We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndale Guest House

Lyndale Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyndale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Ken's friendly welcome and pot of tea (with biscuits) was an excellent start to our stay. He gave us plenty of time to sit in the sunny garden before showing us round and offering us slippers whilst organising our (rather damp) walking boots. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a view of the hills. On Ken's recommendation we ate at the Cheviot Hotel and enjoyed an excellent meal.
Breakfast was very good and came with plenty of tips from Ken about avoiding the worst of the bogs on the next day's walk.
Ken and Joyce are a lovely couple who welcome you into their home and really go the extra mile to make sure everything goes well with your stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We had decided to camp but it was incredibly windy and raining when we arrived and we decided to stay in a B and B and put our tent up the next day.
The lady gave us biscuits and tea as soon as we walked through the door and made us feel very welcome.
We had a lovely cooked breakfast the next morning too.
Very nice room and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Were staying one night for a friends wedding and decided to book one night here as it was very central and reasonably priced. We were greeted on arrival by Ken and he made us tea/coffee with some biscuits in the conservatory which was a nice touch.

Twin room was a reasonable size, with TV and en-suite facilities and comfy beds. Ken explained to us where the Church was for the wedding and he was spot on! There was no latest time to be in for which was handy as the wedding went on late.

Breakfast was offered any time between 8-10am which meant we could have a bit of a lie in. Brilliant choice of cereals and then a big selection for full main brekkie with the full english going down a treat.

Would recommend this B & B to anyone, very good hospitality and a nice clean place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Like pip030, we stayed here when walking part of the Pennine Way. The room was quite small, but very quiet and comfortable, so just what we needed. The scrambled eggs with salmon was the best breakfast of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isandina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed with Ken and Joyce one night
We had driven up from north Surrey just before Easter.weather was expected to be bad. As we were on route to Loch Tay , Scotland we decide to break the journey up.booked online looked at the pictures and checked for places to eat nearby. Of course the one thing you aren't able to check is the friendliness of your hosts. Unless you read the reviews or leave one. Very friendly older couple made us welcome pointed us in the direction of the pub when we eventually arrived after dodging the snow and the road closures.They even checked road conditions for us for our onward journey.

Thats the thing about travelling you always uncover new places to come back and visit. Lots to see in the area and in the Nationsl Park.Including Hadrians Wall and Kielder Forest and lake,Europea largest man made lake. Bellingham Is almost the centre of the country too.
Kens got a lot of local knowledge ,maps of the area and is a mine of information....enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnyBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for one night whilst walking the Pennine Way. Arrived with muddy boots which were washed and then were dried for the next day!! Comfortable and clean room with a bath to soak in. Lovely village with excellent choice of places to eat and drink. Breakfast included scramble eggs with salmon!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank pip030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The two of us were cycling the Pennine Way during the terrible weather of June/July 2012. The sign on the car coming into Bellingham directed us to Lyndale - one of the best finds of our trip. Ken and Joy warmly welcomed us with bickies and tea in their lovely sun room. Bikes were locked away safely in the shed. The room was small but lovely and the bath a rarity in B&Bs and guest houses and a joy to jump into after a hard day cycling. The genuine hospitality was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingham
0.4 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
4.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Cheviot Hotel
Cheviot Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Holly Bush Inn
The Holly Bush Inn
#1 of 1 in Greenhaugh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brandy Bank Guest House
Brandy Bank Guest House
#1 of 3 in West Woodburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Guest House

Property: Lyndale Guest House
Address: Lyndale East View, Bellingham NE48 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOUR STAR accommodation situated on the the edge of the National Park, overlooking the River North Tyne, yet only 50 metres from the village shops, pubs, restaurants and facilities. A warm welcome with tea/coffee in our sunlounge overlooking the surrounding countryside. Ideal for fishing, golfing, walking, cycling or visiting the numerous historic sites in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lyndale Guest House Bellingham, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing