We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$101
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
US$178
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Plough Inn(Newcastle upon Tyne)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
29
12
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
12
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge kitchenco opdrying roomlog burnerpennine waycomfortable loungecamping tripself cateringbunk houseplenty spaceunderfloor heatingcoop supermarketstayed herewashing machinepost officeper nightfield
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when visiting Kielder Observatory and couldn't of been happier. Struggled to find it initially in the dark but it's really easy. With garage and police station on your left it's a couple of gates to the right. The bunkhouse is a fantastic barn conversion. It has a comfortable seating area with plenty of sofas and a wood burning stove. A well appointed kitchen with all the equipment you could need. Clean and modern bath and toilet facilities and comfortable bunk rooms. There's under floor heating downstairs so we were nice and warm. We were the only people staying so had the place to ourselves so can't comment on what it's like to share with others. Would be great to hire the whole place out with friends. The bunkhouse is right in the village which is nice with a couple of very friendly pubs. The observatory is approx 35 mins away at a decent pace. All in all a very good stay and would come back if in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had our second family visit to Demesne Farm Campsite and Bunkhouse. Really loved the changes from last year and had a fantastic 3 nights there and met some interesting guests to chat to whilst in the kitchen.... a great atmosphere all around... everybody was just like one big happy family....no stress....very relaxed......the owners are great and very helpful, the working farm really interesting for the children and the bunkhouse has everything you could need. See you again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattymatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

In my experience the word bunkhouse can cover a huge range of accommodation from very basic farmhouse barns to places like this upmarket, well restored and ideally located bunkhouse in the centre of Bellingham, very near the shops and pubs. Reading the previous review I have to say that I didn't find it noisy, the showers were hot and I was told by the owner that they were having wifi installed which will be a bonus. It is only self catering but the kitchen is very well appointed and there is a Co-op around the corner. What's not to love?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed in Bellingham whilst walking the Pennine. Way.

GOOD POINTS:

Close to the nearby Coop shop in town (25 metres)
On the PW.
Recently renovated.
Great kitchen inc facilities and space.
Lovely lounge area and quality furniture.

BAD POINTS:

Campers allowed to use the same facilities - lots of noise, lack of hot water for showers or washing pots because of high usage, crowded kitchen for breakfast.
Downstairs toilets (upstairs accompanied).
No clothes washing facilities (Apart from sink in kitchen).
No WIFI.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lejogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemesneFarm, Owner at Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your valued comments.
I only wished you had stepped over the road to inform us about campers using the bunkhouse facilities. I was not aware of this. The bunkhouse facilities are strictly for the use of the bunkhouse guests, and not for the campers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst doing the Pennine Way. It was well located, not far from town and next to a local co-op. It has a nice lounge to chill out in. There was a kitchen were you had to make your own food, so you could buy ingredients or food from the co-op. It was all great.

However, we had to share the place with some campers who were making a lot of noise in the middle of the night. There are no upstairs toilets. They are downstairs with the showers that kept going hot and cold. If they could change all of those things it would be an excellent place to stay in. I'm giving this 3*.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rtplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DemesneFarm, Owner at Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for your comments.
The bunkhouse facilities are solely for the use of the bunkhouse guests. We the owners only live opposite the bunkhouse. I only wished you had informed me. The showers were only installed in April, so I can only apologize for this inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews