We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

The Far Side Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boldre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Far Side Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Boldre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just come home after four days at The Far Side. So cosy and country cottage-y. Excellent breakfast and whatever quantities you want. Bedroom upstairs with window seat looking over fields, lovely bathroom and huge bed. Very secluded and Hobler Inn across the road and other eating places very close by. Ali is so welcoming and friendly. We will be back. Thanks Ali.

Room Tip: Upstairs family room with superking size plus single bed or three single beds. Spacious bathroom. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in the ground floor double en suite room. The hostess Ali was wonderful and gave us lots of tips for dog walking and gave our dog full use of her garden.
Breakfast was varied with cereal,full English,toast and croissants.
We were made to feel at home and comfortable.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed at this B&B for 3 nights for a quiet get away. Found our ground floor room to be compact and comfortable. Rooms are clean but "lived in" (expect the odd cobweb as you are in the country). A bit alarmed by the door from our room straight into the kitchen but blinds and curtains made it unobtrusive. Made to feel welcome with our dogs. Great breakfast and value for money. Very convenient for the New Forest attractions and lots of great walking.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is "dog friendly"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Far Side.
Ali is a lovely lady and a really good host and she makes everyone feel at home.
We had a room upstairs that had a window seat that overlooked fields.
The bathroom was modern with bath and overhead shower.
Breakfast was really good and filled you up until the evening.
We ate out at the Hobler Inn the first night and it was a really nice meal,the second night we ate at the Red Lion but this was not as nice.
The cottage is in a good location,very quite area and easy to get to Brockernhurst,Lymington,lyndhurst & beaulieu.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watford_girlEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

It has been a log time since we had done B&B but we needed accommodation at the last minute and after a phone call to Ali our mind was made up. We travelled with a friend and two dogs arriving early evening so we could change and go and eat. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The downstairs room is snug but opens onto the patio so you have your own private entrance and only a shower so if you are a bath person try and get the upstairs room.which is spacious with three comfortable beds. We got directions to the Red Lion and walked the dogs to end up with a great meal. You will need a torch.The Hobler opposite is not dogs friendly. Ali enjoys eating out so can give guidance. A dog proof garden allows dog owners to be relaxed.
Breakfast was excellent and it was great not to be put under pressure to be out by a certain time which allowed us to walk early and get back to a fine healthy cooked breakfast . You certainly can fill up here!
Ali is a warm friendly welcoming experienced B&B host . One to recommend to others and keep in mind. We would definitly go back and probably will,.

Room Tip: Upstairs room if you need a bath and space. Downstairs room for own entrance and sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

We just got back from a 2 night stay at The Far Side. Ali was a superb host and makes the most wonderful breakfast! The location is fabulous and we had a great view over fields from our room. There was plenty of space for 3 of us and 2 dogs in our room with on suite. There were lots of local maps available for us to view and use as well as info about local attractions and activities. Would definitely return!!

Stayed: August 2012
Thank holidaybabe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I spent one night here over the Bank Holiday. Very accomodating as we booked last minute and they only had a one night we needed available. Ali was very welcoming during our stay and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We stayed in a gorgeous room upstairs with great views across a field. The B&B was very quiet and I had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was great as well. We ate dinner at the Hobler Inn across the road and it was superb. Overall, we would recommend and we would return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_sc00bysnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Far Side Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Far Side Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 New Inn Cottages Southampton Road | Southampton Road, Boldre, Boldre, New Forest SO41 8PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Boldre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boldre
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Far Side Bed & Breakfast Boldre, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing