We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hareshaw Linn

Hareshaw Linn
Certificate of Excellence
whitley bay
1 review
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

a lovely gentle walk suitable for everyone, stunning at end of walk

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank alwyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    46
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“MAGICAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was a wonderful walk, lovely bridges. Magical Waterfall! We took dome spectacular photographs!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank M0thLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“stunning walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

great family /dog walk at Bellingham . free car park . When based in Northumberland this is a good morning walk before lunch then heading to Hadrians wallfor afternoon

Helpful?
Thank HolidayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A magical walk, full of lovely surprises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have walked this track many times, in all kinds of weather, and each time it is fascinating and full of surprises.
Hareshaw Linn is a waterfall, and when you walk the track - you find small waterfalls around many corners, and the first time we walked up we kept thinking that we were at the end, but finding that we weren't there yet.
The track is very well maintained, and easy to follow - it winds from one side of the river to the other, and in all I think there were 6 or 7 bridges. The last one before the Linn itself is a lovely woven one.
It is a lovely morning's walk - or afternoon - and there are seats at a few places where you can enjoy the view and have your picnic. It is a great place and we try to visit at least once when we are over in the area. A bonus is the free parking at the start of the walk,

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jvmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful idyllic walk up to a stunning waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

If you would like to spend a couple of hours on a free beautiful woodland waterfall walk i can wholehearted recommend a trip to hareshaw linn. from the town centre of belllingham park in the national trust car park ( easy to find as the town is tiny , car park is opposite the petrol station and is free of charge) and follow the clearly marked national trust signs along the riverside. the walk is safe is fairly easy although there are some hills and steps to climb and my retired parents had to take a breather once or twice , it is good for dogs although I would keep them on a lead as there are some very steep slopes nearer the waterfall. Look out for wildlife as we saw red squirells, a heron and loads of birds. once you are done i can also recommend the Battlesteads coutry pub about 4-5 miles away where the food is excellent they have a lovely beer garden and well behaved dogs are most welcome. Enjoy

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank kl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hareshaw Linn also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Bellingham, Northumberland
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
 

Been to Hareshaw Linn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing