We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family run small hotel”
Review of Cheviot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheviot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good family run small hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent two nights in this small hotel/B&B, our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street, which was reasonably busy but with the window closed the room was quiet. Our room (No.5) had recently been redecorated and had a very large comfy bed, the bathroom could have done with an upgrade but was adequate. The rest of the stairways and hall need refurbishing and new carpets, having the kitchen on the first floor didn't help with the traffic on the stairs. However all that said the staff were very friendly and welcoming the room was clean and comfy and suited our needs fully.
The restaurant and food was extremely good and the breakfast was the best we've ever had in a hotel, (some costing a lot more than we paid) and lasted us the whole of the day, of course if you wanted less then you only had to ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    75
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
132
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were cycling the reivers route earlier this month and stayed in Bellingham overnight. We ate here and had a great meal with a good choice of beers. There is a separate restaurant, which if like me you prefer to eat in a quieter situation, was a welcome surprise. We then went into the bar for drinks after the meal. The pub was a lively locals pub, but we all felt welcome and had a great night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed one night while walking the Pennine Way. It was the perfect stopover. The landlord & landlady are extremely friendly (in fact, all the staff went out of their way to chat to you); the pub side was warm & friendly with cracking beer, a free jukebox and a pool table & dart board. The restaurant has been nicely redecorated and the menu is varied. Breakfast the next day received top marks - particularly the poached eggs on toast which made me a little jealous as I can't do my 'poachies' that good.
The rooms upstairs aren't the most modern looking but they are extremely spacious and the beds are the most comfy we have stayed in throughout the entire walk.
I'm a shower lover & my room only had a bath but it was deep & the water ran swiftly so it wasn't an inconvenience.
The presence of Tunnocks Caramel Wafers on the tea tray were a winning touch!
I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone planning a stay in Bellingham, whether its for one night or more.
I also noticed that they have a couple of meeting rooms so I'll bear it in mind for the next team away day also.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Called in on Sat 1st June for lunch. Menu was varied from snacks to full meals, all reasonably priced. The service was friendly and efficient. We were informed there would be a slight wait for meals as the food was cooked to order. There was a bit of a wait but it was worth it. Also featured a range of hand pulled beers. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brymc186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

As we were self catering in Belligham we used the Cheviot several times during our stay. The bar is obviously well used by locals and everyone was very helpful and friendly and the selection of ales good. Our first meal was very good although one member of the party had quite a wait for his drink order. We had a meat platter to share as a starter and enjoyed it . Two of the party had fish and chips (more like a whale the portions were so large) and the remaining member of the group had a burger. All nicely presented and greatly enjoyed.The eton mess could have had a greater fruit to cream rati but the sticky toffee pudding was up to scratch. Our second meal was on the opening night of the beer festival so maybe that was the reason the service was a little slower than before. The chips were very dark in colour which was disappointing. The chicken pie was lovely as were the ribs. We decided to skip pudding as the ales were so inviting. The service was friendly if a little slow but we did not feel pressured to leave and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Cheviot hotel for two nights. Looks can be deceiving and on arrival l was a little disappointed as the bar was not quite as l'd imagined, we walked in to the locals watching racing on a large tv, not quite the quaint inn we had pictured. Our room was a pleasant suprise newly and well decorated and contained everything we needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room was spotlessly clean with fluffy towels and an amazingly comfortable kingsize bed. We ate in the Cheviot both nights, we had planned to find another restaurant on our second night but soon decided we wouldnt find one as good. The menu is varied and the meals on both evenings were excellent. Breakfast was also outstanding only complaint was that there was too much. The bar was busy and we soon realised had a great atmosphere, it is obviously very popular with the locals . We found all the staff and the owners very friendly and really hope to be visiting the Cheviot again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We went here as we had won a voucher from a previous visit to bellingham.
we started with nachos to share. There was loads and were delicious .excellent food and good service from the staff. Big portion so you definitely won't go hungry.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smurfs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
0.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
9.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Hotel

Property: Cheviot Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheviot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cheviot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheviot Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing