We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Salty Dog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Salty Dog Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Snells Beach B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we have been made to feel welcome. Nothing has been too much trouble. The staff have all been helpful and friendly, willing to advise on activities to do and places to see.
There food has been great.
First night great Chinese buffet, even had my husband eating dishes that he normally finds too greasy and going back for more. Second night bistro. Good size meals, superb quality, good price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that hubby got to try some different foods. We all try our best to aim to please. The Salty motto is "May you come as our guest and leave as our friend" We are pleased to see you felt that. Take care until we meet again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    84
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
33
95
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

No airs or graces here but good food, good value and functional facilities.
Good location for Omaha, Matakana, Warkworth and local beaches.
Staff were welcoming and friendly. Apartments are in a stand alone building other side of the car park from the pub and restaurant so little associated noise.

Room Tip: Upstairs first floor as ground floor noise from apartments guests above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the region and your meals while staying with us. We are all about making people feel at home in a relaxed environment and hope that you felt that while you were with us. Take care and we hope that if ever you are our way again you will pop back in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just returned from our first time at the salty dog inn and looking forward to returning in the near future. Food was just great, people smiley and chatty, rooms good with very comfy beds.
From the first minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome.....Moses you are a star!
Situated in a great position for easy access to lots of beaches and local places of interest. Well recommended if you want a good social atmosphere.
Thanks guys, we will see you again soon.
Steve & Annie - Gulf Harbour

Room Tip: Rooms are 50 metres from the large pub an restaurant, on 2 levels, and all have balconies so you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Steve and Annie we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return. Keep an eye on our face-book to see what we are doing next time you are coming to stay. hope you enjoyed the Shin Dig on Friday night. Take care until we see you again, and yes Moses is a star
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent two nights at the Salty Dog Inn, can highly recommend the food and the customer service from the front of house staff (Moses) was great. The inn is great for a base to explore Matakana and surrounds. Rooms need a bit of updating but were clean and spacious and the beds were comfy. Only critiques overall was that the TV was way too small for the size of the room and very "tinny" sounding and that it would be have been great to able to access WiFi automatically. We had to ask for the password but it only worked in the restaurant/bar area. Apart from that very pleased.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and mention of the Great Food. The Chef will be pleased you enjoyed his cooking. We are very lucky to have Moses on board and glad you also benefited from his wonderful hospitality. Noted your mention of the rooms they are 20 years old and we are slowly trying to bring them up. We hope should the need arise you call and stay with us again. Perhaps I could suggest you look at the Spa Bath Suites which are two bedroom and bigger TV's on your next stay. Take care until we meet again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just had a weekend stay at the Salty Dog and it was fabulous. The weather was cold and rainy but the warmth of the staff and room was perfect and made our stay a really lovely and relaxing couple of days. It is so close to Auckland so a short travelling time, and more time enjoying Snell's Beach, the Salty Dog Inn, and surroundings. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treesrgreen486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Winter Weekender, so very pleased you choose to spend some time with us. Feedback like yours puts a smile on all our faces at the Salty. We look forward to your return some time soon. Watch our face-book to see what we are up to. This Friday we have a Western Themed night should be a lot of fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We are regulars at the salty on Friday evenings for dinner. The atmosphere is vibrant and the new menu is much better. The staff are always friendly but for us we were getting a little tired of the same menu. We eat in the bar as we has a bad experience 5 years ago- with a different owner I must say, but, we do eat out a lot and I assumed the restaurant would be similar food to the bar food- that was until three weeks ago when we decided to try out the restaurant with some friends that came over. The reason for this write up is we were truly made up with the food. It was tasty and well presented. We all really enjoyed it and I am so proud of the owner for taking the salty to a new level. The new pup menu is great too and again well presented- don't taken word for it- go and support them. I want to shout it out and hope they continue with the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Musicplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
What wonderful feedback. Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to write and hope that we continue to impress you with the changes to the menu on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a great time. Awesome facility, food was really really good. staff always smiling and I did not want to leave. Experience was amazing. I would recommend this place to anybody and am sure it will be much better in summer time. Thanks Moses and your awesome crew.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leni20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. First and Last Friday's of the month are worth looking into.. First Friday is Karaoke and Last Friday is Themed night check out facebook to find out what is coming. Your feedback is important to us so thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Bridgehouse Lodge
Bridgehouse Lodge
#7 of 19 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Property: The Salty Dog Inn
Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Snells Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing