We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see!”

Brick Bay Sculpture Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$233.23*
and up
Small-Group Matakana Coast Food and Wine Tour from Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Art and Wine Entwined at Brick Bay. Visit the Glass House, the spectacular restaurant, home of Brick Bay Wines and gateway to the Brick Bay Sculpture Trail. Brick Bay is a boutique Matakana vineyard producing elegant estate grown wines: a renowned Pinot Gris, a vibrant Rose and intense Bordeaux-style red blends. Brick Bay Sculpture Trail winds through a remarkable native landscape, showcasing 50 works by New Zealand's leading sculptors. Open daily for wine tasting, cellar door sales, relaxed all day dining, coffee and the Sculpture Trail.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very imaginative way for artists to show and sell their outdoor art.Trail is easily traveled, art and surroundings complement each other.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    58
    12
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Prepentious Rubbish??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We must disagree with other reviewers. Whilst the sculpture trail includes some pleasant scenery it is no more than this and the exhibits are more craft than art. Disappointed we did not stay for wine which perhaps is the vital ingredient to enjoyment of the sculptures.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sillyoldduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Arts Manager at Brick Bay Sculpture Trail, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We believe art is subjective and very much in the eye of the beholder.

We aim to create a thought-provoking experience featuring New Zealand's leading sculptors, the work of which has been carefully selected by a curatorial panel. The artists involved are widely represented in our country's public art galleries and well-respected private collections.

We have received many accolades from both domestic and international media and art critics, and interested readers may like to browse the media reviews on our website.

Kind regards,
Lisa Hannan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Just a few comments on the wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at Brick Bay just before closing, and so did not have time to take in the sculpture trail, but we could see the metal pieces about the pond behind the tasting room and the colourful flock of lambs out front. This was the first winery we visited in the Matakana area, and we found the wine very enjoyable, especially their Pinot Gris, although the rose and the lighter blend of red were also good. They also have olive oil, and while they had none for sale this day, I understand it is one of the better French style oil's in the area. Took 2 bottles of Pinto Gris with us, we enjoyed it so much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

i already included this in my description of the Brick bay Glasshouse cafe - in my view the two are enjoyed together...take a half day and really enjoy. We were told to allow an hour for the stroll around the garden...but if you enjoy art - take your time, and allow closer to 90 mins.
The affogato to follow in the cafe was so refreshing...love this place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sculpture Trail GREAT...but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Went to the sculpture trail today based on reviews from this site. We took our 2 kids aged 10 and 8. The trail, the sculptures, the boardwalks are absolutely fabulous. The sculptures were very interesting - and while we aren't 'arty' people, we found plenty to like, dislike, and talk about. There has clearly been a huge amount of time,effort and money put into this venture and it really shows. We felt the entry fee represented excellent value for what is really a good 90 minutes of family fun.
BUT after our walk in the mid day sun, we were looking forward to a nice cold ale and some food and drinks for the children in the stunning 'Glass House'. We found the staff at the Glass House to be rude, supercilious and to be honest just 'snooty'. We could see the restaurant was full, so would have been happy to stand in a corner, lean against one of the wine barrels or perch on one of the bench seats. However we were told in a really unfriendly tone that the restaurant was fully booked and they wouldn't have anything for us for another 2 hours. We were 'dismissed' from the premises without so much as a 'sorry' or 'thanks for coming'.
We felt bad that what could have been a great experience had been let down by a poor attitude by the staff.
If this review was about the sculpture trail alone - it would be a definite 5 star experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Owner at Brick Bay Sculpture Trail, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, which provides us with valuable feedback that we can act upon to improve the visitor experience.

It was great that the trail met your expectations for an enjoyable family outing, but I'm obviously very disappointed that you did not receive the hospitality you had a right to expect.

When we are fully booked, this means that our kitchen cannot process any more orders in a timely fashion, so even an extra table, barrel or bench would not have meant you would have been able to have the food and drinks you required. Nevertheless, this information needed to be conveyed to you in a friendly manner and I sincerely regret that this did not occur. Even when staff are stretched in very busy times, cordiality is paramount, and I will take steps steps to reinforce this to all staff.


Christine Didsbury
Director
Brick Bay Wines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brick Bay Sculpture Trail also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Brick Bay Sculpture Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing