We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chic et sauvage: Very nice stay”
Robinson's Cove Villas - Boutique property in Moorea Island in the stunning Opunohu bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robinson's Cove Villas - Boutique property in Moorea Island in the stunning Opunohu bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Robinson's Cove Villas - Boutique property in Moorea Island in the stunning Opunohu bay.
master bedroom
Opunohu bay, by the lagoon
Opunohu bay where we are located
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Papetoai, Moorea, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
PuraVida3...
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chic et sauvage: Very nice stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Robinson's Cove in the Wallis villa in April and we were very pleased with the accommodation. The villa is a lovely rustic cottage with some modern amenities making it exactly as they advertise: chic et sauvage. It was great to have wifi (basic, not high speed), laundry, dishwasher, and a full kitchen to cook our own meals and save some money - load up at the Champion by the ferry dock before arriving (note: if you arrive Sunday, it is only open in the morning). The verandah is superb with a variety of seating to lounge around and enjoy the views. After reading others' reviews about the mosquitoes, I was nervous but they were not that bad mid April when we were there which was great. Alix, the onsite concierge, did give us some local bug spray which is much more effective than spray brought from home. There are no screens on the sliding doors which is surprisingly not uncommon in tropical locales with mosquitoes for some strange reason (as a Canadian, no screens on doors and windows is a very foreign concept). The showers are also open air which we really enjoyed but if you are not into open air concept living, this may not be the place for you although there is a/c in the bedrooms. The deposit that is required for booking seemed very high to me but it was returned within a week of our departure. Some previous reviewers comment on the fact that the villa is on the main road and that this makes it noisy - seeing as most accommodation on Moorea is on this same road, I don't see how you can really avoid this unless you are at one of the big resorts that sit on larger properties. If you are looking for a luxury resort style accommodation, don't stay here. But, if you are looking for a private, rustic yet charming accommodation, Villa Wallis is for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HatterasB...
hatteras
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations, too close to the road.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

If you've never traveled to Moorea then be forewarned. 90% of the population lives on either side of the main road which runs around the perimeter of the island. Robinson's Cove sits literally right off this road, the only barrier being a brick wall. So much for quiet and seclusion as noise travels and we heard much of that. Internet was sporadic, so much for streaming music. On the brighter side the bed was totally awesome and comfortable, kitchen well stocked with all the basics and Pepsi a joy. This beautiful dog had her manners and was a great hostess, greeting you in your comings and goings but NEVER stepping a paw through your doors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodations
Liked least: Locatin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Thanks for your comment. Indeed the road is circling around the island like in all French Polynesian islands. Even though we have a gated property with walls, the noise travels. I hope you also enjoyed the proximity of the Lagoon on the other side! As for Internet, it is fine for emails, but surely not for any streaming (!)... you need to carry along your music with you the good old way! The Cloud and its large broadband might become available in Moorea in... 2050 :) fingers crossed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asmith58
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Moorea Home”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We felt for one week we had a home in paradise. All the comforts of our home but with one amazing view. Our first morning we saw a double rainbow out our bedroom window with our view of the bay. The best snorkeling we did was right along our own shoreline. We saw hundreds of fish, even a shark visited one night and manta ray visited another. Great relaxing week

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henriette...
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Old character bungalow in stunning location – pity about the road and lack of comfort”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
13
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Fletcher Christian Villa for eight nights and enjoyed the beauty of the bay and the great swimming.

The bungalow has a lovely atmosphere partly due to the many nautical relics of the original seafaring owners. It is situated on a large piece of garden with two small private beaches, one providing excellent and safe access to the water.

Sadly it is less than twenty meters from the island’s main circular road which can be very busy especially in the early morning. If, like us, you are not used to traffic noise or are looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful, this bungalow is not for you. We found the constant roar of traffic especially trucks and motorbikes pretty upsetting. ….had we known about it we certainly wouldn’t have booked the villa. To be fair, most other accommodation on the island suffer the same drawback simply because the coastal strip is so narrow. Only the large hotels have sufficient land to enable you to get away from it. Another endemic problem are the resident cockerels – perhaps worse here because they are undisturbed and will almost certainly wake you in the early dawn.

The bungalow is one of four, but unlike the other three it appears to be managed on behalf of an absentee owner. It has the advantage over the others of being very private which we enjoyed. One of the selling features of Robinson Cove bungalows is the resident manager – indeed, in the instruction booklet she is mentioned a dozen or so times as the person to go to with any issues . During our visit she was absent and there was no satisfactory alternative – indeed, the “caretaker” appeared to know nothing so-ever about the house.

Our main complaint was the lack of comfort inside and out. The bed has an inadequate mattress and scruffy linen for a bungalow of this type, more reminiscent of a backpackers. The lounge has two folding canvas chairs (more for decoration than anything else), two wicker chairs with very thin cushions and an ugly divan base which has no back and is so soft that it bottoms out on the frame when sat on. The bungalow is dark and while the spot lighting could be attractive it really isn’t adequate. The main overhead light failed half way through our stay and was never repaired and the only reading lights are temporary clip-on fittings (see photos). The kitchen and dining area are well set up.
Outside things get even worse, there are two old metal chairs with plastic webbing, a set of four cheap molded plastic chairs and two plastic loungers, none have cushions of any sort despite them being clearly shown on the photographs on the website. We complained about this early in our stay and whilst there seemed to be some sympathy to our plight from Dennis, the Director who is based in France, the local staff were adamant that this is all we could expect for what we were paying, judge for yourself - in our view having a chair that you can sit on for more than 30 minutes when you are paying more than 240 Euro per night doesn’t seem an unreasonable request.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming in the lagoon from the private beach
Liked least: lack of comfort and road noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2013
These guests stayed in our oldest beach House which was clearly described as RUSTIC in all communications we exchanged with them, whereas all our other units are DELUXE, hence the discounted price of 240 Euros a night they got, when Deluxe beach houses in Moorea island in July are 375 Euros a night, and hotel a minimum or 480 Euros a night...

What is cheap is to complain for lack of luxury when getting this kind of deal for a one acre beach front property.
You can't have your cake and eat it too !!!

Moreover, they only see what they want to see, hence their review is unfair: they neither thanked us for the Champagne bottle we offered on arrival; nor for the complimentary Tahitian black pearl, the detailed explanation we gave them to navigate safely in the lagoon. As for the lack of service, since they travelled without mobile phone (!), we took charge for them to contact and book their leisure activities. These guests should definitely stay in hotels where they can have a butler service AND pay the appropriate price, and not book vacation rentals at all. Regards. Denis, manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmoore574
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week vacation in Tahiti, Bora Bora, and Moorea. We were fortunate enough to stay in Villa Cook at Robinson's Cove for a week. Moorea was by far our favorite island and Villa Cook on Opunohu Bay was amazing. The villa is more beautiful than photos portray. The views are absolutely breathtaking and the kindness, attention, and assistance we received from Denis before arriving and Alix and Jacques during our stay were second to none! To put it simply, a vacation that was to be a "once in a lifetime" trip became a plan for our next return. DO NOT HESITATE in booking a villa at Robinson's Cove! You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was spectacularly beautiful!
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJ R
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Villas on Moorea”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were 3 couples staying in Villa Cook (4) and Villa Bouganville (2) for a week. We would highly recommend Robinsons Cove.
Denis made the booking process easy and answered all our emails promptly. Alix, the on-site manager - was always ready to help. All the logistics were handled with friendly effiicency.
The Villas themselves are well maintained and very comfortable, but just a bit quirky. Don't expect modern and polished. Do expect homey and pleasant. The kitchens are well equiped (we self-catered for breakfast, lunch, and some dinners), and the beds comfortable.
The location is stunning - right on a safe sandy beach with truly excellent snorkelling at your doorstep. A kayak is available. All the equipment supplied was top notch - so much so that I used their mask and snorkel even though I had brought my own along.
We lived on the verandas, on the beach, and in the water. We saw birds, fish, rays, dolphins, small sharks, and the most beautiful rainbow.
We included a rental car (also arranged by Denis) which was useful for shopping, restaurants, or get aways when the occasional fit of cabin fever struck.
All in all the perfect venue a for a refreshing, relaxing, carefree holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach, veranda, snorkelling, self-contained with local feeling - not a resort
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2013
Thank you for your great review! Even though our Villas can contain up to 6/8 p, it is preferable for a group to rent several units, just like you did, when you want top comfort with a bedroom and a bathroom for each couple. We also have a mini-van for up to 7p. All our beach houses are different, entirely built in tropical wood, which makes them really authentic but indeed you won't find contemporary architecture or cookie-cutter bungalow here! Maintaining them all "Chic et Sauvage" within the stunning Opunohu bay (undoubtedly one of the most beautiful bay in the world), is our daily motto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing