We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet, friendly getaway”
Review of The Salty Dog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Salty Dog Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Snells Beach B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet, friendly getaway”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I enjoyed a two night stay with my two kids at the Salty Dog Inn. Although the decor was a little tired, the room was clean and spacious. The hosts were super friendly and had heaps of recommendations of things to do in the area which were really helpful. The buffet cooked breakfast was a nice surprise too.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best for kids as they can wander in the garden/lawn area which is pretty spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Jacqui, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor it makes a big difference in our rating when feedback is placed.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    86
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
33
96
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellsford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked the Salty Dog inn for our daughters wedding and were very happy with the result. The staff were excellent, very accommodating, very easy to deal with and the food was enjoyed by all. Great selection and very well done. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Tina for your kind words. We are pleased the Matt and Lee were happy and the day went well. We had the opportunity to show three other brides the room on the day and they love it also so looks promising. Thank you for allowing us to purchase the hessian and other little bits and bods. We wish Mr & Mrs Sanders a happy and prosperous marriage for many years to come.

Kind regards
Debbie Patten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An average Motel in small town of Snells Beach. They also have a restaurant/pub. It seems that the pub is the main business and the Motel is an extra, as there are not so many places where to stay overnight. Booked family room, with two separate bedrooms and living room. The parking was for free as was the internet, but you can use it just in the main building where the pub is. The breakfast was included too.
I would say it is an average motel,clean and spacious enough for a family of 4. Would I book it again probably not, but if I had a need to stay there again, had no problem with that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to pass on your feedback. Thank you for selecting the Salty Dog Inn. If ever you are back in our neck of the woods we hope we can accommodate you again.
Take care until then
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

A group of about 20 of us decided to pop in for lunch at the salty dog inn during Easter weekend. We intended to dine in the bar however this was closed due to a function. This however did not bother us at all as when we entered the restaurant we were greeted by a warm and friendly face. This girl immediately put a table together for us and we were seated within 5 minutes. The waitress then took our order for our drinks and they were on our table right away! Even though she was clearly very busy and it appeared by herself, we received fabulous service. The food was out in a very short time and tasted delicious! The atmosphere provided was fantastic and I would highly recommend the salty dig Inn for dining.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chfisherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Colin thank you for your feedback. Emily was looking after you and yes she is a super star. We are lucky to have such an amazing team at The Salty. It helps us when we have nice guests and Patrons and Emily said you guys were lovely so thank you from the bottom of our hearts it means a lot when you make reference.

Take care until we meet again.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you for making our Easter Break a memorable one, we didn't want to leave but all good things must come to an end :)
Everything was worth it and the complimentary buffet breakfast and the marshmallow eggs were a treat thank you :)

**Your staff were all helpful and friendly always greeted with a friendly smile I can see that they work very hard late shifts and early starts and still smiling! Now that's an awesome team you have

**Your lead-in rooms are nice, large and spacious has all the basic necessities that you need and the views are beautiful

We'll be back :)
From Room 14

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iamhX0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Your feedback is much appreciate and assists us in getting more bookings so from the bottom of my heart Thank you for taking the time. So glad Easter was a good one for you. Yes we have an amazing team and we are a very close knit Salty Family which I think is what makes all the difference. We hope that you will come stay with us again.

Take care until then.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

So friendly, so welcoming. We booked for 1 night but stayed for 2 and would have stayed longer if we could. Deb and family, especially Dad are amazing. Great food great staff and overall friendliness was excellent to 2 people from Australia. The hugs on leaving made us feel we were part of the Inn family.(I Didn't want to go and could have spent my entire holiday at the Inn) The room was not faulted. It may be off the tourist track but so worth the visit and definitely going back.

Peter Snell

Room Tip: Every room is quiet. No road noise, no traffic and no noise from the locals leaving the Inn. And all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsnell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Peter we all remember you. It was a shame you didn't have time to go fishing in Mangawhai with Dad. We are very pleased you found us and hope you will be back with your family one day soon. We love welcoming people to our small part of New Zealand's Paradise and so very pleased that you have plenty of photo's with the name Snell's in them to show all your friends.
Take care untill we meet again.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights, warm welcome, clean & tidy room. Very large bed. The free cooked breakfast was great, wasn't expecting that as it was March that we stayed & the website said that it was only until 28th Feb, so great bnus thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are so very please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning. Thank you for taking the time to comment

Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#7 of 19 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Property: The Salty Dog Inn
Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Snells Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing