We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignored by counter staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloudy Bay

Cloudy Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$157.88*
and up
Half-Day Wairau Lagoon Tour from Blenheim
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rapaura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This winery's sauvignon blanc brought international attention to New Zealand's wine region.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ignored by counter staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I came here to do a wine tasting. We were in Blenheim for two days buying wine and enjoying travelling around vineyards.

We noticed there was a tour bus, but thankfully they were loading up to leave as we arrived. We waited at the counter to be served, noticed the charge for $10 to taste five wines or $5 to taste 2 wines, which is fine. I don't mind paying for tastings, as it is the wineries products being used, and some are expensive wines.

So we waited. Other people on both sides of us were served. We waited a bit more. Both a man and a woman behind the counter ignored us standing right at the front of the counter while they continued to chat to each other, and pack wine into a box. We still waited. The woman looked at us waiting and still ignored us. They served the people on each side of us still ignoring us.

It's ok. We went over the road to Alan Scott winery and bought a case of wine and had a lovely lunch too. Your loss of our custom, future custom, and bad review on trip advisor. We wouldn't have minded "we'll be with you in a minute" but they weren't busy, just rude.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    72
    24
    23
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit - Lovely Scenary, Facilities and... then there's the Wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Cloudy Bay vinery is set in beautiful countryside with state of the art facilities. We enjoyed a private wine tasting in the handsome main room, and a tour of the state of the art wine making facilities, plus a stroll on the grounds. Perfect venue for a well spent afternoon. Beautiful showroom and a nice outside cafe. The wines were, of course, amazing - and if you are visiting from the US - you should definitely check out the non-export (due to limited quantity) offerings. Wines well priced and nice gift selections too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“this winery has lost its soul”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Felt like a corporation looking to maximize their profits. Charged the most of any place we visited for the wine tasting and not as friendly. That said, their Sauvignon Blanc is terrific and, if it is a sunny day, they have a nice yard with tree swings to relax in. Would skip the winery visit and just buy it in the wine shop. The experience will be more rewarding.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ_CloudyBay, Manager at Cloudy Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are very disappointed to hear your impressions of a "corporate feel" at our cellar door. We strive to offer a personal and comprehensive tasting experience to all our guests. Our tasting fees solely cover costs with the $5 tasting being in line with other wineries from the region. Our premium $10 and $15 tasting options include back vintage and cellar door exclusive wines which naturally incur a higher surcharge.

Your important feedback has been shared with our team and we will make every effort moving forward to ensure our personalities shine brighter than our big brother connections. Thank you for taking the time to write us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rejected From Winery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My 21 year old Daughter was visiting me from Canada and as we love Cloudy Bay wine we were very excited to be visiting. We approached the tasting counter and straight away my daughter was asked for ID, she produced her Canadian drivers license. It was not enough and was asked for her passport. I was under the impression that if she is with her Mother, it does not matter what age she is unless she is buying wine. I contacted the winery and was sent an apology that did not seem like an apology at all. They went on about the liquor laws and hoped we would visit again. That will never happen, Very overrated and their PR department needs to learn how to answer complains in a way that makes everyone feel better about the situation not worse. Sonya

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SKStewart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ_CloudyBay, Manager at Cloudy Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you and your daughter felt rejected by our winery. Unfortunately, the legal reasons are the valid and only reason that we could not serve your daughter alcohol. In New Zealand, ID is required for all guests appearing under 25 and it has to be a NZ photo ID or passport. I'm afraid that we have a blemish on our record from serving a minor last year and if we are caught again we would lose our liquor license. This is risk we are not willing to take. Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience, I hope you can understand our position.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A thoroughly pleasant afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I spent an enjoyable afternoon relaxing in the garden of the Cloudy Bay Winery, gradually working our way through some nibbles and a variety of delicious wines. We can't compare Cloudy Bay with any other winery, since we only visited the one, but the combination of sun, scenery, wine and knowledgeable service made for a great visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ_CloudyBay, Manager at Cloudy Bay, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our newly expanded outdoor wine lounge. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloudy Bay also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Cloudy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing