We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The devil is in the detail, but sometimes people...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Westward Ho, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
betsy5506
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The devil is in the detail, but sometimes people get it wrong”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner Ray have stayed in this apartment twice, May 2013 and October 2013. The apartment itself is fabulous, with stunning views and well furnished and appointed. It is very comfortable and well thought out. It is very much a premium apartment and as such comes at a premium price. Having said that, on the second occasion we were disappointed with the state of the apartment. This is no reflection on the apartment itself, nor the owner who put a lot of thought into making this holiday let a place you would want to come back to again and again. The first time we came here in May, the apartment was clean and ready and we were very impressed (although one bulb was blown). However in October when we arrived the apartment was not up to scratch. Both toilet seats were very loose and my partner had to purchase a socket set to tighten them up. The bulb which was blown in May, was still blown, along with some other bulbs throughout the apartment. In the twin-bedded room a bulb had been removed from a bedside lamp and just left there on the bedside cabinet, while the live lamp socket was left exposed. In addition the sea-facing windows were dirty and we ended up washing them, frying pan and saucepans were greasy. The hob also was greasy and the oven had a couple of abandoned potato chips inside. The oven mitts were dirty with butter and food. It is clearly a failure in both maintenance and cleaning.

In spite of this we still had a nice holiday, however we feel that it is appropriate to leave this review to ensure that the relevant people up their game and check the properties properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, The comfort and the facilities in the apartment
Liked least: Having to fix things and clean up somebody elses mess
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerit Sop...
Dresden, Sachsen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Rental with stunning view!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This holiday rental was a very good choice!
Situated so closely near the beach it offers a great view towards the ocean. The flat is very clean, tidy and well equiped. Beach towels are provided besides a litte choice of toys for the Beach.
Brillant wifi is available and a wii, which liked my son most.
Excellent walks (coastal path, beach) starts directly behind the flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Of course: The Ocean View ;)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHGray
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Appartment - Stunning sea views”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Large appartment with everthing you could need. Location spot on with everthing near by but not too close.Underground car park could not have been esier to use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The evening sun on the large balcony
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokesfam...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family have just spent the week here. The property is absolutely stunning, and the attention to detail is excellent. The weather was brilliant all week, which made sitting out on the balcony a real treat. The views are perfect, and the owner really has thought of everything. I woul definitely return and recommend this apartment to anyone many thanks.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$301
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing