We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Holiday Weekend 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashmount Hotel

The Ashmount Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ashmount Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Rhos-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bank Holiday Weekend 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at the Ashmount from 24th - 26th August 2013. We required ground floor rooms, because my mother uses a wheelchair. We had two very good rooms next to each other. The twin room had external access for a wheelchair, if necessary. Our stay was wonderful, the hosts Judith & Peter were most hospitable and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, it was cooked fresh from your order. Cannot recommend this hotel more highly. We hope to visit again in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 1st floor or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmosley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very warm welcome from host and hostess on arrival!!
Very nice and friendly atmosphere and cosy!
Our room was big enough for just one night though probably for a week would have been a little restrictive. Bathroom on the small size but these very small negative comments are outweighed by all that is nice about the place.
Super fresh cooked full breakfast (by the host).
All round an excellent value stay.
Short walk to the pub where we had a lovely meal.
Hotel is 2 minutes from the promenade.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taurean_traveller122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed at the Ashmount from 22nd July - 25th it was a very enjoyable The only fault was the sea gulls kept me awake.
The rooms where spotless, comfortable beds, breakfast was excellent too much for me
I would stay there again

Thankyou for your hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just come back from a 3 day stay here and i have to say it was a lovely stay. This hotel was a little quiet for me (26 years old) but perfect for my Mum and Nan. The two hotel owners Peter and Judith did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and nothing was too much of a issue. The one thing i would say is if they could have a outside seating area (if they have apologies i didn't see much of the hotel) that would be perfect. It is set back from the center of Rhos on Sea and is about a 5 to 7 minute walk into the town and a 10 minute drive into Llandudno.

Breakfast was amazing - nothing was a issue and food was very good.

The rooms were tidy and clean and very comfortable. The showers could use a little updating but that shouldn't stop you coming here.

All in all a very good place to stay and one i would certainly recommend again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
768 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were very well treated by Peter and Judith. went out of their way to welcome us and give us insight into nearby areas and attractions.
They have a wonderful lounge area and the highlight was the VHS player and few classic VHS tapes to while away your time.
Only small issue, hence the 4 stars was that the hotel is in need of some renovation - especially rooms need thicker curtains (couldn't sleep past 5:00 am due to bright sun shine) and perhaps double glazed windows, because if the sunshine don't get you, the mating seagulls will :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here on a visit to the area. We were on holiday from Texas, U.S.A.
The hotel is very well run and such friendly staff.Nice Clean rooms.

This hotel is only bed and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice.and plenty of it.

I would recommend this Hotel, you wont be disappointed.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Pleasant one night stay at the Ashmount.Only a 10 min walk from the centre of Rhos along the promenade in a lovely residentail part of town.Judith full of good advice and the folder with restuarant details really useful, also if you want they will let you bring a takeaway back.Plenty of choice at breakfast and a place we would return too.Rhos although smaller than Llandudno has sooo much more to ofeer by way of quirky shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blossom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhos-on-Sea
1.1 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Whitehall Guest House
Whitehall Guest House
#3 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plas Rhos House
Plas Rhos House
#1 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northwood
The Northwood
#4 of 7 in Rhos-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashmount Hotel

Property: The Ashmount Hotel
Address: 18 College Avenue, Rhos-on-Sea LL28 4NT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Rhos-on-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rhos-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome to North Wales is offered to all our guests at the Ashmount by the resident hosts and proprietors Peter & Judith Underhill. Our personal attention is ensured at all times so that your stay at the Ashmount is comfortable and pleasant leaving you with many happy memories of your time spent with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Ashmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashmount Hotel Rhos-On-Sea, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing