We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Birthday Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tea on the Green

Tea on the Green
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Westward Ho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Winners of the Best Cafe 2012/13 from the North Devon Food Awards. Our Cream Tea has been hailed as one of the best in Devon. The Tea Room has a lovely retro style with posters, images and music from the fifties and a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect Birthday Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Came here for my birthday lunch with my family and enjoyed every second :) Had already booked a table which was, as expected, ready on time for when we arrived. All the food, in it's more than generous portion sizes; was delicious, all of us having sandwhiches/paninis, a few drinks each and desserts. Service was lovely as usual with the waitstaff attentive without being annoying. The place is very stylish with a fab atmosphere, definitely do not regret booking for my birthday and will continue to visit and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katyw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    68
    13
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Devonshire Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

You can't visit Devon without experiencing a cream tea and this cream tea was amazing! Really delicious and super size scone with a large pot of clotted cream and strawberry jam. Plenty of tea in the pot for a refill too!
Recommended by locals too who regularly come back so has to be good!
My husband and I had tea on his birthday here while the younger members of the family opted to stay on the beach over the road for a bit longer- beautiful beach too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Generous portions of lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overlooking the recently refurbished Westward Ho! sea front Tea on The Green is a lovely place for a lunchtime snack or refreshing drink. The decor is quirky with a nostalgic nod to the film greats of the 1930s and 40's but the food is definitely not past it's sell by date. We opted for A sandwich and there was a mouthwatering of range of fillings to choose from and were served on chunky fresh white or granary bread with accompanying crisps and salad. I challenge the heartiest appetite not to feel fulfilled. Lovely Devon cream teas are also on offer ..warning then scones are huge! Tea on the Green is very busy at peak holidays times but it is well worth waiting for a table in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariesgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday tea and cake ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We love the tea on the green we live locally, but it's our favourite place to go because it's got sea views and the quality of the food and drinks is top notch! It has a lovely atmosphere and they serve proper tea cups and saucers and matching tea pots for your tea which adds to the experience. This place is a must if you visit Wearward Ho!

Helpful?
Thank Adellebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Really excellent! The homemade chocolate banoffee pie is a winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I visited for the first time in July 2014. I'm pleased to say the other positive views here are fully justified as this place is marvellous on so many levels.

The interior of the tea rooms is magnificent. Full of tasteful 50s/60s memorabilia which gives a place a lovely charm and is superbly located within Westward Ho! being next to the sea front.

Despite being a busy Saturday afternoon in the summer I was served straight away and there were free tables outside with sea views.

I ordered a slice of the homemade chocolate banoffee pie and a coffee which thanks to the excellent customer service was brought to my table within 2-3 minutes of ordering.

The pie was homemade and I have to say it was simply incredible and the portion size immense! You could tell the coffee was freshly ground and not a watered down instant variety which was most pleasing.

In total the price was £5.30 which considering the size of the portion of pie, the excellent coffee, the lovely views and brilliant customer service I would say it was great value.

I highly recommend visiting!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea on the Green also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Tea on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing