We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, interesting place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boldre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Passford Farm Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 4 Boldre B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely, interesting place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely clean and tidy place thats just a little bit different for a B&B. The only thing I can say against it is that there could be a couple of chairs or a small sofa in the room but thats only a very minor niggle. Enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by Penny who was lovely and very welcoming, very informative about the surrounding area .... Our converted barn was beautiful absolutely immaculate and spotlessly clean, comfortable and luxurious....continental breakfast which was brought to us in the morning was plentiful and delicious. We will definitely return :) such a lovely secret escape..

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked two nights at Passford Farm to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary. We rarely spend so much on B and B but wanted a treat. After booking through hotel.com the owner telephoned us to say that she didn't have a room in the main house but she did have a room in the barn to which we agreed.
On arrival the appearance of the room was good with nice touches but after our host departed we had immediate concerns. The door into the room is predominantly glass and the curtains not thick or heavy enough to block out the view of the room from anyone determined to look in. We resorted to propping a chair against the curtain and winding it around the handles so that at least no one could look into the sleeping end of the room - we couldn't prevent people looking in the kitchen end.
One of the spotlights above the bed didn't work - we thought it could be a bulb but exchanging it for a less prominent one made no difference and there was only a small bedside light on one side of the bed which had too short a flex to move so reading was impossible. The extension cable was dodgy with one socket not working properly.
Road noise was loud until late in the evening resuming in the early morning and we discovered that the windows were single glazed which certainly didn't help. More worrying was the noise from upstairs where both rooms were occupied and the mere act of walking across the room sounded like an army on manoeuvres.We could even hear the toilet flushing. Replacing the glass doors with something more substantial might make some difference.
Outside the sign advertises a traditional bed and breakfast. Unfortunately there is nothing traditional about the breakfast. We were shocked to be told that our breakfast was in the fridge and it was serve yourself. We had two bowls of chopped strawberries and blueberries - unfortunately the fridge was turned up too high so these were completely frozen. As a previous reviewer has said the croissants, bread, processed ham and cheese are the cheapest possible and the choice of tea and coffee are poor with no decaf or herbal.
There are no toiletries other than a small soap.
Overall we were very disappointed. It was not worth the £100 per night we paid. I don't honestly think it was worth half that.
We did raise our points with the owner and drew her attention to the fact that we were not the first to complain about the noise, breakfasts etc but she was unconcerned and could not see a problem.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on rooms in the main farm house but cannot recommend the barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boldre hotels

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My partner and I stopped in this family run B&B Friday and Saturday night, and although we didn't arrive until 9.30pm, we were warmly welcomed and shown to the barn which is at the bottom of the drive from the main house. Nice decor, a spacious wardrobe/cupboard and a huge ensuite bathroom. Shower was excellent too, really powerful. Plenty of tea and coffee with complimentary biccies too. Only slight downside was food was not allowed in room, but as were were only using as base, was not a real issue for us. Breakfast was served to you on a tray in the room at the time we'd requested, at the small bistro table there, and was fabulous. A huge bowl of strawberries, peaches and blueberries, a yoghurt, croissant, ham, cheese and toast, and there was lots of it. (way too much for me, but the fruit was lovely and tasted freshly picked!).Penny and her family are lovely hosts, and I would recommend as a base for Isle of Wight and Lymington area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzleRazzleDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great location, just a very pleasant 20 minute walk from Lymington harbour passed beautiful houses and cobbled streets, a market on a Saturday but all starts getting packed up at about 4pm so get there a little earlier. Penny is a fab host with good suggestions on what not to miss and good restaurants/bars etc. we would certainly go back again and are contemplating a new year with a bunch of friends for the next trip.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Be aware that this place offers B&B in various locations - the cottage and a barn at the entrance to the property on a busy 'A' road. The barn, a few words: the double bed was very soft; the sheets were already crumpled and there were 2 hairs in the bed; the walls dividing the upstairs barn rooms are paper-thin, we could literally hear every word of the occupants next door (so no intimacy) and voices from the room below; the shower only does cold; if you are a man over 5'9 there is no head space to stand at the loo; the roof light curtains don't fit and the emergency exit light glows in the dark (so take a blindfold); the traffic noise is bad (take ear plugs); the kettle has to boil in the corner on the floor (be a contortionist); the room tea and coffee is just that - no decaf or herbal: there were 3 small biscuits available and they weren't replenished over our stay. Breakfast wasn't in the cottage, but brought up to our room where we had to balance trays on the bed as the table is too small. The croissants were really cheap and doughy not fluffy and light, the pastries non-existant and the cheese processed. No fresh coffee was offered. And for this we paid £152 for 2 nights. Highly disappointing and impersonal.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the barn - it is a cheap conversion suitable only for deaf hobbits. The cottage ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zabi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Whilst on one of our " lets get away from it all " breaks, my wife just happened to glimpse a B&B sign at the side of the road. On entering the gravel drive my first impression was, i've taken a wrong turning, and what stood before us could not possibly be a B&B. How could anyone give up rooms to strangers in such a beautiful 17th century thatched cottage.Thankfully i was wrong, and a room above the dining room was available for the two nights we required. The en-suite room had a large extremely comfortable double bed with a single bed adjacent to the front facing window which had views of the drive and duck pond. Wardrobe space was minimal but adequate for our length of stay. The rear window overlooked the gardens and a swimming pool with log cabins and wood in the distance.
Breakfast was tasteful and plentiful, tables spotless, could not fault anything. Our hosts Penny & Andrew were cheerful friendly and attentive. The whole experience was one which we would not hesitate to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward_turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boldre
0.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Spinney Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Daisybank Cottage Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford Farm Guesthouse

Property: Passford Farm Guesthouse
Address: Passford Farm Southampton Road, Boldre, New Forest SO41 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Boldre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boldre
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Passford Farm Guesthouse Boldre, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing