We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way to Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
South East England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the way to Scotland”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband has stayed here whilst fishing in the River Tyne with friends. He suggested we stay on our way to Oban. Warm welcome, nice room with views down to the river. Bed ok, not as comfy as I would like, lovely bathroom with lovely toiletries. Swimming pool nice and warm but a little tired. Changing rooms a little disappointing and chilly. Excellent meal, steak and the duck which was really tender and very tasty. Good breakfast too. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little tired in places and could do with a little TLC but a great place to stay if sightseeing in Northumberland. We are staying again in August on our way to another trip to Scotland and my husband is staying in September with fishing friends again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    230
    76
    17
    15
See reviews for
74
340
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel views stunning,evening meals 5 star food at 3 star prices, breakfast, wonderful locally sourced food, wide selection for all, didn't eat again until 19.30 that night. I'm on crutches at the moment and when we arrived they gave us the disabled room, what a room it was massive and the bathroom stunning really helped me out. The staff are all local folk and cannot do enough to make your stay a good one, they are polite and friendly and always around to give advice. Stayed for 2 nights wish it could have been longer but had other plans, on our last night Lee on the bar gave me some great directions to our next destination(cheers Lee). On the whole a really enjoyable stay, worth every penny, will certainly recommend it to friends and strangers. Thank you riverdale hall. Marc & Shelley 23&24th may

Room Tip: River views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here recently for a special weekend with my wife the room was excellent, staff brilliant, food amazing. Might seem pricey compared to some hotels but worth every penny. Set in amazing, beautiful location Rooms well appointed with superior rooms having superb views over surrounding countryside. Ask for a room with a balcony brill to chill out. Restaurant, bar meals, wide choice and breakfast in with price excellent.

Room Tip: You MUST book a superior room with views over cricket pitch, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacobean20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here when visited Kielder Observatory. Our room overlooked the green lawn at the rear of the property, and was newly decorated. The swimming pool was warm, but the paint on the ceilings needed replacing and the sauna was just off luke warm.

We had a main course in the bar before heading up to the Observatory - sausages and mash. Unbelievably salty and nearly £10.00 - poor value for money.

Breakfast was the worst part. Only one woman was serving the whole room, so we had to wait for our order to be taken, it took ages for breakfast to arrive, three attempts to try and get a refill of coffee (and the refill was just hot water when it arrived!). When the breakfast arrived, it was a well-cooked Full English, even though the toast did not arrive until we'd finished.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens at the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of April on a Travelzoo offer, certainly was a great offer, food, staff, rooms, were excellent. We didn't get chance to try out the pool but it looked lovely, the only small criticism would be the bar/ reception area that is looking like it needs some TLC but everything was great, well done all !!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keighley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel has a very laid back atmosphere, the staff are friendly and unobtrusive until needed. The pool is adequate for a nice swim. The food is superb. The hotel is ideally situated for Keilder Park.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking fields and the river - ideal for a pre dinner drink in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A hotel with a lovely setting the staff are very friendly and helpful the food was excellent, the room was very nice overall i would recommend this hotel if you love walking and exploring.The only down fall was the changing rooms for the pool small they need updating

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
4.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
24.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
9.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Bellingham NE48 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hall Country Hotel
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing