We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only vineyard we had to pay for tasting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cloudy Bay

Cloudy Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$154.58*
and up
Half-Day Wairau Lagoon Tour from Blenheim
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rapaura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This winery's sauvignon blanc brought international attention to New Zealand's wine region.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Only vineyard we had to pay for tasting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nice setting and rather distant team who work behind the counter. Having visited several cellar doors earlier in the day where there was no charge. to come to one of the largest and find you had to pay $10 for 5 wines was VERY diappointing - surely they can afford to do tastings for free - I will never drink CB again - very sad.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    74
    24
    24
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Heaven :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We took the most expensive tasting package, and it is worth it. You can truly enjoy every sip of them.

Was is exceptionally good about this place is that you can take the tasters, listen to the story, but still sit outside with your wine and chat with your friends and even enjoy the food with the tasters if you wish. So no need to stand in a cold cellar with a touristic presentation.

The food doesn't sound extraordinary on the menu, but we had a ham sandwich and a cheese platter and both were amazing! They were somehow very simple but every bite was enjoyable.

Would I recommend?
Yes, yes and yes!!! Will I return? Yes!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Espoo_FinlandMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We did a wine tasting at cloudy bay & loved the experience. The scenery was gorgeous & we could've spent all afternoon outside. The staff was very helpful & the wine was delicious. We ate some snacks & enjoyed the views. The ambiance & wine at cloudy bay is amazing & I would definitely recommend it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blaundon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ignored by counter staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I came here to do a wine tasting. We were in Blenheim for two days buying wine and enjoying travelling around vineyards.

We noticed there was a tour bus, but thankfully they were loading up to leave as we arrived. We waited at the counter to be served, noticed the charge for $10 to taste five wines or $5 to taste 2 wines, which is fine. I don't mind paying for tastings, as it is the wineries products being used, and some are expensive wines.

So we waited. Other people on both sides of us were served. We waited a bit more. Both a man and a woman behind the counter ignored us standing right at the front of the counter while they continued to chat to each other, and pack wine into a box. We still waited. The woman looked at us waiting and still ignored us. They served the people on each side of us still ignoring us.

It's ok. We went over the road to Alan Scott winery and bought a case of wine and had a lovely lunch too. Your loss of our custom, future custom, and bad review on trip advisor. We wouldn't have minded "we'll be with you in a minute" but they weren't busy, just rude.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit - Lovely Scenary, Facilities and... then there's the Wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Cloudy Bay vinery is set in beautiful countryside with state of the art facilities. We enjoyed a private wine tasting in the handsome main room, and a tour of the state of the art wine making facilities, plus a stroll on the grounds. Perfect venue for a well spent afternoon. Beautiful showroom and a nice outside cafe. The wines were, of course, amazing - and if you are visiting from the US - you should definitely check out the non-export (due to limited quantity) offerings. Wines well priced and nice gift selections too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloudy Bay also viewed

 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Cloudy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing