We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitehall Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Colwyn Bay(Colwyn Bay)(Great Value!)
US$72
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$135
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bay County Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cae Mor Hotel(Llandudno)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hydro Hotel(Llandudno)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
59
19
9
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
19
9
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewguest houseon arrivalcolwyn baylovely vieweach morningfantastic staylots of choicefull welsh breakfasthundred yardswell run hotelrooms are comfortablebit datedcouldn't do enoughbus stopsea frontstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

stayed sat 24th may. lovely hotel very friendly but was surprised they had no evening meals on and you wasn't allowed to have take away in your room . was told about carvery near by but they stopped serving at 6pm so had to go even further looking for something to eat. might want to think about offering sandwiches or light snacks especially when weather is bad would definitely go back though

Room Tip: if arriving after4pm check if meals are available as not many places in walking distance so would be wise find some place to eat before you arrive
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review - we wish more persons would take the time to let us know what is required to meet their needs.
We can provide meals any day that we receive the order before 9.30 am. Menus change daily and the chef needs the time to ensure that fresh produce is used. We have tried offering meals with a later order time 0- but this simply does not work out well in our situation.
We rent bedrooms and do not permit takeaways in the bedrooms. Perhaps the next occupants would find the smell of a curry disturbing. We DO allow guests to eat their takeaway in our dining room if we are asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This family run hotel is one of the best, yes a little tired,but don't let that put you off,a lovely quite sea side hotel with views to die for and lovely food from mine hosts Tony and Maria.


Book in and and enjoy the delights of North Wales.

Room Tip: All good and they have sea views too. We were in No 4 this time but have tried most.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here in September and have lost count of the times we have visited this hotel. Always a warm welcome. Breakfast is special and evening meal just to our liking. Everything freshly cooked and locally bought. Tony and Maria are only too happy to deal with any special requests. Did enjoy our after dinner chats with them.
We particularly like to stay in a front bedroom. The view is spectacular, always clean and tidy and well supplied with toiletries.

Well situated for days out either by car or bus.

And.................on top of all that their Tariff is very reasonable.

Long may they continue

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and 3 are on the front of the hotel overlooking the sea, Our favourite is room 2. Maybe next time we will try room 3!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constance m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for the kind review.

We must admit that we find it very easy to please you as you have been so many times that we know your preferences..
As you talk so openly, it has always been easier to serve you because you let us know your likes and dislikes.

It is very kind of you to chat with me as some of MY STORIES MAY BE TRUE!
Maria thinks it may also be an excuse not to participate in the washing up!!

Looking forward to next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

First stayed at the Whitehall in 2001, in 2002 met my husband to be at the hotel although I did not know it at the time ! The World Cup was on and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere.
We have returned many times and our latest stay was on Thursday 22nd August 2013.
Tony and Maria are still as committed as ever, serving excellent freshly cooked meals with a smile.
Tony still has a tale to tell along with excellent knowledge of the area. He can also forecast the weather.
If you want to relax, share a few stories,enjoy excellent food with no washing up then I would recommend a stay at the Whitehall, Rhos on Sea.
The location is excellent with lovely walks or even a bus trip if you want to leave the car.
If there is anything you need to know about your room, food or general things then Tony & Maria will always help.
Look forward to our next stay at this lovely 4 star hotel with beautiful sea views

Room Tip: Request a lower floor room if you don!t like stairs, there is a stairlift available however. Sea view rooms are nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evertonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Great to see you again - and to know that you are closer than before.
You reminded us how long we have been here and it really is great to see people coming back - and with children now grown up. We can remember them 'matchmaking' furiously without either of you being aware!
Thank you for your kind words.
Maria and I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

4 of us stayed for 2 nights in 2 twin rooms. Cost us £60 each which included a full welsh breakfast made to order (well thats what we had, they did have a menu). Our only complaint would be the showers in our rooms, as theres no water pressure. The owners tony and maria were wonderful people, very helpful along with the rest of the staff. If we go on another fishing trip to colwyn bay, i would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyMD, Owner at Whitehall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We know that you caught fish - but we did not get a chance to taste them! Perhaps next time.
We are sorry that you did not mention the shower problem when we were chatting with you. It could have been sorted very swiftly as it was a problem with the settings, the pressure was fine.
We have two areas that demand our attention. The most frequent is our television settings and the second is our shower settings.
Guests can adjust both of these to suit their individual taste, but frequently we are asked to re-adjust the settings for new guests. This is not a problem - we just need to know! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews