We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snells Beach Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
73
60
27
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
60
27
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walk to the beachone nightindoor spa poolroomy apartmenthelpful in giving directionssun loungersseparate bedroomgreat cafenice poolquiet hotelfriendly hostsself caternew zealandwell equipped kitchennice place to stayfive minute walkon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here one night on our way back from Australia because we wanted to see Kawau Island the following morning and then head up to Mangawhai to stay with friends. Not to far a drive from the airport, just over an hour.
Our upstairs unit on the north side very clean and tidy but not sure I like the wooden polished floors. No road noise, good bed, great shower.
Shops and the Warehouse just across the road.
I wish motels would offer green milk.
I would recommend to accommodation no stress on book in lady very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I totally agree about the green milk ! If we could get it in the same 300ml, we would definitely offer it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We chose this place for my cousin who loves to shop. The Warehouse was across the road as was a few other shops and plenty of eateries so we didn't need to drive anywhere for meals. A small four square supermarket also. We based ourselves here and travelled 10 minutes to Warkworth, 10 minutes to Matakana, a few minutes to Algies Beach and Sandspit to do the boat trip to Kawerau Island. About 20 minutes to Leigh and Goat Island.
The rooms were spacious and well decorated and the deck out the back with views of the sea were used frequently! Highly recommend and will stay again when we are up in that area again.
Our cousins had their own unit and we had ours next door upstairs

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Lynley, Thanks for your review. It would be great to see you another time. Come for longer and you will never want to leave ! Rgds, Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Pretty standard motel. Clean, comfortable, quite spacious. Everything you'd expect to find, including decaf coffee (which always pleases my wife). Nice (if slightly scary) spa bath. Pleasant, efficient check in/out. Quiet location with some shops and restaurants opposite.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathleeng_11, Owner at Snells Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Gerry, Thanks for your comments. We think the Motel is very special, but then we're a bit biased ! But after putting out life and soul into it for over 10 years, with continual upgrades, refurbishments and a pretty solid 41/2 rating across all our reviews, I guess we must be doing something right ! And then so many of the verbal comments we get from our guests are so reassuringly over-the-top complimentary and enthusiastic, thai it makes it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here one night on our way south from Paihia. This was our first time at staying in a motel in New Zealand. It was very nice. The lady who checked us in was very pleasant. She suggested several places to eat and gave us a pint of milk for our tea or coffee. I was a little surprised, in this age of computers, that the reservation system was on a large tablet on the counter. The room was very clean and had everything needed. The TV was even High Definition. Our bed was comfortable and we did not hear any noise.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had one of the larger rooms which provided us with a huge area for our little one to crawl and totter around safely. The views on a clear day are spectacular, unfortunately we stayed whilst the bad weather hit so the comfort of the rooms was even more important. Fortunately the rooms are well equipped and kept very clean.
It is a little strange for a Brit to go to a country without double glazing, but like so many motels, it is single glazing all the way which makes it a little breezy in cold and windy weather. However, that is something you just expect in NZ. As such all of the beds have heated blankets, and a decent heater as in an earthquake country you won't find central heating.
The motel is really well located, easy to find and just opposite shops and takeaways. Robin is very friendly and a good source of local knowledge, where to visit and what to do. Also the Brick Bay Winery on the way into Snells Beach is well worth a visit especially for its Pinot Gris.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews