We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort & friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I arrived after touring New Zealand by campervan the previous 2 weeks. We had booked an over-the-water bungalow and also have Ambassador status with the hotel chain. We were given what we booked but the auto-upgrade did not apply as this was their highest tiered room. We were made to relax and enjoy our welcome beverages when we arrived as our room was a prepared. We were escorted by golf cart to our bungalow and our welcome gift (fruit platter) was in the room when we entered. The views were perfect. The tide was somewhat dramatic offering new views throughout the day and night.

The restaurant food and room service food was basically the same (food quality and price). By our third night, we realized that we didn't even want to leave our room and ordered room service quite frequently. Everything was expensive relatively speaking - meals around $100 each and drinks in the $25 range. Even the breakfast buffet was approx. 50USD if ordering al la carte. Would recommend booking with the breakfast included, as we did.

Just across the street, we were able to purchase beer and liquor and we stocked our own minibar, which was convenient. Besides, we had to get out for a walk each day anyway. Also had lunch down the street - and the fish was amazing at a fraction of resort prices.

If you're silly enough to waste time on the internet while here, you can do it for free if you're an IHG rewards member. Otherwise, they offered internet access for a daily fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tweeting_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your awesome review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you to our small piece of Paradise and we are glad you enjoyed it for the best.

Your very appreciative comments are being shared with our entire team as we all feel a great sense of satisfaction and joy in knowing that we have collectively ensured that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The resort was pretty much what you'd expect for a hotel of this caliber. What set the resort apart was the marine life. We went for an over-water bungalow (522) which made all the difference - it is alot more money - but sooo worth it. The lagoon in the hotel is pretty ordinary for snorkeling. You do need to get out into the area's where the over-water bungalows are to see the good stuff and that's really had to do unless you are staying in one. Off our deck we say a massive variety of fish, turtles, stingrays, eagle rays, reef sharks and even had a resident octopus! Take the kayak's out to where the tourist boats are and swim with the sharks and rays. Try to avoid the bungalows near the dolphin center - there was a non-stop procession of tourist boats past them. Our bungalow 522 only looked onto one other bungalow so was nice and private, had great marine life and each evening you could have a glass of wine and watch the reef sharks cruise past your feet regular as clock work. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bungalow 522 - great for marine life and away from the tour boat processions.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Naomi,
Ia Orana from everyone in Moorea !

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our small piece of paradise and we are delighted to hear you have brought home with you such special memories, especially of our wonderful marine fauna and flora.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Bungalow 406 and thought the location was great. There was also very few children on the property so the noise levels were not bad. There was 1 mix up with the concierge and the excursions but it was handled quickly and professionally. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. All staff members we dealt with were friendly and seemed to take pride in their property.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_Ham15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jeff,

Ia Orana from Moorea, and Congratulations !!
All the staff joins me to affirm that it was truely a pleasure to welcome you in our Hotel.

It is indeed a really pride for our staff to know that they have contributed to your wonderful experience in Moorea.

Start planning your wedding anniversary… we are waiting!
Best sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first four nights of our honeymoon. We had a garden bungalow with a private pool, which was awesome! It was nice to take a cold dip in the pool in the morning or afternoon without having to go all the way to the pool and have a private place to sunbathe.

Our travel package included breakfast and their breakfast buffet spread was fantastic! Too many things to eat, not enough stomach space! Plus the view from the dining room was great!

Everyone working there was very nice and accommodating. Our bungalow was further out at the end and far from the ice machine so one of the staff told us guest services would bring ice to our rooms when needed!

A few downsides is that the hotel is far away from restaurants and stores, so we ended up eating at the hotel restaurant for dinner and it was just ok. The other nights, we went to other local restaurants who picked us up. There is a rental place across the street from the hotel where you can get scooters and cars.

Overall, we had a great time here!

Room Tip: Get the garden bungalow with private pool, especially if you're getting an overwater bungalow so...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca_ursa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen InterContinental Moorea for your stay on our wonderful island.
I am thrilled to learn that your Garden Pool Bungalow was at your liking and that you enjoyed it.

I will transmit your very encouraging feedback to all the InterContinental team that put in great efforts to ensure our guests have a once in a lifetime experience.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day.
We'll all be here waiting!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

big and nice hotel sitiated on the beach.has som over water bungalows facing sunrise and some small buildings facing sunset. service is fine and polite.food is good and tasty. rooms are clean with all facilities. free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zippi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stunning feedback : in few words, you managed to explain what we strive to achieve for years!

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again one day !

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Intercon on Moorea perfectly reflects the feelings you have while visiting the small island! The natives were so friendly and generous, the accommodations were wonderful and the staff was so very accommodating. Beautiful beaches and fun activities, lovely pool and gorgeous, relaxing venue. The only downside was the limited dining options, but in paradise, we made do!!!

Room Tip: go for the bungalows out over the water!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Kelly,

Ia Orana from everyone in Moorea !
Thank you very much for your lovely and encouraging comments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our wonderful island and we are delighted to hear you have brought home with you such special memories.
We have posted your message in all our departments and as you can imagine it has brought warmth to all our employees. As you noticed for yourself, Polynesians are very warm and genuine and hearing that they made a difference means a lot to them.

We hope to see you back one day.
Until then take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the intercontinetal with my partner for a couple of nights in a premium over water bungalow. We were very very excited for this accommodation and we were not let down. Perfect un obstructed view of the lagoon and the mountains to the right from our room. The two levels to the deck were perfect, we would sit on the lower one and watch the fish swim by, or relax on the deck chairs on the top deck. The room was very nice but we spent most of our time outside!
The resort beach was great, had a great atmosphere in the afternoon with music playing, all the chairs by the pool were always taken though! We used the free kayaks and had a fun trip around the resort lagoon. The buffet breakfast had a great view, I would recommend including this in your deal as we didn't and it was expensive. Dinner on the lower level restaurant also had a great atmosphere with music playing and pretty good food.
We had an amazing time at this resort, staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the grounds beautiful and accommodation perfect. We also saw all the other resorts overwater bungalows and liked the fact ours had two spacious levels to the deck and water deep enough to snorkel in, we saw so many fish!
Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 884AlieshaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read your comments and see that you have taken back with you some wonderful memories.
You sum it up perfectly: a big slice of friendliness, a great touch of tropics and a small piece of this little something which gives our property its’ unique atmosphere.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our small piece of paradise …

Kind sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papetoai
6.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
20.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
116 reviews
5.1 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
5.0 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa

Address: Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range: £235 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing