We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really polite staff, great value tasty food and beer.”
Review of Cheviot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheviot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really polite staff, great value tasty food and beer.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We ate here several times this week as we found it to be the best value and tasting food and beer in the area where we were staying. Cannot fault anything here as it is all good. We ordered a burger the babe which was the size of 3 with bacon on top and served with delicious home cooked chips and salad with coleslaw. Yummmy! I ordered a sandwich which I asked for salad with and was fabulous. The real ales were excellent as were the staff and toilets really clean and well kitted out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    77
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
43
135
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Recently went in here for a drink the barmaid was stand offish and very rude! The place is dirty and I wouldnt recommend eating here or staying ..not nice ! Go to the Rose for an amazing pub meal the best fish and chips we have ever had !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Toontastico1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Eat in the bar or the restaurant, all the same price.
There is an extensive menu with main courses starting at £8. We chose the "pie of the day" which was steak and ale, individually cooked with a shortcrust pastry. Fresh vegetables included carrots, mange tout and baby sweetcorn with a choice of potatoes for £9.00 a head. Although there was a short wait (due to everything being freshly prepared) it was delicious when it arrived.
We normally try to eat somewhere different every night when we are away, but the food here was so good we had to come back - and we weren't disappointed.
The Cheviot also does a take-away menu starting at £4 for a pizza up to £6 for fish and chips. There is also an excellent selection of real ales.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our room was very comfortable and quite spacious, with a good modern bathroom.

The hotel is really a pub with rooms above it - and the pub is very popular indeed, to the point of being quite noisy in the evenings.

The food, which is served in a pleasant dining room, is really very good: the menu is varied, and the standard of preparation exceptional. The cooked breakfast is the best we've had anywhere for years: the bacon and sausages, for example, are of a very high quality and perfectly cooked. Both scrambled and fried eggs were carefully prepared - and appeared to be freshly cooked, too.

Our landlady was most attentive and helpful, and gave us good advice on excursions, which was most welcome.

The staircase to the rooms is still very unfinished, and the stair rail at the top badly needs attention. The management should give priority to finishing the staircase, as it lets the hotel down and gives an inital impression which is rather daunting. In the event, however, we were very pleased with our stay and learned to ignore the state of the staircase whenever we used it.

Room Tip: Our room (which we were told was the most recently refurbished) was no. 4, on the second (top) floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M_Warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Usually unsure of pub/come hotel type accommodation as staff can be too busy with others to give you full attention but not so here. The welcome from Anne at the Cheviot was excellent and the room especially the bed was very comfy. Yes the hotel has 'work in progress' but these things take time and for walkers on the Pennine Way this was just right. Loads of hot water, big soft towels and a great drying room for boots and clothes which thankfully we didn't need. The dining room had been refurbished and the food was excellent, both in the evening and the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stumbled on this pub on our family holiday and returned 3 more times to was that outstanding, Beautiful home cooked fresh food and real ales great value lovely friendly staff and local people a must do if you get chance to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxamtxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went for an evening meal on the last night of our holiday. The restaurant was clean, great menu choices, huge portions, at great prices. Kids food was also a huge portion, for a main course and ice cream it was £5.50. Well worth a visit for a meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHilt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
0.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Gun Inn
The Gun Inn
#1 of 1 in Ridsdale
58 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#1 of 1 in Stannersburn
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Hotel

Property: Cheviot Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheviot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cheviot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheviot Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing