We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be the best B & B ever”
Review of Boat Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boat Farm B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This must be the best B & B ever”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Everything about this accommodation is first class. We have stayed in hundreds of B & Bs over the years and this must rate the best. Walking the Pennine Way, we were greeted with tea and cakes on the patio overlooking a lovely garden and the River North Tyne. The rooms have to be seen to be believed - everything of top quality including a magnificent bathroom that you would be proud to have at home. Breakfast continued in the same manner with a great choice including such a selection of fresh fruit. Do not miss out if you want a stay in this understated area of England

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were simply overjoyed by the quality of this B & B. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was splendid. Beautiful location and very quiet.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good view of the garden and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was the best B&B experience of my trip so far. All facilities first class, hostess welcoming and unobtrusive, breakfast excellent. The location is beautiful and it was definitely worth going out of my way to stay at Boat Farm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John14450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The cottage is full of character and amongst the best we have ever stayed in. The cottage is very clean, well tended, well equipped and spacious.

Over looking the North Tyne provides additional interest especially if you love the bird life. We were constantly amused by the Oyster Catchers along with the sensibly placed bird feeders directly outside of the window.

It is within easy walking distance of Bellingham along with its excellent bakery, butchers and Carriages Tea Rooms. Evening walks along the river bank are to be savoured.

Many thanks to Barbara, the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dead_Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Boat Farm last week. Barbara was a wonderful host with cake and tea at the ready on arrival - particularly welcoming after a long day's walking on the Pennine Way. Beautiful B&B, delicious breakfast. I definitely hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a road trip around the Lake district,Scotland and the Borders and planned to stay for two nights in Northumberland before continuing on. We found Boat Farm on Trip advisor and it sounded great so we rang and booked in for two nights. I can only say that after our many and varied experiences of Hotels and B&B's on our travels this was by far the best (by far) that we stayed in. Within 5 minutes we had been warmly welcomed and were sitting in a beautiful garden overlooking a fabulous river and being treated to home made cakes and a huge pot of tea. We didn't want to leave and asked if we could book an extra night! The house is lovely, the best of everything. Sorry to embarrass Barbara (our host) but she is lovely. She advised us where to eat, places to see and nothing was too much trouble. We loved it and we will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I really don't want to write another glowing review about Boat Farm as I am sure it will only entice more people to visit, and prevent us from getting the bookings we want!

We have now stayed in Barbara's beautiful bed and breakfast on 3 occasions and each time we have had a superb weekend of sleeping like we haven't slept in months, gorging ourselves on homemade cakes, and attempting to try everything at breakfast each day. We have always been incredibly lucky with weather too which makes each stay even more memorable, but I'm sure even the worst days can be made special when coming home to the log fires and cakes.

Boat Farm is ideally located for exploring the Northumberland area. On this visit we hired bikes and cycled the 26 miles around Kielder Water, and walked the Tarset Bastle Trail as recommended by Barbara. This was an excellent walk and picnic, and we only saw one other couple the whole way around. Ask her to give you a guide; it was the 'perfect escape from everyone' walk.

This B and B really is the best we have ever been to, and is consistently so. Go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
3.5 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
1.2 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Bridgeford Farm
Bridgeford Farm
#5 of 5 in Bellingham
18 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Gun Inn
The Gun Inn
#1 of 1 in Ridsdale
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cheviot Hotel
Cheviot Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bellingham
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat Farm B&B

Property: Boat Farm B&B
Address: Bellingham NE48 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Boat Farm B&B Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing