We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food ”

Moran's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Overlooking Bideford Bay out to the Atlantic Ocean with fabulous views, big skies and stunning sunsets over Lundy Island, why not join us for local Devon waters fish, fresh Appledore mussels,local seafood, Devon and Cornwall Farm steaks and wonderful Thai food all cooked in our open theatre kitchen by our team of chefs led by Thai Chef Mack Yaruk. West Country ales and ciders and a list of hand picked wines from around the world. We cater for families daily however after 6 pm we are an adult only restaurant( 14 years old minimum). Moran's as recommended by The Sunday Times (Best of the West).
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Went Tuesday night with my dear wife
had the Special meal for two starter plater ok not great mane dishes come but cold sent back came again cold sent back again still cold sent back again still not up to standed not a good experience no apologies for a crap meal spent.over £85.00

Date of visit: June 2018
8  Thank alfred92016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Went to Moran’s for a meal three of us walked in and thought we was at a party it was great atmosphere service was second to none staff very very friendly food excellent lovely wine had a great night in all will be going back my mate said I agreed many thanks all at Moran’s DAVE &LEE &DEBS

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank davebark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and i went to morans in 2016 , we were out walking in westwood ho and went passed the resturant , my wife said "we went in their 2 years ago it was good lets go again" im glad we did /clean tidy friendly place ; thistime i went for a thia dish pork curry with coconut rice / its was brillant ! Only just finished the meal there was so much , we will go again next year lol / ad it was a suuny day all seats outside were taken so we had to sit inside but that was not a problem its a well set out resturant with comfy seats

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food - beautifully fresh. Delicious chicken with cashew and rice, pad Thai, and noodles. Service a little slow, would have got 5 stars if a little better on the table service front.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank NixW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Tried to order takeaway as advertised but was told sorry, we’ve got 5 takeaway orders so we’re not doing anymore! Really? At 7.30 on a Tuesday evening! Maybe change your advertised takeaway menu as ‘only available if we’re not too busy’ or don't offer the service if you can’t fulfill it. Disappointing to say the least considering we can’t eat in with our 9 year old as under 14’s aren’t allowed, it’s a family seaside resort but you don’t allow families!

Date of visit: May 2018
4  Thank rwhitebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr M, Director @ Morans at Moran's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear rwhitebex,
I am truly sorry that we were unable to take your order at 7.30 on Tuesday evening and that you were disappointed.
May I say, in our defense, that to disappoint you is really the last thing that we would want to do. In fact the opposite is true, we want to serve and entertain you.
It's not always so busy here and most Tuesdays at 7.30 we would cheerfully accept your order and have it ready for you in a reasonable time, if it is busy like last Tuesday, out of respect to you, we would rather say that we are unable at the moment to offer you the service that you deserve and we would rather decline and hope that we can offer you that service on another occasion rather than accept your order and then irritate you by keeping you waiting for an unacceptably long time.
We have identified the issue that you have raised and employed another Thai chef to assist with takeaways, unfortunately he was flying here from Thailand on Tuesday so that wasn't any help then.
Your nine year old is most welcome during the day and I hope that you can appreciate the reasoning behind why we disappointed you and will allow us another chance to serve you.
My apologies again.
Mr. Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moran's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 
Westward Ho, Bideford
Westward Ho, Bideford
 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to Moran's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing