We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant relaxing week in great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
La Mouette facing the inner courtyard and the fountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Mouette facing the inner courtyard and the fountain.
Swimming pool No 1
Soon to be heated in 2018!!! Pool #2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
La Mouette facing the inner courtyard and the fountain.
Swimming pool No 1
Soon to be heated in 2018!!!
Pool #2
La Mouette facing the private court yard
Pool #2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chef-Boutonne, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
11MARTY52
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant relaxing week in great location.”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and three friends spent a brilliant week in one of the gites at Logis de Lussais in September. The owners Eric and Julie were most welcoming and were very keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay. They asked if there was anything we needed whenever we saw them. The standard of the accommodation was excellent and all areas were very clean and comfortable. We used the barbeque on three nights as the weather was so good.
Chef Boutonne is a good base for exploring the area. The village centre was a twenty minute walk following a path along a small river. We visited the local cafes for coffee after breakfast. We'll be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities available and the swimming pool.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
There is loy more to see... so see you next September.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander65...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Gite for families with teenagers”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at La Mouette. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The Gite was spacious and comfortable with everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The pool and gardens were lovely. Our sons really enjoyed the games room and the free use of bikes was a bonus. We can highly recommend La Mouette as a place to stay in such a beautiful and interesting region of France

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. next time the fountain should be working!!! eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceM207...
1 review
“Beautiful French Accommodation.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here with some friends and has the most wonderful time. Eric and Julie were the perfect hosts and could not have been more helpful. The Gite was beautiful, comfortable and with all mod cons but still full of French character. We enjoyed having barbecues in our own bit of walled garden. There are also beautiful grounds and not one but two pools. The area is fantastic with lots to do and La Rochelle and Poitiers are both around an hour away. I would highly recommend a stay in this beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic pool area.
Liked least: Nothing all excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie...
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent short break at a beautiful property”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Visited with friends and made most welcome by the owners who live on site. Attractive and comfortable accommodation with shops and services in easy reach at the nearby small town of Chef Boutonne. A peaceful country location without being remote,

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful place to spend a holiday”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A most enjoyable break with friends. Julie and Eric were most helpful and friendly and gave us lots of information about the area. The gite was well equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Looking forward to going again in the warmer weather so we can make full use of the swimming pools.
Chef Boutonne is a pretty little town with all the facilites you would expect and a chateau with lake as well.
There are lots of things to do and places to visit in the area and compared to the UK the roads are very quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBettinaG
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After a very hectic few months I was very much looking forward to my trip to Logis de Lussais. It did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived I could feel myself relaxing in the wonderful surroundings. Our hosts Eric & Julie couldn't have been more welcoming and our gite was light, spacious and full of charm. Ideally situated for sightseeing or equally ideal for relaxing with a good book on your own sunny terrace or by the pool, this place is a real treasure and we have already booked another stay later in the year. Can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graeme H
Broad Oak, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chef Boutonne - Logis de Lussais Excellent, Superb, Friendly and a very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

well we found it!

Logis de Lussais is a beautiful, select and a very special place in idyllic countryside. I recommend Chateau de Javarzay, a 'fairy tale' setting castle - chateau and grounds along side the town of Chef Boutonne.
Both are within easy walking distance, down lovely little lanes and tracks, perfect for walking with children and cycling in safety. The town is vibrant, has a large market and plenty to offer in the way of shops, restaurants and cafes.

Logis de Lussais is a collection of 4 Gites within the grounds of a Gentleman's Residence. This gives it a uniqueness, a feeling of being select in a delightful setting with only 3 other neighbours, large grounds and two swimming pools.

The property is being updated for the summer season, we got an absolute bargain, all the gites are redecorated, ours was superb, large and well equipped, with very comfortable beds plenty of hot water and two shower - bathrooms.

We liked the secluded sun trap mini courtyard to be able to relax in, and yet within a 2 minute walk through the delightful grounds we had access to two heated swimming pools, unfortunately due to technical reasons the pools were not quite ready, during our stay.

Our hosts were delightful and charming, nothing was too much trouble and we felt as if we were special. It transpires that the site is under new ownership after a long period of neglect.

All I can say is right now it has become first class, and your first view is the excellent secluded sheltered safe parking in front of the lovely double wrought iron entrance gates through which you can see the original fountain. We would like to see that functioning, as it is the centre piece of the whole courtyard for all four gites.

I recommend a stay here, given the choice I would live here I didn't want to come back to England to the cold and the rain, this place is magical, the area very much the same, and plenty to do with roads that are free of traffic easy to drive and a whole host of interesting places well within an hours drive.
Drivers of my age will remember the days when you could take a drive, park outside a shop to buy a newspaper or park up for a simple picnic over looking beautiful countryside and scenery..

Words are not enough to describe this place and this area. You need to go, to see this gem... Just perfect...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoying the Gite and Grounds
Liked least: Only that the pools were temporarily not available for technical reasons.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Dear Graeme H
Thank you for your review. Sorry the swimming pool was not available during your stay. It has had better days and the liner had to go. So with a new liner, the swimming pool will be open for early June. Concerning the fountain which has not been working for many years as the previous owner let it run down ... we are very keen to get this feature working as it forms the centrepiece for the courtyard. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best Regards
Eric& Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing