We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit - Lovely Scenary, Facilities and... then there's the Wine!”
Review of Cloudy Bay

Cloudy Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$165.20*
and up
Half-Day Wairau Lagoon Tour from Blenheim
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rapaura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This winery's sauvignon blanc brought international attention to New Zealand's wine region.
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Cloudy Bay vinery is set in beautiful countryside with state of the art facilities. We enjoyed a private wine tasting in the handsome main room, and a tour of the state of the art wine making facilities, plus a stroll on the grounds. Perfect venue for a well spent afternoon. Beautiful showroom and a nice outside cafe. The wines were, of course, amazing - and if you are visiting from the US - you should definitely check out the non-export (due to limited quantity) offerings. Wines well priced and nice gift selections too.

1  Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Cloudy Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 178 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Felt like a corporation looking to maximize their profits. Charged the most of any place we visited for the wine tasting and not as friendly. That said, their Sauvignon Blanc is terrific and, if it is a sunny day, they have a nice yard with tree swings to relax in. Would skip the winery visit and just buy it in the wine shop. The experience will be more rewarding.

Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ_CloudyBay, Manager at Cloudy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We are very disappointed to hear your impressions of a "corporate feel" at our cellar door. We strive to offer a personal and comprehensive tasting experience to all our guests. Our tasting fees solely cover costs with the $5 tasting being in line with other wineries from the region. Our premium $10 and $15 tasting options include back vintage and cellar door exclusive wines which naturally incur a higher surcharge.

Your important feedback has been shared with our team and we will make every effort moving forward to ensure our personalities shine brighter than our big brother connections. Thank you for taking the time to write us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My 21 year old Daughter was visiting me from Canada and as we love Cloudy Bay wine we were very excited to be visiting. We approached the tasting counter and straight away my daughter was asked for ID, she produced her Canadian drivers license. It was not enough and was asked for her passport. I was under the impression that if she is with her Mother, it does not matter what age she is unless she is buying wine. I contacted the winery and was sent an apology that did not seem like an apology at all. They went on about the liquor laws and hoped we would visit again. That will never happen, Very overrated and their PR department needs to learn how to answer complains in a way that makes everyone feel better about the situation not worse. Sonya

5  Thank SKStewart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ_CloudyBay, Manager at Cloudy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you and your daughter felt rejected by our winery. Unfortunately, the legal reasons are the valid and only reason that we could not serve your daughter alcohol. In New Zealand, ID is required for all guests appearing under 25 and it has to be a NZ photo ID or passport. I'm afraid that we have a blemish on our record from serving a minor last year and if we are caught again we would lose our liquor license. This is risk we are not willing to take. Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience, I hope you can understand our position.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I spent an enjoyable afternoon relaxing in the garden of the Cloudy Bay Winery, gradually working our way through some nibbles and a variety of delicious wines. We can't compare Cloudy Bay with any other winery, since we only visited the one, but the combination of sun, scenery, wine and knowledgeable service made for a great visit.

1  Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ_CloudyBay, Manager at Cloudy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our newly expanded outdoor wine lounge. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to a lot of cellar doors, and this was one of the worst. Nothing wrong with it exactly, but very perfunctory. We had to pay, which we didn't at most we went to. The lady gave a rehearsed talk, poured the wine and that was about it. It was very clinical, not friendly, and we didn't stay long. We Brits love Cloudy Bay at home, but it wasn't worth a trip to the cellar door - my advice is try somewhere else.

2  Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloudy Bay also viewed

 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Cloudy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing