We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great location, great scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pier House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Westward Ho B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked a fab table by the window which had lovely views across to Saunton Sands. Great food, I had the ocean pie which was packed full of fish and delicious, my mum had the haddock with poached egg and mash. We followed this with creme brulee and sticky toffee pudding. Attentive staff, great food, reasonably priced. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is a place of outstanding service, food and customer service. The staff remember you and make you feel valued. We were here for Sunday lunch the steaks were cooked to perfection & starters of scallops just seared and served well. Most of all I have to commend the staff for there attentive attitude being lead by the manager or team leader ( guy in the white shirt) well done!! See you again soon

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

What a amazing place.
Great food great staff.
Went for a surprise birthday meal for mother and had a great night.
The food was awesome and the waiters where polite.
Great place to go if you want a special evening. Helps if you go with great company :)
Food portions where spot on and so was the severs.
Price was spot on too for what we all had. Can't fault it.
Credit due where credit due.
Thank you pier house will be back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I was very impressed with the Pier House building, food and service. The menu is comprehensive and interesting, and the portion size is amazing. The meal was served by enthusiastic and caring staff who were efficient and speedy.
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a meal that is good quality and tasty.

Room Tip: We only had a meal so don't know about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Brilliant meal for my partners birthday, we were soo full. Ribs are best ever and must be tried!! Gorgeous restaurant, visited in the evening so couldn't see the presumably stunning views. Staff also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.W. UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have visited this hotel once with a family group, but my meal was very poor. In fact the serving staff had no hesitation in saying that I would not be charged for it.
I am a fish lover, and ordered Red Snapper, but sadly it was just like a ball of rubber.
It was not a busy day on the lunch time of my visit, but the experience will not encourage me to return. I understand that other members of our group found their meals acceptable, but not outstanding.
I am aware that other users of this Hotel found it to be OK, but I can only report my findings.

Room Tip: I am unable to report on Rooms, I only visited for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

You can not fault the location or the food at the pier house, however the staff do seem to take forever to realise you are waiting to be served. We noticed a few people walk out while we were having a drink, which is a shame as the location is great. We ate here on several occasions and couldn't fault the food, the portions are so big - I think the fish and chips would do two people!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
1.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 5 in Westward Ho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayfield House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Hotel

Property: Pier House Hotel
Address: Merely Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 IJU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Westward Ho
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Westward Ho, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing