The staff were very helpful and friendly making every effort to accommodate your needs whilst staying in the Hotel.

I would strongly recommend if you just want to get away for some well earned R&R

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have the benefit of a door at the rear if it gets to warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGrange, General Manager at Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you spending the time to give some first hand feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I value primary information as it is extremely valuable in maintaining and improving levels of customer service.

I was very pleased to read that you had a relaxing time during your stay. The location of the hotel certainly leans away from city centre hustle and bustle, making it the perfect getaway for anyone looking for a relaxing break.

Kind Regards

Josh Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterbourne
25.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
767 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
920 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
7.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Address: Northwoods The Grange Old Gloucester Road, Winterbourne BS36 1RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Winterbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winterbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel dating from 1851, located 6 miles from city center & 3 from train station. The Brasserie Restaurant has received an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Grange
Ramada Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing