We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent information on fabulous walks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chris B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent information on fabulous walks”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We (and our dog Wilfi) had a very enjoyable stay at Cortijo Opazo with beautiful and varied walks. Robert and William were the perfect hosts, always available to advise when needed. Their walking maps and guides are the best I have seen and were invaluable. The house and garden are beautifully kept with everything you might need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that our in house walking guides helped you to get the most out of the area. It was a pleasure to meet you and our dogs enjoyed meeting Wilfi too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funnyface...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous walking in the real Spain”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a truly a wonderful place to stay for a walking holiday in Spain, we have returned for the 5th time in 9 years and it just gets better, even if the same walks have got steeper! we have always found the accommodation and the host's first class. we highly recommend this place for the beautiful scenery and very friendly local villages. William cooked for us on the last evening, food was excellent, we wish we had used this service earlier in the week as it was very good value for money.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Thank you for your positive comments, we were happy to cook for you and are pleased that this added to the enjoyment of your walking holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aelfred
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, beautiful gardens, stunning views...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second visit after a five year gap. Once again we we appreciated the quality of Cortijo Opazo and it's charming gardens. As has been pointed out the gardens are not manicured but sensitively managed; they are full of romance and a gorgeous variety of plants in secluded corners. It was lovely to find a place to sit in sun or shade or on our own terrace.

Robert and William manage to provide a service that is both professional and friendly, being available when needed and disappearing when not. Their advice about walking and eating out was invaluable, and helped us to make the most of this beautiful area.

Having read a previous comment, I should say that I am not generally a fan of dogsbut I was reassured by the notes on the website and in the house information which makes it clear that dogs are on the property and that they will be properly controlled. In fact, Ella and Oskar are such cute and intelligent creatures that I was delighted when they greeted us and on occasion accompanied us on a stroll round the garden.

We hope to stay at Cortijo Opazo again, just to experience again the warm welcome and tranquil surroundings.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed wandering through our garden and that our dogs added to the pleasure of your stay here. Thanks for taking time to leave your opinion, it is much appreciated. See you again, we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
womble56
Ventnor
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A charming Andalucian hideaway set in an English garden!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent eight delightful days at Cortijo Opazo in May with two friends and had a great time. I felt I had to add my review after reading the latest comments from a recent American guest.

Firstly, anyone who stays at a guest house in Spain and has a problem not putting paper down the toilet has never travelled in Southern Europe. We disposed of our rubbish every day on our way to buy delicious fresh bread from the local bakery.

Secondly regarding the dogs, I did not feel that I had been issued with a set of instructions. I am not a great animal lover but the dogs were no problem at all. In fact we had become great fans of Oskar by the time we departed.

The house is situated in a lovely position with stunning views in all directions. The overhead cable is how power gets supplied in this area of Spain and does not detract from the overall experience in any way.

The garden is a delightful area in which to sit, explore or eat. It provides all the elements of a traditional English garden in the midst of rural Spain and it is just really quirky - in a nice way!

Lastly, anyone staying in the villa must take advantage of the boys cooking. We had a great three course meal served to us sitting in the garden and it provided the perfect finale to a great holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Thanks very much for your supportive comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are happy to learn that Oska has made a convert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone S
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but wish I had known this:”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is a pleasant place, but there are a few things that cannot be known from the website. They may or may not affect your decision to stay here, depending on what you care about.

The rooms are spotless and comfortably outfitted, and the terraces for private use are very pretty. They are not completely private either visually or for sound.

There is a large electrical pylon rising just above the entrance to the property, and power lines bisect the property from above.

The gardens and garden furniture were not in the state of maintenance and comfort that is shown on the website, and implied in the gardens' own, affiliated website http://www.jardinalpujarra.com/. They badly needed weeding and trimming, and overall gave me an impression of decline, rather than development.

The House Book firmly instructs the guests to assume responsibility for the behavior of the owner's two dogs, by employing certain behaviors if the dogs show up unsupervised.

All used toilet paper that would normally be flushed down a toilet must be placed in the plastic bags provided and taken by the guests to a garbage dumpster up the hill on the main local road. This is recommended to be done once a day.

They have a good selection of books.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your opinions of Cortijo Opazo, it is always useful to have frank feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you found the accommodation "spotless" and "comfortable" and that your overall opinion was that we have created a pleasant place to spend a holiday. However you clearly have some reservations so we would like to address them. During the four days you stayed here we spent a long time chatting with you on numerous occasions, what a pity you were unable to share with us your thoughts about Cortijo Opazo, we would certainly have done whatever we could to address them at the time.

Brief comments can require lengthier explanations. On the website our aim is to make it clear that the two apartments are on either side of a shared house so when we describe the patios as private we do not intend to suggest isolated, merely that the ample seating area just outside the respective accommodation is exclusively for the enjoyment of those guests.

We have collected a lot of garden furniture and created numerous seating areas in different parts of the garden but none of the items is more than 6 years old - the sun loungers for your accommodation were purchased last year. The Spanish sun does have a very rapid ageing effect on teak wood, but in response to your comments we will carry out a maintenance check.

As for the garden itself, if we had created a small area to tend then we could make it neat and clipped, but we are developing a large site for our guests to enjoy (7000 square metres) and the idea of a highly manicured space is not part of our concept. Our approach to gardening is a soft edged one, we believe our role is to organise nature to create an overall pleasing effect, but not to be overly obsessed as to whether a plant is considered a flower or a weed, it all complements nature's tapestry. Our guests who return every year have left comments about their amazement at how the garden is growing and developing with each visit. Your impression of decline is indeed surprising to read since you were so very complementary about our garden and the work we have done whilst you were with us.

Yes, there is a pylon, bringing electricity to our door. Even though we are located in an area of outstanding natural beauty and on the edge of the Sierra Nevada National Park, it is not the practice in Spain to put cables underground in rural areas.

It is true that our dogs are not tied up and enjoy freedom to roam around the property. They are usually a welcome treat for guests at Cortijo Opazo and on our website it makes it very clear that these companions are an important part of our business - our clever dachshund even writes the blog! But we do ask guests to let us know if they are annoying in any way. The request we make in the house book is that guests do not throw sticks, do not encourage them to enter the accommodation and to let us know if the dogs want to accompany them on a walk. Otherwise we take full responsibility for their behaviour and control and will take action, including restricting them to indoors, if we know they are a nuisance. You made no mention of this whilst you were with us, in fact we thought you rather liked Ella visiting you each morning. But we should remind ourselves that not everyone shares our love of dogs.

As for rubbish collection in Spain, there is no door to door service, hence the journey of 200 metres to the nearest collection point. Were we to live in a village or town the principle would be the same, although the distance less. Maybe a hotel would not expect you to deal with your own rubbish in this way but the accommodation at Cortijo Opazo is self catering. Our request that guests dispose of toilet paper in this fashion is part of our responsible travel policy and our wish to encourage low impact tourism by not overloading the sewage treatment arrangements. It is, in fact, a very common request in countries around the Mediterranean in order to lessen pollution of water courses but can come as a surprise to those not used to the idea. Many smart hotels in Spanish cities also make this request, but it is just a request.

We will take note of your comments and review the arrangements at Cortijo Opazo, but we are pleased that overall you had a good time and that the advice and information we gave to you, both before your arrival and during your stay, and the walking routes we provided (I remember how you complemented us on these useful guides) meant that you got the most out of this fascinating region of Spain, the Alpujarras.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah i
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We are already planning our return visit..........”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful holiday, accommodation, walking, food (William and Robert cooked us a meal on the last evening which we ate in the garden), scenery, views, dogs.............
We loved the area and will return.
We can recommend the walk to the Refugio Poqueira - we drove to Hoya da Portillo (about 8 or 10 miles from Capilleira on dirt tracks with wonderful views all round). The walk to the Refugio took us 2.5 hours. We had to pass several patches of snow and managed to take photos of the Ibex who roam the area. Mulhacen was covered in snow but it was warm enough to walk in t-shirts. Meals and refreshments are available in the Refugio.
Other excellent walks included 'Dog's Bottom', the walk around the local villages, a walk back from Bubion to Pitres and 'Busquitar and Beyond'.
Thank you to William and Robert for telling us about the local area and for showing us the yurt, the garden and the chickens. The eggs and strawberry jam were delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the holiday
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Thank you, we are pleased that the information available here helped you get the most out of this special area. Walking over snow in t-shirts, marvellous! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet S
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in April/May, 2 couples for a walking week. We had La Corona and our friends were in El Lujar. Robert and William work very hard to ensure that everything is to a very high standard and it certainly was. The gardens, location and views are fantastic - really beautiful. We had a cooked evening meal one night - great meal. We used a walking pack that the owners have out together, very helpful with lots of books, maos and walk direction. We are planning our next trip back there. This is our 3rd visit to the Alpujarras and it gets better every time.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we are pleased that you liked Cortijo Opazo. Look forward to seeing you again when we hope to have a few more routes for you to follow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;