We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor food quality, quantity and taste”
Review of The Salty Dog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salty Dog Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Snells Beach B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“poor food quality, quantity and taste”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Where to start. I took my in laws for a meal as a thank you for putting up the family over Christmas and New Year. We soon all wished I hadn't.
We were greeted in the restaurant by pre school kids screaming, shouting ,running around and throwing paper aeroplanes everywhere.
However the real let down was the quality, quantity and presentation of the food.
dad in law had pork, it was ok (this was the best choice of the night)
my eldest son and I had steak. when it arrived I asked if it was supposed to have fries or potatoes with it as the portions looked meagre.. (was told no)
my youngest asked for lamb (I had concerns when he ordered that he would finish it) I did not have to worry when it arrived I was shocked to see it only had 3 small pieces of lamb surrounded by veg which was saturated in gravy. Unfortunately my son likes dry veg, I made a comment on how they could charge $31 yes $31 for 3 small pieces of lamb( in a country that has more sheep than people). I was most unimpressed. Next, mum in law had ordered childrens meal of pasta. She said the sauce was nice but the past was a bit hard. Hard! it was raw!!, not al dente but raw.
My partner ordered fun guy vegetarian rissotto (the only fun guy here was the comedian pretending to be a chef). Rissotto!, it was rice with some veggies mashed in but they were poorly done and rissotto was all in clumps. However the worst was then my partner tried to eat the main part of the dish (3 mushrooms), there was so much salt on them I thought they were from the Dead Sea. They were totally inedible. I think the chef was trying to keep in tone with the first part of the restaurants name. This was the last straw and I complained, my partner then asked for fish and chips from the childrens menu. When it arrived it was fish nuggets and chips, not actually a fish.
I dont know if the chef was on holiday or not, but if not he(she) needs immediate retraining (or replacing) with special guidance given to salt application on food and portion sizes.
I shall certainly never dine there again and would not recommend any passing tourists to do so either.
The locals apparantly have already made their mind up regarding dining (I spoke to a couple and told them about my experience, general opinion was "thats about right, a nice place to drink but not dine")
I will try to leave on a positive note, the staff were pleasant (a bit slow regarding drink refills but pleasant). The cutlery on the table was clean.
The drinks themselves were nicely chilled. I would return for a drink but certainly never to dine.
Alan

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Very Sad that we didn't delivery a memorable experience for you. We aim to please and as the old story goes we can only please some of the people some of the time. I hope that one day we will get the opportunity to redeem ourselves however understand that this doesn't always happen. Take care. Kind regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    88
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
99
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We ate at the pub while staying in Snells Beach we were made feel welcome on both occasions we came once for a drink only. The young guy behind the bar was very friendly and welcoming. The pizza and fries we had for lunch one day were just devine, the pizza had a lovely thin base and the topping were generousand tasty well worth it. The bowl of fries was really good value for 4.50.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We just checked out after a 12 day stay. Even though it was the off season (winter) the rooms were comfortable and spacious. We had room 6 which had two king (twin) and a fold out couch. The couch bed looked well worn but was sleepable. The bathroom was very nice and our every request was met w a positive answer. I HEARTILY RECOMMEND THIS ACCOMODATION and eatery!

Room Tip: Great value for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Six of us, 2 local and 4 from overseas decided to have dinner at the Salty Dog restaurant. When we entered we were asked if we had book. When we cobnfirmed that we hadn't, we were told that it would take 5 minutes to check if any of the many vacant tables were available. Not a positive way to greet diners when staff appeared to outnumber diners. We were shown to a table and ordered drinks. Two of us ordered low alc.beer. The 1st drink arrived, the 2nd about 5 minutes later. When trhe food arrived the steaks were given to the wrong people.
When we left the bill payer told the waitress that he was less than impressed with our experience. She then banned him from coming back. A disgusting finish to a bad dinner and a poorly trained staff member.
WE WILL NEVER RETURN.

Room Tip: Go anywhere except here. The Snell's Beach Motels are far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had a meal here while we were staying in Snells Beach. The food was good and our waitress was very friendly and helpful when dealing with food allergies. Our children were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We used this as an overnighter from Tongariro up to Kerikeri on our travels.
We had already told them we would check in late, we got there at 8.30pm and contrary to the menu stating the bar food (not the main restaurant food) would still be available til 9pm... the kitchen had closed. Starved - the staff could only suggest "um.... maybe somewhere in Warkworth is open, i don't know anywhere though", the local supermarket was long shut and our only option was the petrol station - a loaf of bread and some vegemite. lovely.

The area is not lit up so finding our way in to our ground floor room was difficult. there were beer cans lying in the flowerbed and as we opened the door the smell of damp was horrible. but starvation and overwhelming tiredness battled us.

This place had one of the best websites we had seen in NZ so we expected more. But it is extremely misleading. Especially the photo's. There are green lawns, but the edge of these lead to a petrol station a liquor land and The Warehouse.

There is no ventilation in the bathroom which is causing the damp in the rooms, so when we opened the bathroom window to try and solve this half the local spider population crawled in. and every window was steamed up with the curtains sticking to them. I dread to think how much mould is hiding behind cupboards and under the bed.

The bed linen and towels were clean and very comfortable, but the towels hung in the kitchen as opposed to the bathroom and the toaster being our only cooking option took 3 of it's highest settings to toast the bread. And this also set the smoke alarm off too...

Being run by a pub/restaurant and also being the most expensive of our accommodation i was disappointed that they provided cheap (and nasty) UHT milk instead of the fresh milk even our $59 a night accommodation had provided. So no nice cup of tea or coffee for you.

There is no added value or anything that stands out to balance out the bad, some of the indoor furniture is outdoor furniture and there is no privacy from your neighbours. Hearing upstairs every time they shifted their weight or ran a tap just added to our annoyance. The money we spent could have given us two nights at somewhere of much better quality.

Room Tip: if you do still book then go upstairs - then the idiot downstairs can hear your toilet flush and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicm_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here for a friend's 50th birthday and really enjoyed it. We stayed for two nights and the rooms were nice and big with a lounge and coffee table as well. The only things I didn't like was there was no blind on the entry door so the morning sun came streaming in and woke me up earlier than I liked! Also the pillows were small and flat and when I asked for more they were the same. It was really good having the pub just across the grass so you didn't have to worry about driving home from the pub. You could also wander across for a meal or brekky in the morning. Top floor rooms have a balcony too. Very convenient location near the shops. Great value for money!

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor so you have a balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanks1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
11.3 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
4.5 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
38 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Property: The Salty Dog Inn
Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Snells Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing