We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Peaceful Pace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbeywood Gardens

Abbeywood Gardens
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Delamere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rowlinson family have lived at Abbeywood since 1987, during which time they have made many improvements and additions to the gardens. The year starts in February with many varieties of Galanthus in Jane's Garden, followed by other Spring favourites, Erythroniums and Trilliums, to name but a few of her rare plants. The Main Garden is divided into separate areas. The formal layout gives way to naturalistic planting within. Early May starts with Tulips followed by Alliums and Camassia. Seasonal interest continues until around mid September - weather depending. The Christopher Lloyd inspired Exotic Garden, designed around the remnants of the old vegetable garden, is filled with Dahlias, Cannas, Banana and other tender perennials. These continue until the first frosts. The Young Arboretum is planted with rare evergreen and deciduous trees for year round interest. A 2km, wildlife walk incorporates the existing and new woodland on the 45 acre grounds.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Peaceful Pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My last visit here was no enjoyable, so this time with visited without any children - and it was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful and the gardens are stunning. This is a quite a large estate, but much of it is woodland. The formal gardens are compact but excellent with plenty of places to sit and enjoy.
While there are seats in the formal garden, it would be nice to have a few more seats in the other areas so that visitors could take time to sit and enjoy the views and the peaceful setting.
The tea room were lovely, a beautiful place to sit and relax and the toilets were the best I've seen in a public place.
We will go again, in a different season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissssan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    27
    7
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most incredible wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I chose the beautiful Abbeywood Estate glasshouse as our wedding venue for our June wedding, and I'm so glad we did. The professionalism, service and food were all incredible, with many of the staff going above and beyond what was needed to ensure all our guests were well tended.
Special mention must go to Heather - who helped us arrange the whole thing from start to finish – as her organisation, professionalism and management ensured our day went very smoothly, and all with a smile. Small touches like bringing glasses of water to my husband and I when we were out in the garden after the service (so we wouldn't get too parched in the heat) made us feel really cared for and looked after.
The wedding itself was incredibly well run from start to finish and the food was delicious (several of the guests commented how delicious it was, and the clean plates were proof!).
The grounds are also breathtakingly beautiful in summer.
I cannot recommend this venue enough for a wedding - we're already making plans to come back for our anniversary!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quickpackthesuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a superb day out at Abbeywood Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

What a superb day we have just had at Abbeywood Gardens. We were a group of 12 and we
started with a most interesting tour and talk given by the head gardener (David?). He took us
around all the different gardens - The chapel garden, the pool garden and the exotic garden etc. The weather was hot and sunny and all the plants and flowers looked stunningly beautiful.
We wished that we had had more time and then some of us could have gone for a walk in the
woods but instead we went and enjoyed a delicious lunch in the conservatory of the light and
airy restaurant. I can thoroughly recommend the crayfish, prawn, salad. We were pleased to
meet the owner Mr. Rowlinson and to be able to tell him how much we had enjoyed our visit
and hope to return again very soon.. It would be interesting to see the different colours at a
different season. I cannot praise this garden enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isabel939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food below standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have visited Abbeywood on a number of occasions and have found recently the food is not as good as in the past. Have they changed their chef? The salads, though fresh, are bland, with little or no dressing. On my last visit the "herb potatoes" arrived minus herbs. When questioned about this, the waitress returned from the kitchen to say they "had no herbs" and would chopped onions do instead? Come on Abbeywood, we ladies who lunch deserve better!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Truely beautiful setting for a wedding anytime of year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you to Abbeywood, the recent venue for Our Daughters wedding on 23rd May. Everything about Abbeywood is Quality. The setting and surrounding gardens are so beautiful for a wedding anytime of year. All the staff are Helpful and Friendly especially Heather who has dealt with everything so professionally and nothing was too much trouble she is an absolute Gem. She was absolutely brilliant in all her dealings and the day ran like clockwork. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending Abbeywood as a terrific venue for a wedding or other functions. We had an absolutely fantastic day to remember and we can't thank Abbeywood enough! Excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank stevenhector123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbeywood Gardens also viewed

 
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Abbeywood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing