We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant stay”
Review of Les Bruyeres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Bruyeres
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our third stay at Les Bruyeres as we are building a house in the vicinity. It is a brilliant place to stay, and by far the best we have found in the area. The layout has been very well thought through, arranged around a courtyard which offers privacy while being on the same site as the owners, Adam and Jan, who are really welcoming. The kitchen area is brilliant, with beer, wine and soft drinks avaiable with an 'honesty box' - (great after a long drive!), and facilites for making hot drinks and cooking if you want to. The breakfasts are excellent too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Could not complain about any aspect of this B&B. Friendly hosts, good sized room and en suite, a kitchen available for our use if needed and a lovely area out the back to sit (where we also had breakfast).
This was a flying visit and we didn't have much chance to enjoy the accommodation but would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our second visit to Les Bruyeres within the last three months and this was as good as the first. We stayed in the ground floor family room which is very big and has a large bathroom. Rooms are very comfortable and very clean.The hosts are excellent and very knowledgeable. Breakfasts were great. We had continental breakfast when we visited in July but this time were offered a cooked breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor family room very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Jan and Adam made us feel really welcome after a day on the road. There is secure parking which was great for a couple of old soft tops.The rooms are lovely, spacious, light and immaculate. Breakfast would have been on the patio but a shower brought us inside to a self contained kitchen area that you could use as your own, delightful fresh croissants and baguettes made for a great start to a relaxed day. Planning to return to a beautiful area and a lovely place to stay. Thank You. Gareth and Mandy

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our daughter, who lives at Bernac, booked us in for a marvellous stay with Jan and Adam. They were very welcoming and immediately made us feel at home. A tranquil but extremely pleasant village surrounded by the beautiful Charente countryside, with several places to eat. Jan and Adam provided brilliant breakfasts, on the terrace if warm enough, with only birdsong to disturb the peace. Although we were on the ground floor, beneath other bedrooms, there was minimal disturbance from the bedrooms above.British TV was available, via satellite, although we had little time to watch, and ther TV also incorporates a DVD player, with a separate CD player for entertainment. Our room was extremely comfortable, and there are many books in English for bedtime reading. Whilst we stayed for a week, there were others staying for shorter periods, ranging from French, Dutch, Australians and other Brits.
For visiting towns and villages, countryside and coast, in the Charente area, Vertuil makes an ideal centre and there is sufficient secure parking space at Les Bruyeres for several cars.Both my wife and I would highly recommend Les Bruyeres for brief or longer holidays, and I know others would be equally as impressed by Jan and Adam's hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, and even in the heat of summer should be reasonably cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19David44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights whilst house hunting would recommend to anyone. Breakfast was lovely even 'full english' if you wanted. Very comfortable beds in pretty rooms with original features (stone walls, huge beams etc). Added bonus was use of large kitchen downstairs for teas and coffees (supplied). You could cook for yourselves there should you want to. We didn't we chose to eat at one of the restaurants in the lovely village a 5 minute walk away. Our hosts were welcoming and informative nothing too much trouble. Well worth the money and more. Kim and Jim from Essex

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KimBenfleetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Have read good reviews about the previous owners. Being the first guest to to book with the new owners, a friendly couple just moved from Australia, I can guarantee Les Bruyeres has lost none of it's charm or value. Spent 2 nights in this beautiful village and the welcome was excellent. The rooms were spacious with real character, wooden beams. The ensuite was spotless and well apointed. The beds were ultra comfortable. Breakfast whilst continental was special. Freshly baked bread and a variety of croissants and preserves to follow selection of cereals and yogurt. Boiled eggs were also available.
Leaving the B & B immediately opposite is a river with the fantastic view of the church. Within a few minutes walk is the working mill, views of the chateau, Dixieland bar and an excellent restaurant. This beautiful village of Verteuil is close to the main road between Paris and Bordeaux. Les Bruyeres can be recommended as the ideal place to break your journey.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Bruyeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bruyeres

Address: 1 impasse des Tanneurs, 16510 Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Verteuil-sur-Charente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Verteuil-sur-Charente
Price Range: £44 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the river Charente, just round the corner from the stunning village chateau. Superior bed and breakfast accommodation with private bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, secure parking, WiFi, English TV and garden. Verteuil sur Charente is one of the prettiest villages in this part of France and has all amenities within walking distance including a choice of 3 restaurant/bars. Situated only 5 minutes south of the bustling market town of Ruffec. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing