We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great 1st stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great 1st stop!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stop #1 (of 5) of our French Polynesian honeymoon. Stayed 4 nights. Overwater Bungalow

This was a great 1st stop and overall, a very good hotel (Intercon. standards). ROOMS were very nice, beautiful deck with a sitting area to watch the sunset. Water around bungalow is shallow enough to walk on ground but you need water shoes. It's very rocky and lots of sea cucumbers roaming around (eww). Be careful of cats! They walk around the property and are very friendly. We named the one that kept coming by bungalow "Pierre". Usually they are ok but I heard stories of couples petting them and letting them in to their bungalow and then can't get rid of them after. ACTIVITIES are cheaper here than on Bora Bora or Taha'a so we did the ATV and the whale/dolphin watch + motu lunch here. Both lots of fun. Guides were wonderful. there's also a dolphin center which was really cool but expensive if you wanted to swim with them. FOOD was good but nothing special. We really enjoyed the "poisson cru", local traditional dish consisting of raw tuna, vegetables and coconut milk on rice. We found the food repetitive after a while so went off the resort for dinner twice.

It's pretty far from the airport (45 min drive) compared to the Hilton, which is pretty annoying. It's also far from the main town, where there are lots of restaurants (and cabs are not that cheap... it was around $30-40 each way to the Hilton - which is closer to the town). Closer restaurants provide shuttle service so that was nice.

Overall a good stay and a good starting point for our vacation. We followed this stop with Raiatea, Le Taha'a, Bora Bora and Tahiti (layover).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtsui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
I would like to thank you for your comment.
We are happy to see that most aspects of your stay met your expectations and we hope that you have brought home some pleasant memories of French Polynesia.
Looking forward to welcome you one day.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    719
    189
    78
    41
See reviews for
308
1,621
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was really beautiful and the service was great. We worked with Custom Tahiti to book our Tahiti trip and they sent us great gifts to the room! The breakfast buffet at the hotel was great, and the pool area was really a fun spot to hang around and grab a drink at the swim up bar. We really enjoyed our Garden Bungalow as well. It was very large and super private. We were very happy here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Monika,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your wonderful comment.
What a great compliment for us to read how you were happy with your stay at our hotel.
Thank you again for your visit.

Kind sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We went this Resort for our honeymoon, and prior to make our bookings we got the Ambassador card for USD 200, as Intercontinental stated on every of its Ads that the Ambassador card would guarantee an upgrade at every stay (check their website, it is still there). I got the card at home and it came with several printed materials stating the samething, a guaranteed upgrade at every stay. I checked online and on the material on how I should proceed to guarantee the upgrade, and in all of them it just said that I needed to present my card at the hotel on check-in. Guess what? Upon arrival no upgrade was offered and none was granted upon request. It is just absurd that the hotel simply dont ablige to the adds it makes. To my surprse, when I got to my room I saw a printed add stating:"Guaranteed upgrade at everystay, join the Ambassador today" It is intentionally misleading persons to spend USD 200 on a card on exchange of benefits that they dont deliver. I feel robbed by the hotel and will seek compensation. This is not an honest way of doing business.
On the hotel itself: The service and specially the food is well below the level you expect for the price they charge. Concierge was very late and made us lose an activity we waned to book. The structure is really great. The pros most people state here is true, I just preffer to go to another resort that I can trust.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DiegoLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment.

Like for most programs and promotions there are exceptions to the rule and reservations via travel agencies for French Polynesian properties are one of them. The upgrade is subject to availability only due to the specificity of the destination.
We do our best to provide the upgrade as we know how important that is for our guests. However on certain periods of very high occupancy we simply do not have the capacity to do so (reason for the exception).
We understand your disappointment should you not have had this information prior (all agencies have clearly been notified) and we are sorry for the frustration experienced. Should you not have made your reservation via an agency, please kindly contact us directly.

I seize this opportunity to once again stress the importance voicing frustration when in the resort as we are many working long hours to help ensure all discrepancies are clarified and problems resolved.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Back not too long ago from a 6 night stay at the Moorea ICH hotel, very large well kept property, staff really friendly,some wonderful traditional dance/buffet nights every week, no complaints; but not a great beach, my premium beachfront bungalow was a rockwall and dark brown water. .. If you are thinking of a beachfront bungalow here, {I was in 316] go to the lowest level and these are the most beautiful, with a white sand beach, palm trees, blue water.. bungalows # from 301-412 in good location with wonderful turquoise water.. My complaint to my travel agent Tahiti Legends did nothing, although they were great about putting the trip together, the details of exactly what a 'premium waterfront bungalow' and this particular problem was not known to them. From speaking to others staying in bungalows next to me they felt upset as well, no beach, no one swimming in this water anyway...Management did offer to move me 2 days before I left and I declined.. earlier perhaps I would have moved.. If you are looking for a white sand beach this is either the public beach {Tamae Beach] on the other side of the island, next to the Sofitel, which also has a beautiful beach and is well known for that. The ICH is also located in a very quiet area, not much going on except to go on day tours thru the concierge, who was very nice and explained all the tours available..... Two beautiful swimming pools to relax in... no hotel shuttles available due to island laws, however some smaller hotels on the opposite side of the island offer a shuttle several times a day in to the little town of Maparepa, where there is a large supermarket and some shops.. Moorea is a beautiful island, people so friendly, very easy to rent a car and spend a few hours seeing the entire coastline. I was able to connect with Poerani Ebb, who teaches cooking, Tahitian dance, and all traditional Tahitian instruments.. a fabulous experience as she has so much knowledge and speaks English well.. [www.tkape.fr] made my visit so special and cant wait to go back again! Wonderful trip.

Room Tip: if lookiing for a beach front bungalow select from the area down towards the first bridge that goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank birdi087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Whilst we respect your personal preference for our standard beach bungalows over the premium units, I would like emphasise that one cannot make generalisations as our guests are each different. Someone looking for ultimate privacy will fall in love with the cocooning of a garden pool bungalows. Alternatively the premium beach and overwater units will fulfil guests wanting to spend hours looking out to the open, unobstructed ocean.

Similarly, the Tamae Beach is indeed beautiful but it is also subject to local crowds on weekends and holidays which is far from offering the private and secure atmosphere found within our resort. Once again, it depends on what one is seeking and this diversity is what makes Moorea such a special island.

Unfortunately I will have to disagree regarding the location of our property. Continuously we have guests of other resorts coming to the InterContinental to take part in activities available only here (Moorea Dolphin Center, Aquablue, Polynesian Spirit, Motu picnics, ect) and the shops and restaurants nearby offer an easy way to penetrate the lifestyle of the residents of Tiahura.
Whilst the law in Moorea does indeed forbid resorts from operating their own transfers in order to preserve the local economie, the Petit Village de Tiahura is accessible by foot or bicycle and maybe the shuttles you have seen were ones of nearby restaurants which, on the contrary, are allowed to transfer they clients.

Finally, we are happy to read that you enjoyed your Polynesian experience and that you plan or returning to our small piece of paradise. It is indeed a very authentic island which offers a wholesome representation of the local culture and tradition and it is of no surprise that its population, like Poerani, are so proud to share its secrets.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First night we arrived there were two roaches in the closet. We called house keeping and a lady came with a spray and killed the two. The spray left a horrid smell but it got the job done. The next two nights of our stay were fine but the fourth we noticed while sitting outside, the dry grass that made our roof from the outside of our water bungalow was infested with these insects, which we believed were also roaches. The next night, also our last, was the worst. We found a roach on the bed. A man came to clean it up sprayed the horrible-smelling spray and left without a word. After that, we found four more roaches. One in the bedroom, few in the main room, and two behind the curtains. This wasn't the best experience... However, the food was fine, the view was amazing, and the activities were great. The experience would have been so much better without the roaches.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sehothetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

As explained bellow, Pandanus Scarabes, like geckos, mosquitoes and other insects are part of the wildlife in French Polynesia and are not associated with any negative connotations that may be applicable in other countries.

Rest assured that, for the comfort of our guests, we do our best to ensure their numbers are reduced as much as possible and we are sorry that this nonetheless had a negative impact on your stay.

We thank you once again for your visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and i just got back from our honeymoon. We really liked the hotel and the staff was really friendly our first day was wednesday and they had a bbq buffet night with polynesian dancers. The food was good and it was a good show, it was a bit pricey though. We ate at the Fare Nui once and that was a mistake, the food did not taste good and my husband had pieces of hard plastic in his plate. There other restaurant is cheaper but still overpriced but the food there was not good either, stay away from the hotel food if you can. The only decent thing to eat was the burgers and calzones. Besides the food my only other complain would be that on the weekend they seemed to be understaffed. We went to happy hour and sat there so long waiting to be served that we missed happy hour. We felt sort of ignored as it seemed they were more attentive to bigger groups and they forgot our order a few times.
We did decide to stay at the intercontinental for reasons other than the food. We had a partial over water bungalow next to the sea turtle clinic. We had an amazing view, we snorkeled and kayaked. We had a great time. The pool was never cold it was a good temperature and both pools are a good size. We got to see the turtles, dolphins and right off our deck we saw colorful fish, rays and a few sharks. If the food were better this place would get 5 stars.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Beatriz,
Ia Orana from Moorea!
Thank you for your visit and for your comment.
I am sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations particularly the wait at the bar for happy hour at high occupancy at this time and rest assured that these points will be addressed to further improve our service and facilities.
I must admit that I am surprised as overall feedback regarding the food is very positive, both in presentation, choice and quality. Like many things we all have varying tastes.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Iaorana! My partner and I travelled to Tahiti for a much needed holiday. The first night we stayed on the main Island (Papaete). The following day we caught the ferry to Moorea. as we were arriving the setting of the Island was just magical or as my partner described it (a setting from Jurassic Park lol). The shuttle ride was hot and humid although once we arrived at the Intercontinental we were ushered through the lobby to an area that was cool, under fans and over looed the terrace, pool and the ocean. The staff then brought us a refreshing orange juice and cold scented hand towels! Great start really! After the easy check in process the staff helped us to our room with our bags.. We thought this resort was absolutely beautiful! We had stunning views, the food was great, breakfast, lunch and dinners! Snorkelling around the resort was magical with all of the tropical fish. Seeing the dolphins and turtles at an arms reach was also great. The staff were always friendly and did everything they could if you needed help. We did a number of excursions and even hired scooters to tour the Island (recommend) I also recommend (FranckyFrancks Island Tour) he was a character and was very informative.
I hope to return to Moorea and stay at this lovely resort again!
Mauruuru

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B, General Manager at InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Timi,
Ia Orana from everyone at Moorea!
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our "small piece of Paradise" and we are delighted to hear you have brought home with you such special memories.
I have posted your message in all our departments and as you can imagine it has brought warmth to all employees.
Mauruuru roa
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day.
We'll all be here waiting!
Warm sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papetoai
6.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
20.1 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
108 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Address: Papetoai 98729, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Papetoai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Papetoai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa is nestled between mountains and a lagoon on a stunning French Polynesian island. Right on the resort grounds is Moorea's widest range of activities, which includes the Moorea Dolphin Center, Bathys Diving Club, tennis, kayaking, canoeing, skiing and Jeep tours. The Arahurahu Marae temple is also worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort & Spa Moorea Hotel Moorea
Intercontinental Resort And Spa Moorea
Intercontinental Hotel Moorea
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing