We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
Cottage Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Front View
Cottage Front & Driveway Kitchen with Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Cottage Front View
Cottage Front & Driveway
Kitchen with Dining Area
Lounge Area
Lounge Logburner & Fireplace
Dining Area in Lounge
Luxury Overhead Shower with Handset & Slidebar
Luxury Whirlpool Bath
King-size Bedroom
Double bedded Room
3/4 Single bedded Room
Bunk & Single Bedded Room
Large Enclosed Garden
Patio with brick BBQ
Patio Area at Rear of Cottage
View of Garden & Pond from side of Cottage
Dalbeattie Forest Access Path at Rear of Cottage
View of approach to cottage with Dalbeattie Forest backdrop
Autumn Landscape on approach to Cottage
Rockcliffe Bay
Kippford Estuary at High Tide
Moonlight over Rockcliffe Bay
The Slab  - part of the 7 Stanes biking Hardrock Challenge in Dalbeattie Forest
Bluebell Meadow on Jubillee Path between Rockcliffe & Kippford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
margaret...
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was exactly as described. It was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The setting was quiet and peaceful and the garden was a joy with wild birds galore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy U
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from an amazing short break at this gem of a cottage. Peace and tranquility! Highly recommended and a home from home. We cannot wait to return. Cozy, clean, spacious, remote, fabulous comfy beds and powerful shower! Thank you for a brilliant time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jblue10
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb holiday -lovely cottage and location, amazing wildlife”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed for a week in this lovely cottage. It is very well equipped and if you had forgotten to bring anything I'm sure you would find whatever you needed in the cottage. It was clean and tidy nicely furnished and very warm (we were keen to try out the log fire but it was too warm!). The wild life was amazing. In the garden we saw loads of different birds including a grey partridge, Jay, tree creeper, nut hatch, great spotted woodpecker, coal tits, blue tits, great tits. From the garden we saw red deer, and buzzards. In the lane just outside the cottage we saw badgers. The cottage is situated in a very quiet and peaceful location near the end of a no through road ( so quiet and peaceful). It has an enclosed garden which is great if you have children or a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife, comfort, peace and quiet
Liked least: only problem was the lack of mobile phone signal in the area (mixed blessing!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
1 review
“Great place for a family getaway”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Greenthorns is a lovely cottage either as a base for day-trips or to bunker down and get away from it all. We (three generations) have just a spent a lovely week there and a good time was had by all. The kids loved playing in the large garden and I particularly enjoyed getting out on one of the bikes and exploring the tracks in the nearby woods.

Pete has just installed a new whirlpool bath, which meant the only arguments with the kids about bath-time was who got to go in first! The shower is also nice and powerful, which is good for getting you going in the morning!

Although a car is really essential to get to Greenthorns, if you like walking or bike riding, you can do that straight from the cottage.

Friendly, helpful neighbours helped to make it a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks for the brilliant review and pleased you had a fantastic stay at Greenthorns. hope you're able to visit another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineHen...
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great time had with loads of room inside and outside for our large group to spread out.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Have just returned from our stay at Greenthorns with our party consisting of 4 adults and 3 young boys and a fantastic time was had by all. The large enclosed garden was an instant hit with the boys who loved the two tree swings and the space to run around. For the adults the patio space was great to sit out in with table and chairs provided and although we didn't use the BBQ the covered area would make this an easy option regardless of the weather. Inside there was a spacious lounge and four large bedrooms which allowed us all to spread out. Again the boys loved the bunk room and the quirky conversion of toilet and handbasin in one of the wardrobes in this room. Most enjoyable was looking out for the red squirrels coming for their breakfast every morning and a woodpecker was also spotted. Kitchen was well equipped for large groups and the power shower in the bathroom was amazing. Pete allowed use of any bits and pieces in the sheds and one of our group took the opportunity to try out one of the mountain bikes. The cottage is off the beaten track but this adds to the charm and if you're well stocked up this poses no problem. Dalbeattie is a short drive away to pick up takeaway or for good local butchers. You're near several good local beaches and restaurants so there's plenty to occupy your time. Pete was a pleasure to deal with and nothing was too much trouble to make our stay one of the most enjoyable we've had recently.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large enclosed garden and space inside.
Liked least: No washing machine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay in a stunning location”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I recently visited with my husband and my teenage son - both of whom are keen photographers . We had an amazing 4 day stay in the house which is situated in a fantastic location next to the Dalbeattie forest. The house is situated at the bottom of a very quiet secluded lane with views over the surrounding countryside.

The house was very well equipped and had everything we required for the stay, ample outside parking and a recently refurbished kitchen and living room. The most amazing aspect of the house is it's location and abundance of wildlife . An ideal location for any body interested in bird watching or photography . Within minutes of us arriving the red squirrels were regular visiters to the bird feeders along with numerous other birds. We saw badgers in the field along with deers, all visible from the house windows.

There was so much to see and do in the area ,walks in the forest, trips to the nearby coast and Natural trust properties nearby . We also had an amazing trip to see red kites feeding at a nearby farm -a must for photographers and bird watchers alike.

All together a fantastic stay and we hopefully will return in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2014
Thanks for your brilliant review. we're glad that you love the cottage, surrounds and wildlife as much as we do! We're pleased you intend to return soon! Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma0304201...
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed at Greenthorns for a golfing trip at the local golf course. The cottage was ideal, very spacious with everything we needed. Beautiful surroundings and pleasant easy communication with owner. Will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thanks for the great review and recommendation, look forward to talking to you again on your return to our lovely cottage! Many Thanks Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing