We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beneficially & Pleasant”
Review of Hotel Sevtopolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sevtopolis
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pavel Banya
Sofia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beneficially & Pleasant”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is second time i am staying at the Sevtopolis hotel.I have herniated disk on my neck, so once per year i have to pass rehabilitation. I won't choose the same hotel, if i did not like it first time. Believe me i like it, it's really good hotel. Spacious rooms, new furniture. My recommendation to the hotel, that they have to change the room carpets every year, as they got really disgusting, after so many people entering. And the other one, that the anti smoke detectors, should be more sensitive. We first received a room that terrible smells cigarets and we requested another one. Obviously smoking people are very insolent and smoke in the rooms. The breakfast and dinner are included in the stay, but are very limited as a choice. There is free wi-fi in the rooms, and if you have your compute with you, you can switch it directly via cable. You can get cable from the reception. If you are not staying because of the rehabilitation, you can go to Kazanluk or Kalofer and learn more about Bulgarian history. Both towns are in appr. 15 km. far away from Pavel Banya. If you are staying for rehabilitation, the services are really good with a lot different activities. Every procedure is placed by a doctor. This is the moment to share my opinion about the doctor Umnikov. Last year there was a lady doctor and she was good. But doctor Umnikov is nervous and definitely tired of his job. I got a hassle with him at first seconds, as he was really rood to me. Furthermore i don't think he is placing exact procedures for every one. For example now i am pregnant and i told him. He make comment that he can place me a water procedures, but i definitely refuse. Hot water is totally forbidden for pregnancy. Also the mineral water in Pavel Banya have some radioactive elements that are ok, but could be poisoning for the baby. All this i know because of my prior research. How a doctor couldn't know this. Also doctor Umnikov place me procedure that contains medical gel - Ketoprofen. All kind of pills and medical gels are forbidden during pregnancy. So i am really suspicious for the doctors competency. The hotel could think to replace him.
But the overall impression for the hotel is quite good, and i would recommend it as for rehabilitation stay, as for relax.

Room Tip: ask if the room have a balcony, not all rooms have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nataliya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I spent there 2 nights with my friends who visited the hotel a few times. Mineral water is really good and helpful for people with problems. Spa center is very good.Rooms are spacious and clean. Food is not as good as I expected for 4 star hotel. Tasty things finished quickly and they didn't prepare again. Fish was cheap and not tasty.The band on Friday night was too loud and noisy. I think the manager should think to improve the food catering as always service in Bulgaria is a problem.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the garden and the outdoor pool!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
195 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice, Clean and spacious. They are not luxurious but good. Breakfast and dinner were included but the food was not great, just cafeteria type food although the a la carte food was quite good. Saturday night with the band was great fun. Unfortunately not many staff speak English but spa is pleasant and they have massages and treatments. Trying to get what you want is a bit of a challenge though.
The price is excellent for what is offered and in general the staff are pleasant but with that "unsmiley" manner.
There are Many places of interest around. This could be a really great spa hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZiadR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have few notes. I think that that hotel must have 3 stars not 4. Food is very bad didn't reply on a 4 stars hotel were very salty, on a breakfast they put margarine instead butter, salami was very salty and very cheap. vegetables were like a nylon. Dinner wasn't so bad only meat balls were from almost cheapest minced meat with soya. Service was no so good, when we arrived on the reception they told us that we can use our room at 3 p.m. normal 2 p.m. it is time. Soon maybe they will say us come at 10 p.m. and go out at 6 a.m. this is awfully. On the bar to the pool they had a prices written on the board for ice cream but when you must pay they told us 30% higher price..
The rooms were good and wide with exception that all furniture was artificial this isn't normal for hotel 4 stars.
Pool was very the best place with hot mineral water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anton Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Everyone who goes there- be very careful. You may be misled or cheated.
1. They ask for a 50 pct deposit but do not care to meet their end. In my case the fitness room did not work, steam bath did not work and they refused point blank to make any adjustments in the price. And they did not care to warn me when I was making the reservation or checking in! Repeated pleas to see the manager - no result.
2. More important - their website does not state clearly that the mineral water there - the biggest wealth of this poor town - contains radioactive radon. This can be great for many patients, but this is also very dangerous for others. That happened to be my wife's case, the local doctor told us so and we left after two days, having paid in advance 50 pct for seven days.. No real apology from the hotel, no refund, no nothing.

Room Tip: We had big apartment. Lots of space, no taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anatoly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very good location in Pavel bania; large size of the room; very good is that in bathroom there is mineral water in shower; fresh food with enought variety on buffet in the restaurant; nice staff on the reception; in the SPA massage therapist need to be trained;

Room Tip: rooms with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElenaKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is excellent, professionally run, friendly staff. The food in particular is great: always fresh, great variety of dishes, local, vegetarian, meat, fish. If you have a car, there are many beautiful places to visit around, because the village does not offer much. Spa facilities: clean and well maintained. Paramedics very well qualified. Two minor points: smokers and non-smokers rooms are too close to each other. There is not much to do for a bit older kids around the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pavel Banya
23.9 mi away
Park Hotel Stara Zagora
Park Hotel Stara Zagora
#1 of 15 in Stara Zagora
55 reviews
9.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Kazanlak
Grand Hotel Kazanlak
#4 of 5 in Kazanlak
28 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Zornica
Hotel Zornica
#3 of 5 in Kazanlak
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Calista Spa Hotel
Calista Spa Hotel
#3 of 15 in Stara Zagora
30 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Palas
Hotel Palas
#1 of 5 in Kazanlak
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diana Mar Balneotherapy Hotel
Diana Mar Balneotherapy Hotel
#3 of 10 in Pavel Banya
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sevtopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sevtopolis

Property: Hotel Sevtopolis
Address: Chudomir Str. 3, Pavel Banya 6155, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Stara Zagora Province > Pavel Banya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pavel Banya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small queiet resort Pavel Banya is of national bulgarian importance , famous for the thermal mineral water. The combination of healthy mineral waters , mild climate and exclusive location in the heart of the Bulgaria offers it's visitors an array of experiences. The four star hotel Sevtopolis Medical & SPA is situated in the centre of Pavel Banya within it's well kept own park with rich greenery. The hotel is easily recognized by it's modern , yet stylish building, providing accommodation in 58 rooms and 4 suites with beautiful view towards the mountain. There are a few awars like SPA Hotel of 2010 and Medical SPA Hotel of 2013 and it's a member of BUBSPA - the Bulgarian Union of Balneology and SPA tourism. The hotel has a modern Medical center equipped with last genaration physical and rehabilitation apparatures. The Medical centre specializes in treatment and prophylaxis of the following diseases: degenerative joint and inflammatory disease; states after traumatic injuries and orthopedic disorders; spinal cord diseases; diseases of the peripheral nervous system ; The center includes a doctor's office and following sections: hydrotherapy, lye therapy , physiotherapy, kinesic therapy, healing massages, aromatherapy, exotic and eastern spa massahes. Spa center offers also face and body procedures with hightech Japanese and Germen medical cosmetics. The combination of the healing mineral water and the competence of our professional team will have a wonderful effect on your treatments. Here we remove your body's aches and restore its vigour. Along with traditional balneology, guests can enjoy numerous spa and relaxation treatments, indoor and outdoor mineral water swimming pool, relaxation areas. For guests are available restaurant with terrace, lobby bar, free parking, wireless internet. The individuality of Sevtopolis Hotel is emphasized by the skillful combination of traditional architecture and the feeling of a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sevtopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing