We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of Cheviot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheviot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Usually unsure of pub/come hotel type accommodation as staff can be too busy with others to give you full attention but not so here. The welcome from Anne at the Cheviot was excellent and the room especially the bed was very comfy. Yes the hotel has 'work in progress' but these things take time and for walkers on the Pennine Way this was just right. Loads of hot water, big soft towels and a great drying room for boots and clothes which thankfully we didn't need. The dining room had been refurbished and the food was excellent, both in the evening and the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    75
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
132
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stumbled on this pub on our family holiday and returned 3 more times to was that outstanding, Beautiful home cooked fresh food and real ales great value lovely friendly staff and local people a must do if you get chance to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxamtxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went for an evening meal on the last night of our holiday. The restaurant was clean, great menu choices, huge portions, at great prices. Kids food was also a huge portion, for a main course and ice cream it was £5.50. Well worth a visit for a meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHilt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had lovely refurbished room with great bathroom. A little noisy early morning due to deliveries at Co-op over the road. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Appears to be under new ownership and in process of refurbishment so if all continues on these lines, should be a great place.

Room Tip: The clatter of metal crates at dawn for the co-op opposite may make the front rooms less than perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 605debh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here while walking the Pennine Way. It was our penultimate night on the 256 mile journey.

We were welcomed in by the landlord, who took time to show us around the bar, restaurant and room. He also showed us the large drying room where we could dry our boots and clothes.

The room we stayed in had a bath, which was large and comfortable, and a shower with good water pressure. The room had been very recently been rebuilt. The bed was new and huge and had a deep mattress and great linen. It was by any rating one of the best we've slept in anywhere. We slept very well and the double glazing meant we were undisturbed. It was also great to soak our cares away in a bath.

We ate that evening in the bar. I enjoyed a pint of Old Rosie cider and we shared a very agreeable bottle of NZ Sauvignon Blanc. As pub fans, we liked the fact that the public bar is very traditionally pubby, with a good vibe and a good jukebox while the lounge bar is quite posh. We ate a tasty, hearty lasagne.

Aside from the bed, it was the breakfast that set this place apart. Everywhere else we stayed had served us a full cooked breakfast. The Cheviot offered us scrambled eggs (which we were told were fresh that morning from hens in the village), kippers, full cooked, a giant mushroom or any combination of the above. They also had three types of juice and a fruit salad that included mango and blueberries. Anyone who has spent two weeks staying in inns and pubs will understand why I am describing this breakfast in detail and why it is unusual and great!

We liked this hotel a lot and appreciated the thought that has gone into it. Top notch.

Room Tip: The one with the bath and big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

From the outside it looks like any other hotel but, inside it's a different story. Dirt everywhere! I woke up with a spider on me and the cobwebs!The service is awful. It's as if they don't care for their customers at all! The food is very poor and for the price is not good value for money. The staff are rude and don't appreciate you sending money I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Revieeeeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at the Cheviot Hotel on a Saturday night. Food excellent and staff very helpful. Room clean and fresh and breakfast excellent. Perfect place for a stay while exploring Northumberland, Kielder Water and the Borders.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
0.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
9.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Hotel

Property: Cheviot Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheviot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cheviot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheviot Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing