We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“pleasant break”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Arrived on Sunday 11th August 2013 for a two night break which we booked through Groupon for £89 which included breakfast. The first room we were shown was a small double which we declined as the bed was too small, we were then shown to room 20 which had no bath, no view, no mirror on the very tatty dressing table and the carpet left a lot to be desired, the bed was very comfortable though and the bedding was pristine. The staff cannot do enough for you, they were pleasant and very helpful and for this reason I would definitely return but would pay extra for an upgraded refurbished room. The breakfast was very tasty, the chairs in the dining room very comfortable (important when you have a bad back). We booked a meal on Monday 12th August as it was our wedding anniversary and it was beautifully cooked, compliments to the chef. Thank you to Lee and Rory for keeping our bottle of Prosecco chilled for us and allowing us to drink it at the table at no extra cost for corkage. All in all we had a lovely 2 nights stay and met some lovely people. Some of the bedrooms do need to be redecorated as does the pool area and that is why I have marked it as average but for the staff I would mark them a 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    230
    76
    17
    15
See reviews for
74
341
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Following a 5 week holiday in Phoenix with the grandkids, my girlfriend and I decided to visit family in Inverness and stay some of the time in a hotel to be pampered.We were unable to book any of the hotels we wanted so decided to head to Whitley Bay instead. By sheer good luck, I chanced upon Riverdale Hall. It turned to be exactly what we needed - very friendly and relaxing and the food was excellent.
We both felt so much better after our stay and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on fitness centre or room service as we did not use. From speaking to other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent 2 nights B&B (up grade to superior room) with free glass of bubbly through Travel Zoo offer £119 for 2 and was a real bargain. Would class this higher than 2* as advertised. Our room overlooked the cricket field and North Tyne river/Cheviot Hills and the balcony made it the perfect viewing point in the sunshine. The room was huge as was the bed (super king size) and very comfy. Location was ideal for local attractions. We went to Roman Army museum, Vindolanda roman remains of fort and village and Hexham during our stay. The village of Bellingham was a short 5min walk away. It's a lovely old village with 3 pubs, pharmacy, greengrocers, post office etc. The first night we ate in the hotel which we could highly recommend. Service, food and wine all very good. Second night we ate in the village pub (Rose and Crown) which was also excellent pub grub (huge portions). We would certainly return there and discover more of the area. Unfortunately didn't use the pool and sauna. Perhaps next time!

Room Tip: Rooms facing cricket pitch have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mslancashire503927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed one night on our way back from Scotland. Pulled up in the carpark to find ourselves looking at grimy kitchen windows. Tried not to let it put us off! Checked in and went up to the room – spacious and with a great view across to the river, it had nice décor, if a little worn in places and with a good-looking bathroom – you can see the room and bathroom on the website – but the rolltop bath is plastic and the fixed-to-the-wall toiletries a bit grimy, the sink cracked. In the room, I had to duck to see the top of my head in the dressing-table mirror and I’m not tall! It was lovely and quiet though.
The evening meal wasn’t bad, (although I’m not sure baby corn counts as a fresh seasonal vegetable) and the wine was terrific – I’m no expert but Navajas Rioja Crianza 2009 is great! However, all the website stuff about the restaurant being award-winning seems completely bizarre as it really was not that special. We finished the wine off in the lounge where the tables have little white cloths on them which seems a bit unnecessary.
Breakfast was not impressive – Muller Light yogurts aren’t exactly finest quality local fare; I had mediocre smoked salmon with scrambled egg which was swimming in water. They didn’t come on toast, so I used a piece of the (very ordinary) toast to soak up the water!
Staff were pleasant and efficient but the place is just not for us – it seems to think it is way better than it is or perhaps it just needs to update its website so that it claims a lot less.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in freezing zero degree climate end October and their fireplace was oh-so-welcome! Victorian room decor, stylish curtains, a warm blanket and superb wine left me happy but the real contentment was when I walked along the quiet river soaking in the bleats of the lambs next door and the heavy dew in the abandoned cricket field just behind the property.
Not to mention, they do serve a superb Full English Breakfast - the blood pudding and the bacon get one dreamy eyed!
I'd stay again, whenever I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sourav_sil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

spent the weekend at riverdale hall hotel, lovely setting close to river and village, welcomed by friendly receptionist, checked in quickly, we ate in the restaurant on both nights, the food was excellent, big portions and top quality ingredients at reasonable cost. good base for visiting Hadrians Wall and Kielder Reservoir. Would definitely recommend. Hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianaswim74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a quaint hotel where the old blends in with the new. We sat on the terrace in the evening overlooking the cricket pitch, the North Tyne and the hills and it was just magical. The room itself was nice but perhaps the bathroom could do with a bit of updating. The evening meal was excellent with lots of choice and at a reasonable price. The restaurant is split into the original part and the conservatory so you have a good choice of table. The breakfast was really good, my only complaint would be that we sat amongst tables that had not been cleared from previous diners. All in all we had a really good stay and we would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaftoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
4.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
24.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
9.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing