We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”
Review of Westbeach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbeach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having stayed at the resort for 5 nights with 17 teenaged friends spread across 5 rooms, I can honestly say that we could not have had a better experience. The management team were absolutely fantastic and were more than happy to answer our questions about the local area and offer a helping hand when needed. The rooms were absolutely fantastic, especially for the amount of money we paid. They were very well equipped with everything we could possibly need - my only issue was that the kitchen didn't have a whisk, but other than that it was great! The location of the resort is perfect as it's only a short distance to the centre of Westward Ho! and the beach with the CoOp round the corner. I would highly recommend Westbeach Devon to anyone wanting a resort with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and modern, well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Westbeach Resort could not have given us a better experience for a first holiday away with friends; from the friendly management team to the well equipped apartments, we had everything we could have possibly needed. On arrival, we were all hugely impressed with our rooms, and wowed by the fantastic views out over the sea to Lundy island. A short walk from the centre of Westward Ho! and an even shorter walk from the beautiful beach, we never needed to go far before finding something fun to do. From hiring surf boards on the beach to sitting and eating fish and chips to walking across the picturesque coastal path, it was an experience we will certainly never forget. From our arrival to our departure, we were greeted with friendly faces, with the management team going out of their way to help us in any way they could with their extensive knowledge of the area. We all came home feeling sad to leave since within just five days Westbeach Resort become almost like a second home, and is without a doubt somewhere that we are already keen to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After coming here with 17 friends for 5 nights between 5 apartments in the complex, I can easily call this one of the best apartments I have stayed in. Beautiful facilities and surrounding area aside, management were amazingly accommodating and went above and beyond to look after us and made sure we had the best experience possible. The entrance is a 5 minute walk away from the stunning beach front and local shops, as well as many beautiful and picturesque walks. I cannot recommend this Resort enough as it is well catered for whatever kind of trip you are looking for. The modern decor is wonderfully maintained and amazing sea views are visable from the first floor and above adding to the high quality of the rooms. 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I think that westward Ho! Is a very child friendly area and there is so much to do from surfing to go carts to crazy golf to arcades and everyone here is so friendly. Gwen and Peter were both warm and welcoming to me and made it an enjoyable holiday for me and my family. I also recommend the adventure centre 'The Big Sheep' they have shows on all day and fun activities for kids. Also the scenery here is beautiful you can walk down the the sea front less than 100 meters away. So overall this hotel is spectacular and I will recommend this place to a friend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 279duncanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fantastic location right by the sea with plenty of activities for all ages, such as a shopping centre only five minutes away, or a theme park known as "Big Sheep". Apartment was spotless and extremely well equipped. The apartment was spacious for the four of us and we were able to enjoy the evening sunset from our balcony. The housekeeping staff, with regards to Gwen and Peter, were incredibly helpful and are very keen to meet your every need. Should you ever need to find out any information- from weather to available activities- these are certainly the people to ask! What a perfect escape and I would wholeheartedly recommend others to come and experience Devon for themselves.

Una ubicación fantástica, que está cerca del mar. Hay muchas actividades para todas las edades. una escapada perfecta!

Room Tip: if you are keen for a good view of the sunset then choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Freya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend and overall, found this experience very positive.

We were very lucky with the weather, we had brilliant sunshine but other parts of Devon and Somerset suffered downpours - after all it was Glastonbury weekend.

We thought the apartment was very spacious - very clean. The kitchen was well equipped and the lounge and dining area fairly comfortable for a couple, maybe for four adults, it would have been a bit tight. We could just about see the sea from the balcony because we were on a lower floor and near the top end of the row of apartments but this did not put us off. The late afternoon sun shone on our balcony where we relaxed with our glasses of wine after a day sightseeing.

The housekeeping staff - particularly Gwen and her husband were very welcoming and helpful, printing out maps for walks and recommending restaurants.

Our only niggles which can be viewed as constructive comments were that the bath had no handrail or slip mat making it very unsafe to stand in the shower, only one bedside table and light, the bed itself was very low to the ground and uncomfortable. It would have been nice to have a tv in the bedroom as most hotels do.

We found the path down to the sea front quite steep and uneven to walk along, it could be dangerous in the dark. Maybe the Management can persuade the Town Council or whoever to repair this path which probably got damaged during storms earlier this year.

When the building works are finally completed with restaurants, bars, swimming pool and gym etc., it would be nice to return to see the finished resort complex.

I know this was a self catering apartment but would have appreciated fresh towels and the bin emptied daily.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crunchieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked a last minute short break at Westbeach Resort and are so very glad we did.

Westbeach is up and coming with a great Housekeeping Team. Gwen and Peter were friendly and welcoming - they really want you to enjoy your stay!

The apartments are modern, comfortable and clean, with a great kitchen, lovely bathroom,
and everything you need for an enjoyable visit.

Westbeach's location is only 50 yards from the Westward Ho! promenade.
There are wonderful coastal walks, rock pools, beach combing galore - we saw several
people with metal detectors hunting for 'treasure'.

We loved the village atmosphere in 'The Ho!' and there are some great places to eat -
we didn't have enough time to try them all unfortunately.

We're looking forward to returning to Westbeach and 'the Ho!' for a longer stay next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherylh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
1.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Inn B&B
The Waterfront Inn B&B
#3 of 5 in Westward Ho
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mayfield House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 5 in Westward Ho
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Bay Holiday Park
Surf Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 9 in Westward Ho
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbeach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbeach Resort

Address: Nelson Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westward Ho
Price Range: £109 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westbeach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbeach Resort Westward Ho, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing