We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine except for the breakfast service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fine except for the breakfast service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here when visited Kielder Observatory. Our room overlooked the green lawn at the rear of the property, and was newly decorated. The swimming pool was warm, but the paint on the ceilings needed replacing and the sauna was just off luke warm.

We had a main course in the bar before heading up to the Observatory - sausages and mash. Unbelievably salty and nearly £10.00 - poor value for money.

Breakfast was the worst part. Only one woman was serving the whole room, so we had to wait for our order to be taken, it took ages for breakfast to arrive, three attempts to try and get a refill of coffee (and the refill was just hot water when it arrived!). When the breakfast arrived, it was a well-cooked Full English, even though the toast did not arrive until we'd finished.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    224
    73
    17
    15
See reviews for
71
330
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of April on a Travelzoo offer, certainly was a great offer, food, staff, rooms, were excellent. We didn't get chance to try out the pool but it looked lovely, the only small criticism would be the bar/ reception area that is looking like it needs some TLC but everything was great, well done all !!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keighley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel has a very laid back atmosphere, the staff are friendly and unobtrusive until needed. The pool is adequate for a nice swim. The food is superb. The hotel is ideally situated for Keilder Park.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking fields and the river - ideal for a pre dinner drink in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

A hotel with a lovely setting the staff are very friendly and helpful the food was excellent, the room was very nice overall i would recommend this hotel if you love walking and exploring.The only down fall was the changing rooms for the pool small they need updating

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a deal from Travel Zoo. This included a meal, superior room and breakfast.
Hotel was lovely and small, in a quiet location. Room was lovely, looked out onto a little river and had a patio area. Only downside was that the room was not connected to the hotel.. So we got wet walking in between but that didn't put us off!
Meals were lovely, staff very friendly, no wifi in our room because of it where it was.
Very clean also.
Probably wouldn't stay here again because it's in the middle of no where and a long drive to get to but for the deal we got, can't complain

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived without a booking after not been able to stop at the hotel we had booked for the night because they said there was no food service.
The Riverdale staff were very understanding when we told them what had happened to us.
They had room availablilty for the night.The room was very spacious with comfortable chairs in the room and the modern en-suite with shower cubicle and bath was a good size with plenty of hot water. The bed was really comfortable.
We ate from the bar menu which was good. The drink in the bar was reasonably priced.
The full english breakfast was good.
There is a pool and sauna which we did not use.
Plently of free parking outside.
The public areas are clean but I feel they are ready for an update.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuclearfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and it was very enjoyable. The room was very spacious with comfortable chairs in the room and the en-suite was a good size with plenty of hot water. The food was very good both in the restaurant and off the bar menu, the only concern was on one of our evening meals they were hosting a wine promotion and we felt rushed along and were not able to enjoy a leisurely evening. .Also when we returned at midnight on our first evening there was nobody to serve us a nightcap and in a hotel of this calibre I would have expected this as a mater of course

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
4.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
14.4 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
24.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
6.9 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing