We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wobderful host, beautiful accommodation made our...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milburn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Breakfast on Bed (Bed included but Breakfast down to you)
Philosophical House Rules - you must obey!
Celebration times come on!
Its wine o'clock (but there's a kettle too for Tea Totallers)
Romantic Hideaway
En-suite with shower & heated towel rail (be careful when touching your toes in the morning)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bellingham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JOELLE B
2 reviews
“Wobderful host, beautiful accommodation made our stay really memorable”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a great weekend at The Old Workshop. Maxine was a friendly and thoughtful host who made us feel most welcome. We were celebrating my husbands birthday and were really touched that she'd even left us a bottle of prosecco in the fridge! The accommodation is gorgeous, clean, well decorated and equipped, exactly what we were after. Came home feeling thoroughly relaxed, we were rather sad to leave! Looking forward to visiting again in the near future when hopefully the weather will be on our side for stargazing! Thank you Maxine for a wonderful stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoisyLott...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and welcoming!”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A lovely few days in The Old Workshop. Parking very easy outside cottage. Spotlessly clean up and downstairs with a warm electric fire ready to go. Maxine even left us some fruitcake to snack on on arrival! Internet with Netflix all good too for a nice night in. We were visiting Kielder National Park primarily and it was down the road so great location for us and I would recommend anyone visiting there to consider this rental.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandH78
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rental”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is a wonderful rental property, cosy and suited for 2 people. Beautifully appointed with lots of nice touches (the freshly baked cake was a lovely welcome from Maxine). The kitchen area is well equipped and the bedroom on the mezzanine floor comfortable and luxurious. The location in the centre of Bellingham is excellent for all amenities, including the activities in Kielder Forest.
Looking forward to going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here with my partner at the beginning of November for a weekend to enjoy the dark skies. We felt so at home in the old workshop, such a lovely stay. It has everything you could want for a cosy get away. The decor is lovely. Maxine the lady who manages the place was so accommodating was really nice to meet her and stay in her lovely holiday home.
Surrounding area is lovely with a few nice pubs, cafe and co-op in walking distance.
Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne F
West Linton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant accomodation”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the workhouse for 2 nights. We loved it. The decor is beautiful, the place is well kitted out and it is genuinely small but perfectly formed. On arrival there were biscuits, milk, tea and coffee, a nice touch especially at the price. Having a washing machine is a huge bonus as we were down mountain biking so were able to go home with clean kit. I can't recommend this place enough. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place. Homely and comfortable.
Liked least: Bed was a bit soft for us, but that's a very personal thing,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the old workshop”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We had lovely stay here. Very nice accommodation, good sleep, very well appointed. would definitely stay here again. l can highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to have a few nights away to relax or go walking ten out of ten. thanks Maxine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house was fantastic and in a great location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulip2219
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Bellingham Gem”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found the Old Workshop in Bellingham quite by accident and what a find; it is warm and cosy, beautifully decorated has everything you could want in a holiday cottage for two. The owner if very welcoming and helpful. It is an ideal base for walking, exploring Hadrian wall, Hexham and Kielder Waters. We would certainly recommend this to our family and friends and would make it our first choice of accommodation when we return to the area for a holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing