We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, clean and beautiful house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 Ajoupa Villas

#5 Ajoupa Villas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
#5 Ajoupa Villas
Front view with pool Main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
#5 Ajoupa Villas
Front view with pool
Main bedroom
View from main bedroom
Second bedroom
Upstairs hallway looking into the second bedroom
Living room
Living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Pool area
Front gates
Looking over the pool at the villa
View from the side of the house
Garden next to the house
Pool
Deck chairs infront of the pool
View from the sea
Sunset from Ajoupa Villas
Local Batts Rock Beach
One of the many beaches in Barbados
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fitts, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janebN714...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable, clean and beautiful house”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic week at 5 Ajoupa villas. The house is very comfortable and clean. It is in a lovely setting and extremely good value for money. We would definitely stay here again. Great location for beautiful beaches and to access the rest of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homely and comfortable
Liked least: Limited kitchen utensils
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Garden, pool & sea-views of a Tropical hotel with the economy, space & independence of home.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

A villa/ apartment holiday offers the convenience, space & independence of home which a hotel lacks- but, unless in a holiday complex with associated crowds- the extra utility usually comes at the expense of the ambience, on-site swimming pool & easy access to a beach vital to the Tropical 'feel-good' factor. We know - we have a time-share in Spain. No such compromise here. This small development is an aesthetic delight in its own right - with sea views, lovely gardens and the pool, although shared, is never crowded - much more peaceful than all but the most exclusive hotel. Beach and supermarket are within easy walking distance and, although we enjoyed having a car, but for the attractiveness of the island itself, we could easily have remained at Ajoupa throughout. Otherwise, the public transport system in Barbados offers an easy & economical alternative. Failing that, we did the Jolly Roger Party cruise and they picked us up and dropped us off at the door - not at the nearest hotel - ideal given the likely effects of the rum punch! Catered hotel costs in Barbados are at a premium but trying to save on a 'room only' basis is likely to end up even more costly as eating out is equally expensive. Although supermarket prices are also higher than in the UK, the value for money offered by this property and the ability to self-cater properly - not just a microwave in the corner of a hotel room - more than makes up for that. If you can afford to stay at Sandy Lane - fine - but, if not, to enjoy the tropical experience without paying tropical prices, this is an ideal alternative within a 2 mile radius. The owner (Roz) and her agent (Monica) could not have been more helpful throughout. Internet access to home and a phone on hand to call Monica in emergency freed us from worries. That we were not running up hidden room or service charges made us quite smug and, with dependent children, our hotel choice usually lies between the inconvenience of a shared room or the worry - and cost - of a second room with unsupervised access. This was not a problem here - any more than it is at home - and, if they were careless keeping their clothes clean, what better than a washer-dryer to hand? If the opportunity presents itself, we will certainly return even if it is just the two of us. In the Caribbean, we normally cruise because the daily costs are better value at sea. If ambience & relaxation are not enough and you need wall-to-wall entertainment or catering, a cruise will still be better value than a hotel. Personally, however, even on a ship, we don't choose to be organised to this extent and, this time, for the small 'nuisance' of self-catering, we got a much better feel for Barbados, we were delighted to get away from the crowds associated with a resort - floating or otherwise - and if we wanted something different from international banqueting cuisine or a drink without a bar bill - we could get it for ourselves. It was a winning formula. It could always be combined with a cruise - which is what we did - but, to our surprise, we found we could just as easily have done without the cruise! We had visited the other ports before anyway - as we had Barbados - but it was only by staying ashore we discovered how much more this place has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We would have had to pay much more elsewhere for this ambience.
Liked least: Full cooker, fridge freezer & washer-dryer great but needs more crockery/cutlery.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to everything
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LizaCtori
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Ajoupa Villas”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Ajoupa villas for 2 weeks in July/August 2013 and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The house is perfect for a small family (we are 2 adults with teenage children). It was clean, in great condition, is well provided with a good kitchen, and very comfortable. Importantly, for our children it has a pool (shared with 13 other houses, but rarely were there many other people in it) a great beach close by and WiFi access! We hired a car for 5 days over the 2 weeks as Barbados is easy to get around and we wanted to see the very different Atlantic coast. Having said that, the buses that run along the coast were frequent and fun to be in. The west coast is tastefully developed and in my opinion, as the most beautiful beaches, some very undeveloped and others with a bar or two provided. The local beach is the former, and we were lucky enough to come across large turtles swimming around as we snorkelled along the reef there. There are plenty of resturants and bars a short bus drive or walk away. The closest bar, which is a 5 minute walk away is part of a good Italian restaurant where you can just have drinks, and it is lively and good value particularly between the 4-6pm happy hour! The locals are incredibly friendly and we never felt unsafe, unlike on some other islands.
Ajoupa Villas is a great option for those who want to experience an expensive island on a smaller budget.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balcony watching the sunset
Liked least: Lack of TV as its nice to watch even the local news.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris3101
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from 11 nights at 5 Ajoupa Villas. First of all Barbados is amazing with white sands, turquoise sea, beautiful weather and lovely people. This villa which is part of a small 14 villa gated complex is not in a touristy area which is fantastic. Its a very short walk to the road to pick up the fabulous yellow reggae buses and also to the beach. Jordans supermarket - which is well stocked is about 5 mins walk away. I will say that food is expensive, the locals told us that it had doubled in the last 2 years - almost everything is imported. Bigger supermarket in Holetown, a short bus ride away that even stocks essential waitrose stuff!!! There is very easy acces to all the island by the buses - not to be missed is Fish Fry night at Oistens and we got the bus from the the nearby road straight there. We did hire a car for 2 days to see the interior and I would advise doing that from the UK as we had real problems getting one once we were there.

Back to the villa. It is set in the most beautiful grounds and has a lovely shared pool right outside the front door. We were met by the lovely Manager Monica who showed us everything and even booked our return taxi to the airport. It is well furmished with a complete kitchen with washing machine and dryer and everything you need. We did eat in a few times as eating out can be dear and we were glad of the full size cooker. There is air conditioning throughout - a must. There are 2 lovely bedrooms. My husband and I slept in the double at the front and had gorgeous views of the sea. The other bedroom at the back is a twin. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers and there is a safe in one of the rooms. There is a full size bathroom with a really good shower. The sheets and towels were changed halfway through our stay and the villa cleaned. The other residents were mainly the other owners so we had lots of tips from them but there is a lot of info in the villa.

Loungers are provided for pool side use too. We loved it so much we are planning to go back next year.

We got to know the locals on our walks to/from the beach - so friendly - everyone asking if we were enjoying our holiday and did we like the island. They are so proud of it and quite rightly.

Roz the owner was so helpful througout the booking process and even emailed us the week before as she was on holiday there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not in a tourist area and the setting
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hagglers visiting property to sell you food
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;