We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing find.”
Cottage Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage Front View
Cottage Front & Driveway Kitchen with Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Cottage Front View
Cottage Front & Driveway
Kitchen with Dining Area
Lounge Area
Lounge Logburner & Fireplace
Dining Area in Lounge
Luxury Overhead Shower with Handset & Slidebar
Luxury Whirlpool Bath
King-size Bedroom
Double bedded Room
3/4 Single bedded Room
Bunk & Single Bedded Room
Large Enclosed Garden
Patio with brick BBQ
Patio Area at Rear of Cottage
View of Garden & Pond from side of Cottage
Dalbeattie Forest Access Path at Rear of Cottage
View of approach to cottage with Dalbeattie Forest backdrop
Autumn Landscape on approach to Cottage
Rockcliffe Bay
Kippford Estuary at High Tide
Moonlight over Rockcliffe Bay
The Slab  - part of the 7 Stanes biking Hardrock Challenge in Dalbeattie Forest
Bluebell Meadow on Jubillee Path between Rockcliffe & Kippford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Colvend, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare T
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing find.”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelled to this wonderful area of Scotland for a long weekend break. We know this area of Scotland well and Greenthorns was a fantastic base. The cottage was amazing. It was dark when we arrived but Pete had sent excellent directions from the main road and also the location of the key. We made ourselves at home straight away. Come first light we were surprised at the size of the private garden which surrounded most of the property. There were large windows from most aspects of the property which was excellent for bird spotting. Everyday there were wood peckers, nut hatchers, various finches and blue tits to name but a few. The kitchen was amazing with everything you could possibly need and my little boy thought the colour changing light in the Jacuzzi bath was great. We visited the local areas of Sandyhills, Rockliffe, Dalbeattie, Southerness, Threave Castle and Doach Wood during our stay. There is an excellent 9 hole golf course at Kippford which stocks Cream O' Galloway ice cream which is a bonus. We will definitely be back to Greenthorns and would not hesitate to recommend this property to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thanks very much for the review. Nice to know our guests rate it as highly as we do! Hope to see you there again in the future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clurr74
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for mountain biking!”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our family spent a lovely 4 days at Greenthorns. The house is spacious, warm and well kitted out with everything we needed. Our young kids loved the big garden, and we could watch birds and stargaze too.

The house is also perfect for cyclists as it's next to the Dalbeattie mountain bike trail, there's a large garage for storing bikes and a fantastic whirlpool bath for soaking aching muscles!

Booking was easy and Pete was really helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindsey M
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent New Year 2015 at Greenthorns and loved every minute! The cottage is cosy but spacious at the same time and felt like a 'home from home'. It has the all the mod cons you could possibly need and at times it felt a shame to leave it in order to get out into the beautiful surrounding countryside.

I really couldn't recommend Greenthorns enough. The owners are a pleasure to deal with too. 10/10!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and beautiful views but close proximity to the road if you want to venture further afield.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was exactly as described. It was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The setting was quiet and peaceful and the garden was a joy with wild birds galore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy U
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from an amazing short break at this gem of a cottage. Peace and tranquility! Highly recommended and a home from home. We cannot wait to return. Cozy, clean, spacious, remote, fabulous comfy beds and powerful shower! Thank you for a brilliant time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jblue10
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb holiday -lovely cottage and location, amazing wildlife”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed for a week in this lovely cottage. It is very well equipped and if you had forgotten to bring anything I'm sure you would find whatever you needed in the cottage. It was clean and tidy nicely furnished and very warm (we were keen to try out the log fire but it was too warm!). The wild life was amazing. In the garden we saw loads of different birds including a grey partridge, Jay, tree creeper, nut hatch, great spotted woodpecker, coal tits, blue tits, great tits. From the garden we saw red deer, and buzzards. In the lane just outside the cottage we saw badgers. The cottage is situated in a very quiet and peaceful location near the end of a no through road ( so quiet and peaceful). It has an enclosed garden which is great if you have children or a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife, comfort, peace and quiet
Liked least: only problem was the lack of mobile phone signal in the area (mixed blessing!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing