We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Cheviot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheviot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Although we didn't stay here,we booked in for a meal during our stay in Bellingham . A fabulous meal from start to finish,Very good value for money,nice atmosphere with friendly staff.Would definitely recommend and return if stay in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeC19703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I wanted a rest stop near Kielder and this hotel met all my expectations. Great room that had a giant bed and well stocked refreshment selection. The staff are super friendly and looked after me as I was on my own. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was great, I pretty much gave the cheese board a standing ovation! 4 local cheese with hazelnut bread - scrummy. After a quiet night's sleep I was then treated to the best breakfast I've ever had in a B&B. Croissants, lovely toast, a selection of jams and a delicious scrambled egg and smoked salmon. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Bellingham during a camping trip, so never slept at The Cheviot Hotel. However we did have a wonderful experience dining there with what I have to say is some of the best pub grub I've tasted.

Initially we stopped there after a days walking for a quick pint. The bar area is nothing to write home about dark, dingy and a little dirty, but very welcoming and friendly. The price of the drinks alone meant we would return!
The following day we decided we had, had enough of camp site food and wanted to treat ourself. My small family and dog were of course limited to places to eat and decided to return to The Cheviot Hotel as it welcomed our four legged friend too. ( bar area only, not restaurant understandably )
The menu was varied and catered the tradtional pub grub, fish and chips, pie etc but also some exotic dishes with flavours from Japan and Mexico.
Being a bit of a food snob, I turned my nose up at the more exotic dishes fearing the worst and played it safe.
Bigger fool me!!!
We all shared nachos and home made dips. Nothing out of this world you may say, but try them. They were outstanding and the best nachos I've had. The dips were fantastic and really have it a colourful presentation.
I had for my main fish and chips and the rest of my family had burgers. They were almost as challenging as the trek to Hareshaw Lin. The burgers were some of the biggest and tastiest burgers we've tasted. All sauces were homemade not from a bottle. Again the presentation was tantalising.
WHEN I go back next time I'll be bolder in my choice and leave my preconceived opinions back home.
Lovely place, can't speak highly enough about the accommodating staff and the chef is a hidden secret in rural northumberland.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank 999_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just returned today from a very pleasant stay at The Cheviot. We received a very warm welcome a very comfy bed and a tremendous breakfast.
The rooms are a little dated but the bed is huge and oh so comfy. They do not skimp on the tea coffee and hot chocolate in the rooms and there is plenty of hot water. A smashing place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardencottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked for a one night stay as I was working in the area. Throughout my stay, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean with a very large and comfortable bed. More than enough brew kit was supplied. Some areas are in need of a little TLC (room bathroom, halls and stairs), but don’t let this put you off, as it very good value. Eat evening meal and breakfast in the hotel, both excellent. The hotel has a very good atmosphere with a good mixture of locals and tourist filling the bar. Would use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimCoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The atmosphere at this hotel has to be one of the selling points. Each night that we stayed the bar and restaurant were busy which for me shows the signs of a quality place to be, especially when there are other places very close by. The food was of restaurant quality and could be enjoyed either within the bar area or the seperate restaurant. As the bar had such a good atmosphere we ate here both nights and were still given top quality service. The menu was diverse and most tastes were catered to. Breakfast was excellent again with a range of choice and local produce used where possible.

The room was well equipt, with the family room having a "Nespresso" machine. The bed was huge and very comfortable, room was peaceful and there was also a large TV if that is what you are looking for.

The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and despite how busy the bar was the owners did their very best to make sure we felt it a home from home. There is an excellent wine choice, which is good value for money, and some interesting guest ales. There were some excellent recommendations for what activities to undertake in the area as we had very little knowledge. Each of which were very enjoyable and inexpensive.

I would recommend the Cheviot for the overall experience I had, it certainly put some good finishing touches which made for a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Jo_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
4.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,182 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Gun Inn
The Gun Inn
#1 of 1 in Ridsdale
64 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Holly Bush Inn
The Holly Bush Inn
#1 of 1 in Greenhaugh
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Hotel

Address: Bellingham NE48 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range: £76 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheviot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cheviot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheviot Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing