We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Luxborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good rooms and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a great night at the Royal Oak Inn in Exmoor national park. We stayed in room 1 which had two single beds and a big window looking towards a small street. The rooms are above the town pub so their were a lot of people there that night. The walls were a bit thin so it was very easy to hear everything from the pub downstairs but that wasn't a big problem. The rooms were fresh and clean and were nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Room one with two single beds has a big and lovely window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    30
    16
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
91
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is a wonderful old fashioned country pub that does fantastic food of a very high quality, the rooms are probably in need of a little refurbishment, but hopefully thay will still accept our two dogs. We have visited 3 times now and we have always been looked after extremely well, with avery young child, now a toddler and various dogs, nothing is too much trouble and a welcome pint of exmor gold or stag at 4. 30 in the afternoon before the crazy children time commences is always welcome. Our labrador and cocker love this pub and yes they particularly like their sausages, we have had good chats with the owner who is always welcoming and a delight to pass the time of day with highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MendipCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We only stayed for one night but the accommodation was great and location was set within a picturesque country side village. Would definitely stay there again. The pub attached is a great accompaniment. We loved the log fire and finding out about the history of buildings. The food was very good also.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Double Ensuite master room. Unfortunately the staff were unable to locate an iron f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

1st visit Feb 12, 2nd visit stayed at the pub Mar 12, excellent stay, lovely clean room, great breakfast (includes a sausage for your dog), 3rd visit Nov 12 - going back to Porlock next Easter and will definitely be going again for a meal - the food is fab, staff very friendly and a great atmosphere - I love this pub, don't hesitate to visit :)

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShiphamSynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Likes: fabulous meal (great fish and meat dishes - the Game casserole was a hit with the boys, friendly fun service, great decor (cosy, log fires), great food, great menu, great prices, great location (although an adventure to find).
Dislikes: Nothing at all.

Room Tip: Didnt sleep here - just went for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

A bit difficult to find but well worth it. We arrived just after lunch, the key to the room left out for us to find. Good, clean, comfortable and peaceful room. As we had a dog with us we thought we would have been accommodated in an annexe or a basic room but this was not the case.

The meal the first evening was very good, sat in one of the main dining rooms, however, the second night, as we wanted the dog to stay with us we ate in the back bar area. Not as pleasant a surround as the dining room but fully understandable. Must admit rather surprised that our dog was allowed to stay in with us.

Couldn't fault the breakfasts, Woody, the dog also had his own sausage given to him.

Would definately go back.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which had a nice bay front window and overlooked the brook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

If you are looking for Internet, loud music cinema etc don't go here you will hate it, however if you are looking for amazing accommodation, top class food, the very best of service along with a welcome smile from all the staff this is a must to visit. We had two nights this was great but would of liked more.

All the rooms have names and teddy bears, we had room 4, the Teddies here are twins! Great fun lovely touch. The room was large, massive bed and very comfortable. Bathroom lovely, we were cycling by day so a nice bath was very welcome, radox provided anther nice touch!

The whole Inn is lovely, quirky warm and welcoming all you could want and more.

The food and menu is first class. We would of liked to stay to eat our way through the menu however portions are large so be prepared. Breakfast first class the choice amazing.

Location stunning. If you like walking, sight seeing cycling ect do give it a try you really won't be disappointed.

James and Sian well done the Inn and the staff are a credit to you, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask James will be very honest and do his best to assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luxborough
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Notley Arms Inn
The Notley Arms Inn
#1 of 2 in Monksilver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: nr. Dunster, Luxborough, Exmoor National Park TA23OSH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Luxborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luxborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the lovely village of luxborough. The Royal Oak is surrounded by some of the most Beautiful countryside in the British Isles.With recently refurbished accommodation this Inn has sat in this picturesque landscape since the 14th century. Inside, this building boosts original flagstone and cobble stone flooring coupled with stone walls and open beams which give the building an unrivalled character. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Luxborough
The Royal Oak Inn Luxborough, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing