We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pear tree

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
peartree cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
peartree cottage
lounge
lounge
dining area
fully equipped kitchen
kitchen dining area
bathroom
twin bedroom
downstairs double bedroom
new downstairs en suite
oradour sur glane
oradour sur glane
lake st pardoux
chinese restaurant in st junien
saturday market in chauvigny
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bellac, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heidi W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly peaceful”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I have just come back from a week and a bit stay at the Pear Tree. The gite is situated in a very quiet, peaceful location just outside of Bellac. The Pear Tree is a lovely, pretty little gite, very comfortable, and supplied with everything you could need. The pool and garden area are fab for relaxing in and looks lovely at night lit up. Mark and Michelle are fantastic hosts, on hand for when you need them, but discreet and unobtrusive when you don't.
We had a lovely stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Pear Tree, and it's lovely owners!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to have you stay in PEARTREE cottage hope to welcome you back one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was nothing we didn't like!!
Liked least: Bad weather!!!
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review it was a pleasure to have you as guests we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Windsor,
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, wifi, sattelite TV
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
314JoJ
Bellac, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well presented, comfortable, relaxed welcome and beautifully quiet”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We wanted a quiet holiday to introduce our young kids to France and travelling abroad. This is exactly what we got.

It may be off the tourist track, but all the better for it. Attractions took a little seeking out, but every one was value for money and very quiet.

The gite is spacious inside, with plenty of space. Not to mention the huge garden and pool.

Flora and fauna outstanding, neighbouring owners also extremely help full and friendly.

Everything you need for a relaxing self catering holiday, including 2 exhausted kids every night!

I would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling welcome in a real French village, with gorgeous countryside.
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshman...
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Time, Great Place, Great Hosts”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We travelled at the last minute and were drawn to Pear Tree as we could pay by the night instead of a fixed 7 night tariff, in addition they were able to accommodate our young dog, had a pool, UK television and also broadband.

Each and every box ticked but we were not expecting the wonderful welcome and hospitality from both Mark and Michelle.

The gite is a tardis and much, much larger than any photograph can ever show, the comfort and decor were an absolute credit to this couple who have poured their heart and soul into creating holiday accommodation to be very proud of.

Add to that the well kept gardens and pool this is genuinely a gem of a place, and I'm not sure they realise how good it is.

I would hope that any future guests would not be concerned about their hosts residing next door, there is no need to be, Mark and Michelle are there to be called on with advice on places to visit, but discrete and keep a distance if that is what's preferred. Engage with them, they are charming and we spent a couple of sunny afternoons with them in the garden.

If travelling with a dog you will not be disappointed, they know dogs and spoilt ours with treats to eat and play with......I fact they became a doting Uncle and Aunt to our 11 month old German Shepherd puppy.

All in all, spacious and gracious is the best way to describe this place and Mark & Michelle.

We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, facilities, location and hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing